Knights Inn Sandusky OH

2 stars
2405 Cleveland Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
129 reviews
Great value!

This was our second stay at this hotel and we will definitely use it again. The free continental... See full review

  • yakydeeyak
  • Oct 8, 2013
Great Value and Location

It was great being so close to Cedar Point and the amenities were descent. (Refridgerator,... See full review

  • AdventureMKEGirl
  • Sep 30, 2014
Budget Sandusky hotel near theme parks offers value and convenience
Enjoy an affordable stay near Sandusky's most exciting theme parks at the AAA-approved Knights Inn Sandusky, just off US-6. Each guest room features free Wi-Fi access, a microwave and refrigerator, and a 25-inch cable TV. Jacuzzi rooms are available, and pets are welcome (fees may apply). The hotel also includes free continental breakfast (limited in the off season) and free local calls. Knights Inn also offers a summer-season outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, plus free parking with space for RVs, buses and trucks.
Highlights
  • One mile from Cedar Point Amusement Park entrance and 4 miles from the Lake Erie beaches 
  • Free continental breakfast served daily, with more extensive offerings in the summer months
  • In-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker
  • Seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool and spa
  • Free Wi-Fi access in-room, plus fax services
Location
Knights Inn Sandusky is in Sandusky, a few minutes from area amusement parks and adjacent to the regional Griffing Sandusky Airport.
Rooms
Knights Inn Sandusky provides 64 comfortable guest rooms with traditional decor. Amenities in each room include a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, 25-inch cable TV, alarm clock, iron and ironing board, and hair dryer. Guests can also access the Internet for free and make free local calls. Jacuzzi-equipped and nonsmoking rooms are available, and select rooms include a sofa bed. Pets are welcome (fees apply).
Features
Perfect for Sandusky getaways, this budget-friendly hotel offers close proximity to area beaches and theme parks. Knights Inn Sandusky guests can start each day with an expanded continental breakfast in the pavilion during the summer, and a more limited, indoor breakfast bar during the off season. An in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee-maker also make mealtimes more affordable. Nearby restaurants include Chili's Grill & Bar, Olive Garden, Red Lobster and Applebee's. 
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (50.3 mi/80.9 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.6 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3.8 mi/6.2 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (23.2 mi/37.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (61.9 mi/99.6 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (64.1 mi/103 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
Policies and fees
Pets are accepted at the Knights Inn Sandusky. A charge of $5 USD per night, plus a refundable deposit of $25 USD. All pets must be caged or the owner present to receive room service. An emergency contact number is required from the pet owner. All pets must be walked in the pet walk and owner must dispose of waste.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.4345 -82.6638
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Knights Inn Sandusky OH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Heated pool
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 1.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kyle D.
Newark, Ohio
Jan 14, 2012

Perfect for our small family trip!

I had a week long convention to attend at one of those pricey resort hotels, and my wife and I were too late to book a room there to get the convention discount rate (which would have still been too expensive anyway) So we looked around the area and liked the price and amenities offered by this location. Our room was very clean, the in room jacuzzi tub was great, our king size bed, and our sons sofa bed were soft and comfortable and the staff was very courteous and made us and our 3 year old feel very welcome. Check in and check out were simple and easy...when we come back to the Sandusky area to visit Cedar Point we will book a room here again for sure! Minutes away from EVERYTHING to do in Sandusky, from the mall and theater, shopping, or downtown and the piers. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Our GPS had us going WAY out of the way to get to Milan Rd. (where most all of the restaurants and shopping is located) my wife found that if you turn right out of the hotel parking lot, at the first light (Remington Rd) turn left...take that until it dead ends into Perkins Ave and turn left again. Drive until you see "Mall Road" and turn right onto it, it is the back way into the Sandusky Mall, theater and leads straight onto Milan Rd :) Show your hotel key at the customer kiosk at the mall and they will give you a free gift and a discount card for visitors.. (our gift was a tote bag and bottle of dial foaming hand soap..lol)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BESS
Business
pittsburgh,PA
Aug 18, 2011

close to the attractions

The hotel met our needs. We just wanted a place to sleep for the night. There is a train that goes by during the night hours. If you are a light sleeper, it might not be for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amusement Park Fan
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Close to Cedar Point

This is a good, clean choice if you are looking for a basic hotel close to Cedar Point. The night clerk was very friendly and gave us a good tip on when to head to the park in the morning. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. There was supposed to be breakfast in the morning, but no one had set it out. We didn't really care about that, though. There was a pool that looked clean, but we didn't use it. It was very quiet at night. It is only 4 miles to Cedar Point. I will stay here again next time I visit the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 7, 2011

Fair stay, lots of bugs!

Location is outstanding, and the fridge, safe, and breakfast are all nice. Beds are comfortable, and rooms are smoke-free. However, my first impression was the hint of smoke in their check-in area. It also seems the hotel lost our reservation [...] (though they accommodated without fuss). And there are a crapload of bugs. We were given a corner room with a light outside, so this especially contributed, but there were a lot of sizable spiders, flies, and mosquitoes, particularly outside the room but more than plenty in the room. There were even about 5-10 bugs splattered on the wall (dead) when we first walked in. Bottom line, if you're traveling with friends on a budget to Cedar Pt, and don't mind the spiders outside and killing about 10-15 bugs inside before going to bed, this is a great place. But in our group of two guys and two girls, the former spent a fair amount of time clearing the room so the latter could consider sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're heading to Cedar Point, be sure to catch the light show in the back corner of the park (near Maverick and Millennium Force) after the park "closes" at 10pm. Also, the queue for Top Thrill closes at 10:08pm. And if you're staying late, TGI Friday's still seats until midnight and is only the way back from the park (take a left and right down the road).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Aug 5, 2011

nice enough for our needs

The knights inn was a 5 minute drive to Cedar Point. The continental breakfast included was served in a screened in room. Fine for warmer weather. Juice, coffee, bagels, donuts, cereal packaged danish etc. The rooms were pleasant and it was nice to have a mini fridge and microwave. The pool was quite small and there was a seperate jacuzzi. The woman at the front desk tried her best to switch us to a non-smoking room when we discovered (by smell of room) that we were in a room used previously by smokers. She provided us with a can of deoderizing spray and apologized. We were only there to sleep so no big deal. Most of the other motels i researched in this price range had bad reviews. This was an exception and rightly so. Good value. Convenient to the park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Buy your water bottles at the vending machine at motel before heading to the park. $1.50 instead of $3.50 in the park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Survived
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Aug 3, 2011

Cheap and close to Cedar Point

The TV didn't work properly. The service was quite abrupt and the pool was small. Otherwise for the price it was acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 18, 2011

Free Continental Breakfast

5 minutes from Cedar Point Amusement Park. Excellent complimentary continental breakfast served in a screened in room. Food was fresh with a variety of options. The outdoor pool looked clean. Rooms were average and resembled economy type motel. TV had bad reception. However, they did include an in room safe, hair dryer, microwave and mini fridge/freezer which was a major bonus. Price was extremely reasonable. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. Only negative was our non-smoking room smelled like smoke. Noticed a housekeeper smoking a cigarette while standing by her cart outside guest rooms. This certainly adds to the smell of smoke on the towels and sheets. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min drive to Cedar Point Amusement Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 16, 2011

Good for Cedar Point

Stayed here for a trip to Cedar Point with my siblings and their families. The beds were very comfy, which was wonderful after spending each day walking. The continental breakfast was fair.. limited options.. and the pool closed way too early. But it was close to the park, and we really only needed to sleep and shower there. The stairs to the second floor were rickety and noisy, but considering the age of the buildings... All in all, decent for what we paid for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus
Jul 14, 2011

Your best bet when visiting Cedar Point

We've stayed in most the hotels in Sandusky near Cedar Point. This is the best for the price. Its very close to the park entrance, and the breakfast is decent. Most the other hotels around Cedar Point are really run down, or super expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, SC
Jul 4, 2011

Nice for the Price but the Noise annoys!

This Knights Inn was a pleasant hotel with a not so pleasant location. The hotel itself was neatly designed, very clean, and the staff were helpful and friendly. The location however, is right next to an airport and there is a very active railroad across the street. My suggestion would be to bring earplugs to minimize the noise and the stay is worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 1 mile from Cedar Point.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Knights Inn Sandusky OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Mississauga, Ontario CANADA
Jun 22, 2011

June 18-19

Stayed here for two days at Cedar Point Amusement Park. Towels are getting threadbare, no special towels for the Pool. Pool and hot tub closed at 9:30, which seems to be a bit TOO EARLY, perhaps 11:00 is a better time. Outside patio areas are deteriorating-cracked concrete, pot holes in the concrete. Free WiFi is nice touch. Continental Breakfast was fair. This is more of a 69 buck a night place versus the 89 buck a night I paid (excluding taxes). Access to Cedar Point was only about 2 miles from this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top