$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron the dad
Dayton OH
Aug 18, 2014

Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly surprised. There are some dents and dings, but the room was clean and quiet enough. The beds were OK, and the room was relatively roomy. No complaints at all and the location relative to Cedar Point can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WHRothen
Fort Wayne Indiana
Jul 28, 2014

Location Location Location

To be clear, I was not expecting much for the price I paid (I compared to several other hotels in the area). This was simply a crash pad for the night. Negatives: -Bathroom Door would not shut. -1 Bar on Internet Access -Remote Control did not work for the TV. Front Desk not too helpful resolving this issue. Positives: -Easy Check out -Directly actoss the street from Entrance. Literally, 15 minuteas after leaving the parking lot, we were parked at Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This was a place to crash for the night so I did not have to drive 3 hours the day of our trip to Cedar Point. Check in Late and check out early. This hotel is what it is. A 2 star hotel directly across the street from Cedar Point.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
zjccmom
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 14, 2014

cedar point convenence

great value for a great location. the place is old, outdated and not too pretty, but lets face it, we're here for cedar point, not the hotel. its clean and the staff was really helpful and friendly. breakfast is basic but free. the pool is tiny but clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Athlete in Training
Riverside, California
Jul 13, 2014

A close place to the park

We went to Sandusky to enjoy Cedar Point. This hotel offered a great location and was much cheaper than the hotels in the area. I was please with that. It was just a place to stay so we could get to the park when it opened.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Park opened at 10, and it took about 5 minutes to drive to the entrance.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
H8bnbroke
Columbus, Ohio
Jun 25, 2014

You get what you pay for

This Hotel is just four walls and a bed nothing more nothing less, the room was stagnant upon entering. I hope to immediately open the windows to air out. It was basically just a place to sleep. I will not stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaxMom14
MIchigan
Jun 23, 2014

You get what you pay for

I was looking for cheap... I got what I paid for. I wasn't expecting much which was a good thing. I will say the bed appeared clean and was comfortable but the bathroom needed some elbow grease. We were there to sleep so it served its purpose. Next time, I will pay a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notacrazydancemom
Ann Arbor
Oct 8, 2013

Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and leave in the morning. I'd do it again. I knew not to expect the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Monday
MI
Aug 25, 2013

We were a bit shocked to say the least!

We knew the hotel is a high traffic hotel because of Cedar Point but we didn't expect this! When we opened the door it was apparent that our "non smoking" request was not filled, our towels even smelled like smoke! Yuck! There were bugs on the ceiling above the door, and BLOOD in the bathroom below the toilet paper roll! Oh and did I mention the pool is in the back parking lot? The staff were the nicest people, too bad they have to work in those conditions, I'm sure they get a lot of angry customers. I do hope that I get some reponse from this hotel chain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan coaster boss
Grandville mi
Aug 19, 2013

HoJo Sandusky

Great location rooms small but clean Easy to find hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COLTSJAB
SW Florida
Aug 9, 2013

Wished I stayed next door

This hotel is not setup nicely. Parking was terrible as all rooms share one small parking lot. The pool was really small and not heated. The room was not cleaned to basic standards but after driving over 15 hours my family members just wanted to sleep so we did not complain. The bathroom door would not close, paint was peeling everywhere, the hair dryer had dust all over it, the bathroom was really small, the hallway to get ice and for room access was dirty and had a leaky water hose making walks hazardous. The AC needed a cleaning and you can tell the was lots of smoking in the room before. We stayed here 2 days when we visited Cedar Point. It is close to Cedar Point but NOT close enough to where you can see the park or coasters as another reviewer stated and you definitely cannot walk there to CP. During my stay I was wishing I had booked the hotel next door as it seemed better than ours. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone especially a family staying 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search