$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant... See full review

  • Heavenly Heirs
  • Sep 16, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 6, 2008

take your chances

we checked in at 3:30am to a dark room.why? because the light was not plugged in to the wall switch. to do that i needed to crawl under a desk. but first i had to find another light at an opposite end of the room. For Me that is difficult I Have Night Blindness. the room was small with 1 dbl bed a very tight bathroom [i'm a size 3]my son is 6'185lbs just about had to jump in the tub to close the door.but that's not so bad. we were there to go to ceder point.at 9:15am i visited what they refered to as a breakfast bar a dismal selection of dry cereal. i left ..when we returned at 4:45pm our maid had decided that our entire room did not need to be done!!!!so she left some towels by the door and that was that. you see my son had left his backpack ontop of the bedspread,policy is to not touch a bed that has anything on it. o.k. I can deal with that. but to ignore used towels,trash, used coffee pot,no refills for the coffee pot,night tables had glasses from the morning still on them. we checked out somewhere between 10:30 and 11:15pm that same day. A HOTEL HAS ONE RESPONSIBILTY. TO PROVIDE A CLEAN ROOM....SO, that's my tail of my stay at Howard Johnsons in Sandusky Ohio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs DEE
Champaign il
Jun 14, 2010

Nasty Hotel

Well when we got there it looked scary from the outside because it was right next to an abandoned mcdonalds it doesn't look appaelling at all.... we got in the room and the air wasn't working it felt like a fan the whole time we were there 3 days.... the room was in need of an update and bathroom as well... it had rust and grim all over the bath tub.... But the location was great thats about it.... Cereal for the breakfast!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NE PA
May 30, 2011

FILTHY DISGUSTING

This hotel was extremely disappointing. Dirty, depressing. We booked for 4 nites, and this hotel does not allow cancellations at all so we were stuck there for the full time. The pool was nasty and the water had a terrible salty taste. We stayed out of the hotel as much as possible. I would recommend you go just about ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Xenia, Ohio
May 28, 2009

not that good

Stayed in what looked like one of their dumpiest rooms. T.V. recepttion was horrible on all stations. Room did not smell real clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NE PA
May 30, 2011

FILTHY DISGUSTING

This hotel was extremely disappointing. Dirty, depressing. We booked for 4 nites, and this hotel does not allow cancellations at all so we were stuck there for the full time. The pool was nasty and the water had a terrible salty taste. We stayed out of the hotel as much as possible. I would recommend you go just about ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
katrinaj
sioux city, ia
Jul 9, 2010

bad

where i come from howard johnsons is a fairly nice place to stay.not in sandusky! my family and i take a trip every year. this was the worst experince ever! we had to move to a different room @ 11:00pm because the heat was unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 28, 2007

Worst hotel stay EVER

At check -in the room was not ready. No towels, soap, or remote in the room at check in. we were under the inpression that all rooms had friderators in them and some type of sitting area, but only some rooms had them. Hotel staff (front desk) were very unfriendly and un helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedarpoint

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
west seneca new york
Jul 6, 2010

Horrible stay

Very unhappy, felt dirty, water backed onto feet in shower, sink did not drain, previous guest hair in tub, toothpaste spray left on mirror from previous guest, rug was so dirty our feet were black, beds were way to worn in, no extra pillows in room, cushions on chairs in room very soiled, chips left in side of chair, very poor cleaning. Will NEVER stay again in HJ hotel or motel. [...]We left a day/night early due to the above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

do not stay at HJ express on Cleveland at Cedar Point Dr. HORRIBLE! We left day early. I was throughly disgusted.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayzus
Rhode Island
Aug 16, 2013

Don't expect much. It's a dump.

I'm sure the people who work there are perfectly nice, but this is the kind of place deadbeat-dads end up. Rusty bathroom fixtures, a leaky shower, décor from the late 60's and an old tube television round out the experience. Even more disappointing is the outdoor pool with green water and the location, while very close to Cedar Point (our destination), the neighborhood is pretty shady as evidenced by the empty shell of what used to be a McDonald's right next door. Come on...if a freakin McD's can't survive at one of the countries busiest tourist attractions, not much more needs to be said. It's my own fault for not reviewing the place first. If you can't afford better, sleep in your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CaliforniaKidd
California
Sep 24, 2012

Would NOT stay here again

Very dirty and outdated hotel. The carpet was not clean and the beds were dirty. The soap bar in the bathroom was opened and used. There wers also small ants in the room near the front door. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top