$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
95 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
family get away

Great place to stay for the price. Close to Cedar Point. Will stay again. See full review

  • familytrips
  • Oct 2, 2012
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Property features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 95
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heavenly Heirs
Business
Tazewell, TN
Sep 16, 2013

Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant employees. Great Location.. directly across from the Cedar Point entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
peoria, il
May 23, 2010

great hotel for a Cedar Point weekend

good hotel room for the price, had one small issue the card key would not open door the customer serve fix the issue. good service; clean rooms; comfortable beds; let us into are room at 8 am would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point best roller coasters in the USA

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 23, 2011

Great Trip

The location of this hotel is perfect all you have to do is cross the street and your on the road to Cedar Point. It was a perfect place to rest your head after a day of running around. If you get tired of the rollercoaster action try going to a restraunt called "The Thristy Pony" if your in the mood for some free bowling and lazer tag action. The room at the hotel was the perfect size for 4 people with a tv and very clean. Now keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort but still if your looking for a nice place to sleep and swim I would highly suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheap hotel with everything you need in a 2 mile radius.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KLO- roller coaster thrill seeker
Business
Queens NY
Jun 7, 2009

Stayed here for Cedar Point

Great hotel for the price. Very close to the theme park. Only downside was that the room given was close to the main office. There would be a lot of noise in the early morning with people getting breakfast and cars and motorcycles passing by. The bathroom could have had some ventilation installed but, no complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twogirlstoomany
Business
austintown, ohio
Aug 13, 2012

cedar point

great location very close to cedar point, nice staff. room could use updating but was clean, had a pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to cedar point for a close stay over night

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roller Coaster Luver
Business
Canton, Ohio
May 20, 2013

Trip to CP

Booking was vary easy. I had called the hotel the afternoon I was supposed to be there and told them we wouldn't be in until ~11pm. She said "that's fine, you are guaranteeed" "Great" I said. We got there, I told the attendant my name she had my room cards already. Al I had to do was sign and then she gave me my key, I was in the office for about a minute and a half. The room was small (not a big deal) but it had everything we needed, a bed, sink and shower. We could see the Top Thrill Dragster from the parking lot! The shower button was stuck so we couldn't fill the tub, only take showers. My friend was a little disappointed because he wanted to soak in the tub. The next morning was the continental breakfast, everything was fresh, doughnuts, cereal, coffee (I didn't have any of that, my friend said it was good) and orange/apple juice. David the GM was in the lobby while everyone was getting breakfast. He was very friendly and made sure everyone had everything they wanted. After that we checked out and headed to CP which was practically across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AshlynV
Business
Burlington, Ontario
Jul 31, 2013

Great for the Price

We stayed here awhile back and had a great time. You are paying a very low price so your expectations should reflect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central PA
Jul 3, 2011

SADD trip

The hotel was easy to find and the location was nice. For the price of the stay the accomodations were acceptable. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. There was a nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Googy Golf with miniature golf and go carts was very nice.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stevel585
Business
Rochester,ny
Jun 27, 2014

Bare bones hotel, but was sufficient for a few day stay

I expected just what I got for the price. A bare minimum hotel but has a great location if your going to Cedar Point. The room needed to be cleaned way better and the "breakfast" sucked but again I think it was sufficient for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cedar point fan 45366
Business
Ohio
Aug 25, 2014

Cedar Point Weekend!

This hotel was exactly what you want for a weekend at Cedar Point!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top