Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COLTSJAB
Business
SW Florida
Aug 9, 2013

Wished I stayed next door

This hotel is not setup nicely. Parking was terrible as all rooms share one small parking lot. The pool was really small and not heated. The room was not cleaned to basic standards but after driving over 15 hours my family members just wanted to sleep so we did not complain. The bathroom door would not close, paint was peeling everywhere, the hair dryer had dust all over it, the bathroom was really small, the hallway to get ice and for room access was dirty and had a leaky water hose making walks hazardous. The AC needed a cleaning and you can tell the was lots of smoking in the room before. We stayed here 2 days when we visited Cedar Point. It is close to Cedar Point but NOT close enough to where you can see the park or coasters as another reviewer stated and you definitely cannot walk there to CP. During my stay I was wishing I had booked the hotel next door as it seemed better than ours. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone especially a family staying 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayzus
Business
Rhode Island
Aug 16, 2013

Don't expect much. It's a dump.

I'm sure the people who work there are perfectly nice, but this is the kind of place deadbeat-dads end up. Rusty bathroom fixtures, a leaky shower, décor from the late 60's and an old tube television round out the experience. Even more disappointing is the outdoor pool with green water and the location, while very close to Cedar Point (our destination), the neighborhood is pretty shady as evidenced by the empty shell of what used to be a McDonald's right next door. Come on...if a freakin McD's can't survive at one of the countries busiest tourist attractions, not much more needs to be said. It's my own fault for not reviewing the place first. If you can't afford better, sleep in your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Monday
Business
MI
Aug 25, 2013

We were a bit shocked to say the least!

We knew the hotel is a high traffic hotel because of Cedar Point but we didn't expect this! When we opened the door it was apparent that our "non smoking" request was not filled, our towels even smelled like smoke! Yuck! There were bugs on the ceiling above the door, and BLOOD in the bathroom below the toilet paper roll! Oh and did I mention the pool is in the back parking lot? The staff were the nicest people, too bad they have to work in those conditions, I'm sure they get a lot of angry customers. I do hope that I get some reponse from this hotel chain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tricker67
Business
Chesapeake
Aug 26, 2013

couple

Could have gotten a better room for less the location is good but the room has nothing but a bed and bath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 20, 2010

No Communication - Won't Stay Again

My plans changed and I attempted to contact the hotel to see if I could switch the dates of my stay. I called and no one ever answered. They had no voice mail. I tried sending them a fax and it would not go through. I contacted the corporate offices and they said they couldn't help me. [...]I will not make any reservations at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dudelange
Jul 26, 2011

Never again

Noisy, other guests were screaming and shouting till 4 am. Very dirty. After leaving bathroom my feet were dirtier than before!! Carpet in the room was old and stinking and wet , Towels were not clean. If I had cash back or more money i would leave. Horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
katrinaj
Business
sioux city, ia
Jul 9, 2010

bad

where i come from howard johnsons is a fairly nice place to stay.not in sandusky! my family and i take a trip every year. this was the worst experince ever! we had to move to a different room @ 11:00pm because the heat was unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo Ohio
Jul 24, 2011

Howard Johnson Express Inn

Check in was quick, but three light bulbs were not working when we got to the room. No towles in the bathroom and the bathroom floor was flooded becouse the roof had a leek. The AC unit worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati, ohio
Jun 6, 2010

vacation that went bad from start

that was not a hotel, it was a motel. everything was small. im 6'3 and sleeping with my wife in a twin size bed for a week. on the web site it stated double bed. but it was only one bed. they said you have to check two beds, not double bed. what in the hell is a double bed? when I go buy a bed it is only four sizes: 1.twin 2.full 3.queen 4.king. and the rooms that we rented was motel size romms. my wife was not happy at all. they pack up the breakfast at 9am. i guest you get what you pay for. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
louisville, ca
Aug 12, 2009

Go ahead and pass

While this location had a great location (right next to the Cedar Point Causeway), it was not good in everything else. The rooms smelled like must and mildew. The alarm clock didn't work and the front desk did not provide the wake up call that was requested. If you are looking for a bed to sleep in and nothing else, then stay here. And I wouldn't pay more than $50 for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top