$41 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheap Grannie
Business
Windber, Pa.
Aug 9, 2009

Howard Johnson's not what it used to be

run down, bathroom was old, floor wasn't clean, lights kept flickering, no lights near the vanity mirror, minimum of wall plugs. on the plus side, the help were very nice and we were very close to our destination. Price was very reasonable compared to a lot of other comparable hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I used map quest to print out directions to restaurants and movies.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnie-D
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2011

For The Price, Not Bad.

Location was very convenient. Extremely close to Cedar Point. However, they were extremely rude through out my whole visit. My reservation was screwed up and I got a smoking room instead of non-smoking. Since I booked through [...], they refused to help my situation, even with my partners health condition with smoke. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was extremely TINY! I had to squeeze between the sink and the toilet to get the door shut to use the restroom, let alone get to the shower, which was behind the door. They served a breakfast, however, it was only available for a limited time, and I never got to try it. Over all, for the price I paid, it was good for sleep, but for overall comfort and experience, I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coopersville MI
Jul 6, 2010

Cedar Point Hotel

Close to Cedar point, but staff was not very friendly or helpful, and trains go by all night long..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
visitors to cedar point
Business
baltimore md
Jul 11, 2009

not the best

Good location if you are planning to visit Cedar Point but the hotel was nothing special.I would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Indiana
Jul 3, 2011

Great Location and Not so much else

Can't get a better location for the money! You'll save yourself alot of time getting to the park. AND, the Thirsty Pony is right across the street. [...] serves a superpotent Long Island Ice Tea, if you ask for it strong and it's only 7 bucks. The food is absolutely fantastic. Truly addictive and reasonable for Cedar Point. Our hint? Don't waste your time spending money on mediocre food that leaves you still hungry when you can get great food and fills you up at Thirsty Pony. We ate there all three nights. And, it's right across the street from the hotel. So, you can get hammered at a great place and walk across the street to your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Severna Park, Md.
Jul 10, 2010

"never again"

We had the worst room in the hotel. We could not park anywhere on the side our room was so we had to park and carry everything the entire length of the hotel. The room was 2 beds and a dresser, no small table and one chair. There was unpainted dry wall mud around the bathtub and a large hole between the tub and wall. Does anyone actually look at these rooms before they are listed? The pool was a little bigger than a hot tub. So much for booking early. Next time I'll go to the hotel and look and look at the room before I book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not the most satisfied customer
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 26, 2010

Over priced, but prime time pricing

It was a busy weekend that we planned late so we got a room on the back side of the hotel which had no parking and a longer walk than i would have liked to have to get to my room. I was also greeted at check in for my stay by a man in a cut off shirt and jeans. The room was not worth what i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south bend in
Aug 12, 2009

located next to cedar point entrance

staff are very helpful and pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dano
Business
Canajoharie, NY, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Location but will never stay here again.

The room was dirty, it smelled bad, there were ants crawling on floor and walls. The floor was not vacaumed there was sometime under the fridge that I didnt dare disturb. But to the good stuff, the location was great, the pool was small but nice. The beds seemed clean. Overall I would not go back and I would not recommend to anybody. I even tried talking to people at front desk but they didnt want to hear it. They said we are full and can't do anything about it. I almost forgot, I had there suite and they still would not do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ice machine works.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coaster Rider
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2010

You get what you pay for.

Cheap and close place to stay for Cedar Point. Nothing special. Continental Breakfast is okay if you like doughnuts. Pool isn't much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top