Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
visitors to cedar point
Business
baltimore md
Jul 11, 2009

not the best

Good location if you are planning to visit Cedar Point but the hotel was nothing special.I would choose another hotel next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Indiana
Jul 3, 2011

Great Location and Not so much else

Can't get a better location for the money! You'll save yourself alot of time getting to the park. AND, the Thirsty Pony is right across the street. [...] serves a superpotent Long Island Ice Tea, if you ask for it strong and it's only 7 bucks. The food is absolutely fantastic. Truly addictive and reasonable for Cedar Point. Our hint? Don't waste your time spending money on mediocre food that leaves you still hungry when you can get great food and fills you up at Thirsty Pony. We ate there all three nights. And, it's right across the street from the hotel. So, you can get hammered at a great place and walk across the street to your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Severna Park, Md.
Jul 10, 2010

"never again"

We had the worst room in the hotel. We could not park anywhere on the side our room was so we had to park and carry everything the entire length of the hotel. The room was 2 beds and a dresser, no small table and one chair. There was unpainted dry wall mud around the bathtub and a large hole between the tub and wall. Does anyone actually look at these rooms before they are listed? The pool was a little bigger than a hot tub. So much for booking early. Next time I'll go to the hotel and look and look at the room before I book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not the most satisfied customer
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 26, 2010

Over priced, but prime time pricing

It was a busy weekend that we planned late so we got a room on the back side of the hotel which had no parking and a longer walk than i would have liked to have to get to my room. I was also greeted at check in for my stay by a man in a cut off shirt and jeans. The room was not worth what i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
south bend in
Aug 12, 2009

located next to cedar point entrance

staff are very helpful and pleasant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dano
Business
Canajoharie, NY, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Location but will never stay here again.

The room was dirty, it smelled bad, there were ants crawling on floor and walls. The floor was not vacaumed there was sometime under the fridge that I didnt dare disturb. But to the good stuff, the location was great, the pool was small but nice. The beds seemed clean. Overall I would not go back and I would not recommend to anybody. I even tried talking to people at front desk but they didnt want to hear it. They said we are full and can't do anything about it. I almost forgot, I had there suite and they still would not do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ice machine works.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coaster Rider
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2010

You get what you pay for.

Cheap and close place to stay for Cedar Point. Nothing special. Continental Breakfast is okay if you like doughnuts. Pool isn't much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cheap Grannie
Business
Windber, Pa.
Aug 9, 2009

Howard Johnson's not what it used to be

run down, bathroom was old, floor wasn't clean, lights kept flickering, no lights near the vanity mirror, minimum of wall plugs. on the plus side, the help were very nice and we were very close to our destination. Price was very reasonable compared to a lot of other comparable hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I used map quest to print out directions to restaurants and movies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnie-D
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2011

For The Price, Not Bad.

Location was very convenient. Extremely close to Cedar Point. However, they were extremely rude through out my whole visit. My reservation was screwed up and I got a smoking room instead of non-smoking. Since I booked through [...], they refused to help my situation, even with my partners health condition with smoke. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was extremely TINY! I had to squeeze between the sink and the toilet to get the door shut to use the restroom, let alone get to the shower, which was behind the door. They served a breakfast, however, it was only available for a limited time, and I never got to try it. Over all, for the price I paid, it was good for sleep, but for overall comfort and experience, I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Coopersville MI
Jul 6, 2010

Cedar Point Hotel

Close to Cedar point, but staff was not very friendly or helpful, and trains go by all night long..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top