$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 31, 2014 Check-out: Nov 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.P.
Business
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good for Cedar Point

Went to Cedar Point and needed a place to stay the night before driving home in the morning. Room was pretty clean - no gunk or smell, beds were comfy (though we did bring our own blankets, just in case), easy check-in and out. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast, so I don't know if it's good or not.. Overall, definitely worth it for the price and proximity to Cedar Point. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central PA
Jul 3, 2011

SADD trip

The hotel was easy to find and the location was nice. For the price of the stay the accomodations were acceptable. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. There was a nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Googy Golf with miniature golf and go carts was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sprfld,Ohio
Jul 11, 2009

excellent location

Not bad for the price...I can't complain too much...It is in the perfect location for Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point is directly across from this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit, MI
Jul 6, 2009

Great Location

the hotel was just your ordinary hotel, the reason why we chose it is because of the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling Heights MI
Jun 1, 2010

Great Location

The hotel stay was Good. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great for the price. The comp. breakfast wasnt that great. There are a few resturants within walking distance. Rooms were avarage nothing special but they were clean and comfortable and i will prolly stay here again when coming to cedar point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are more resturants on Milan street by the mall if ur looking for more varity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmtp79
Business
Zeeland, MI
Aug 16, 2011

Nothing special, but very convenient to Cedar Point

At first glance, it looks pretty ghetto. There is an abandoned restaurant next door that has been overgrown with weeds and is falling apart. When we checked into our room, it was clean enough. Not spotless by any means, but we are not too picky. There were a couple big disappointments which I feel that I should share... 1) The toilet in our room plugged and started overflowing because the flush mechanism did not work correctly and the tank kept running. I was able to shut the water off to it, throw some towels on the floor and called the front desk to send maintenance over. He repaired the toilet, and took some of the wet towels with him. However, nobody ever came back and cleaned up the mess or mopped the floor. Even after calling the front desk requesting housekeeping to come mop the floor that the toilet had just overflowed on, they never did come mop the floor for the entire 3 days we were there. We just wore our shoes in the bathroom when we went in there. 2) When we returned from Cedar Point the second night, there was no water pressure. I called the front desk, and they said that another room had water issues, so they had to shut down the water supply for the entire hotel until they could get a plumber there to fix it. So, there we sat with no way of using the toilet or taking a shower after spending the entire day at Cedar Point. Not a good way to end the day! This hotel was about $20 per night cheaper than the other "low-rent" hotels on that side of town, so I guess I got what I paid for. Would I go back? Maybe, because we only use the hotel to sleep, and spend all of our waking hours out doing stuff. If you are picky about your hotels, or would be freaked out by being next door to a falling down restaurant, then this probably isn't the place for you. It may be worth it to spend the extra $20 for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thirsty Pony is right across the road. The food is ok, but in my opinion overpriced for what you get. The atmosphere is good, but I don't think I would go back again. Try the TGI Fridays just 1/4 mile east of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaggieZ
Business
Holland, MI
May 19, 2014

Good location

Good location and cheap price. Room is pretty small, dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ra.Ra
Business
Livonia, mi
Jul 19, 2009

Hotel

The hotel was alright for the price. They changed the check out time too 11am which they do not inform you when you book the hotel. Its not much to look at from the outside, looks old, but the room was very clean that I was impressed by. Hotel is very close to cedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylor,MI
Sep 5, 2010

Nice for the money

nice clean room for the money, just wanted a place to sleep after Cedar Point with a continental breakfast for a quick start in the morning.Breakfast was skimpy but enough to get us going down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Oct 11, 2009

Decent, very close to Cedar Point

Just used the hotel to sleep in. Room was decently clean.. not smelly or anything but the heat was kinda weird. Just your basic cheap hotel room. Very close to Cedar Point, can see the Causeway from the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top