Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ron the dad
Business
Dayton OH
Aug 18, 2014

Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly surprised. There are some dents and dings, but the room was clean and quiet enough. The beds were OK, and the room was relatively roomy. No complaints at all and the location relative to Cedar Point can't be beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roller coaster lovers
Business
pittsburgh pennsylvania
Aug 4, 2012

perfect location

we were very happy at how close it was to cedar point along with stores and restaraunts we will stay there again next year pool was nice and clean ad the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twogirlstoomany
Business
austintown, ohio
Aug 13, 2012

cedar point

great location very close to cedar point, nice staff. room could use updating but was clean, had a pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to cedar point for a close stay over night

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roller Coaster Luver
Business
Canton, Ohio
May 20, 2013

Trip to CP

Booking was vary easy. I had called the hotel the afternoon I was supposed to be there and told them we wouldn't be in until ~11pm. She said "that's fine, you are guaranteeed" "Great" I said. We got there, I told the attendant my name she had my room cards already. Al I had to do was sign and then she gave me my key, I was in the office for about a minute and a half. The room was small (not a big deal) but it had everything we needed, a bed, sink and shower. We could see the Top Thrill Dragster from the parking lot! The shower button was stuck so we couldn't fill the tub, only take showers. My friend was a little disappointed because he wanted to soak in the tub. The next morning was the continental breakfast, everything was fresh, doughnuts, cereal, coffee (I didn't have any of that, my friend said it was good) and orange/apple juice. David the GM was in the lobby while everyone was getting breakfast. He was very friendly and made sure everyone had everything they wanted. After that we checked out and headed to CP which was practically across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AshlynV
Business
Burlington, Ontario
Jul 31, 2013

Great for the Price

We stayed here awhile back and had a great time. You are paying a very low price so your expectations should reflect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan coaster boss
Business
Grandville mi
Aug 19, 2013

HoJo Sandusky

Great location rooms small but clean Easy to find hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Intersting
Business
Port Washington, WI
Oct 23, 2013

Old, but clean

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel for two days because we wanted to go to Cedar Point. The room was small, bathroom was even smaller, but that was not really a problem. You could tell the building was old and the paint was starting to look a little thin, but all the surfaces and floors were quite clean. A few things we found more funny than being a problem: the TV remote kept losing the code to sync to the TV, so we had to keep reassigning it. The door stuck a little when opening it, making for some hilariously over exerted entries. Overall, being as close as it was to Cedar Point and the price paid, I would say this hotel was exactly what you'd expect. Great for a couple or someone who just needs a place to stay but I would probably look elsewhere if you have kids or are a stickler for newer surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Local traveler Allante
Business
chicago
May 26, 2014

Location great

If your just staying one night the hotel is good. It's poor quality compared to the surrounding hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miamisburg, OH
Jun 5, 2010

It was good

Location was good and hotel was decent. But hotel had very limited amenties like there was no Microwave, Refrigrator in room. Even we could not find Salt in Hotel. Also, so many mosquitoes outside/inside the room. Anyways, trip was good. We had good time in Sandusky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
psbird
Business
Jewett, Ohio
Jun 29, 2009

The location is good.

Smoking room had been requested and was not given. The bed was to small. Was told could check-in at 9am. When arrived at 9am was able to check-in but told can't get in the room till after 3pm. Very noisy place, people standing around outside drinking and have parties all nights. The only good thing was the clean room the rest of the experience was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Many nice places to eat within a small driving distance from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top