Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
86 reviews
great ending to amusement park day

My daughter and I spent the day at amusement park. We knew we would be to tired to drive home.... See full review

  • SANDI
  • Jul 23, 2015
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Property features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Nearby attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

$45
3.3 / 5 29 reviews
★★
$75
3.1 / 5 52 reviews
★★
$40
2.5 / 5 45 reviews
★★
$64
3.3 / 5 50 reviews
★★
$52
3.1 / 5 69 reviews
★★
$45
2.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★
$89
3.2 / 5 70 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWKT
Couples
Michigan
Jun 2, 2012

a ok

it was what we were looking for. We would recommend this hotel to a friend and we plan on sating here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytrips
Family
Holland, MI
Oct 2, 2012

family get away

Great place to stay for the price. Close to Cedar Point. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heavenly Heirs
Friends
Tazewell, TN
Sep 16, 2013

Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant employees. Great Location.. directly across from the Cedar Point entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Notacrazydancemom
Family
Ann Arbor
Oct 8, 2013

Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and leave in the morning. I'd do it again. I knew not to expect the Hilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Cleveland, OH
Jun 6, 2010

Plesantly Suprised

The room was clean. The AC worked well. Free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast. The only downside was the dead fish spell coming from the adjaent body of water. You couldn't smell it from the room, so it didn't really affect my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Very Close to Cedar Point

If you're going to Cedar Point on a budget this is the hotel for you. Its very close to the park without the pricey rooms. The continental breakfast wasn't very impressive, I'd recommend going to a restaurant instead. The room was good for what it was needed for (sleeping) the remote was gone though, the front desk clerk was hard to understand, told us the wrong room. The phone didn't work. But if you're just going to be relaxing and sleepign the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is no shortae of restaurants. There are like 5 right in the same block. Or you can drive a little and find a variety of different restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Sep 20, 2008

Nice staff but lacking in comfort

I will give an honest review but would not recommend this hotel unless you had no other place to stay and if you are concerned with location. When I first got the key to the hotel room and went in it was 8pm and it was night time. I unlocked the door and tried to flip the light switch before I walked in and it did not turn on. I stepped into the room and fell because there was an unexpected 6 inch step down into the room which I could not see. I also discovered that all the lights in the room were unplugged! It's an accident waiting to happen. The hot water in the shower took 10 minutes to get warm. There were stains on the carpet and stains on the comforter. The positive is the location is right off the cedar point causeway. The morning staff at the front desk seamed nice and there was a continental breakfast... but all the donuts were gone when we got there. so all that was left was toast and cereal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

no restaurants in walking distance at all.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
crawfordsville, in
Aug 29, 2010

rainy night - busy street - hole in wall

went to cedar point, sunday stayed in sandusky... minutes away from cedar point... nice clean, but small, did every thing i asked it to do...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the lady at the dest was actually going out of her way to help other customers get cedar point tickets online... dont eat at jacks pizziarilla its frozen pizza for 20$

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suzzie Q
Couples
Lancaster, OH
Jul 21, 2009

Great location, great price!

Great experience! Nice staff! And fantastic Location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point was amazing!

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Southfield, MI
Aug 20, 2010

Great value!

It was a great value for our Cedar Point trip. It was nice to leave the park, go down the causeway and right into your motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Back to menu Return to top