Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytrips
Holland, MI
Oct 2, 2012

family get away

Great place to stay for the price. Close to Cedar Point. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Coaster Rider
Business
Virginia
Jun 8, 2010

You get what you pay for.

Cheap and close place to stay for Cedar Point. Nothing special. Continental Breakfast is okay if you like doughnuts. Pool isn't much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cincinnati, ohio
Jun 6, 2010

vacation that went bad from start

that was not a hotel, it was a motel. everything was small. im 6'3 and sleeping with my wife in a twin size bed for a week. on the web site it stated double bed. but it was only one bed. they said you have to check two beds, not double bed. what in the hell is a double bed? when I go buy a bed it is only four sizes: 1.twin 2.full 3.queen 4.king. and the rooms that we rented was motel size romms. my wife was not happy at all. they pack up the breakfast at 9am. i guest you get what you pay for. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jun 6, 2010

Plesantly Suprised

The room was clean. The AC worked well. Free Wi-Fi, continental breakfast. The only downside was the dead fish spell coming from the adjaent body of water. You couldn't smell it from the room, so it didn't really affect my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miamisburg, OH
Jun 5, 2010

It was good

Location was good and hotel was decent. But hotel had very limited amenties like there was no Microwave, Refrigrator in room. Even we could not find Salt in Hotel. Also, so many mosquitoes outside/inside the room. Anyways, trip was good. We had good time in Sandusky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sterling Heights MI
Jun 1, 2010

Great Location

The hotel stay was Good. The Staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great for the price. The comp. breakfast wasnt that great. There are a few resturants within walking distance. Rooms were avarage nothing special but they were clean and comfortable and i will prolly stay here again when coming to cedar point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are more resturants on Milan street by the mall if ur looking for more varity

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
peoria, il
May 23, 2010

great hotel for a Cedar Point weekend

good hotel room for the price, had one small issue the card key would not open door the customer serve fix the issue. good service; clean rooms; comfortable beds; let us into are room at 8 am would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point best roller coasters in the USA

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
May 20, 2010

No Communication - Won't Stay Again

My plans changed and I attempted to contact the hotel to see if I could switch the dates of my stay. I called and no one ever answered. They had no voice mail. I tried sending them a fax and it would not go through. I contacted the corporate offices and they said they couldn't help me. [...]I will not make any reservations at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Oct 11, 2009

Decent, very close to Cedar Point

Just used the hotel to sleep in. Room was decently clean.. not smelly or anything but the heat was kinda weird. Just your basic cheap hotel room. Very close to Cedar Point, can see the Causeway from the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Livonia,MI
Oct 6, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We arrived early because we were going to Cedar Point. They let us check in 3 hrs. early thank goodness because we didn't get back to the hotel til almost 12:00 midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
angier332
Business
boardman ohio
Sep 20, 2009

wouldnt stay again

place needs renovated really bad. the room was clean but i woke up with bugs on my feet. and had bite marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top