$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
129 reviews
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant... See full review

  • Heavenly Heirs
  • Sep 16, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not the most satisfied customer
Cleveland, OH
Jul 26, 2010

Over priced, but prime time pricing

It was a busy weekend that we planned late so we got a room on the back side of the hotel which had no parking and a longer walk than i would have liked to have to get to my room. I was also greeted at check in for my stay by a man in a cut off shirt and jeans. The room was not worth what i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not the most satisfied customer
Cleveland, OH
Jul 26, 2010

Over priced, but prime time pricing

It was a busy weekend that we planned late so we got a room on the back side of the hotel which had no parking and a longer walk than i would have liked to have to get to my room. I was also greeted at check in for my stay by a man in a cut off shirt and jeans. The room was not worth what i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Florida
Jul 14, 2010

It met our needs

Staff friendly. Checkin was easy. Breakfast was as advertised (ceral, donuts, juice, coffe). Our room was on back side and was quiet. The A/C worked fine (it was in 90's outside). Room was basic & clean. No problems other than bath light was hardly working and it was not fixed during our 2 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Florida
Jul 14, 2010

It met our needs

Staff friendly. Checkin was easy. Breakfast was as advertised (ceral, donuts, juice, coffe). Our room was on back side and was quiet. The A/C worked fine (it was in 90's outside). Room was basic & clean. No problems other than bath light was hardly working and it was not fixed during our 2 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Severna Park, Md.
Jul 10, 2010

"never again"

We had the worst room in the hotel. We could not park anywhere on the side our room was so we had to park and carry everything the entire length of the hotel. The room was 2 beds and a dresser, no small table and one chair. There was unpainted dry wall mud around the bathtub and a large hole between the tub and wall. Does anyone actually look at these rooms before they are listed? The pool was a little bigger than a hot tub. So much for booking early. Next time I'll go to the hotel and look and look at the room before I book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Severna Park, Md.
Jul 10, 2010

"never again"

We had the worst room in the hotel. We could not park anywhere on the side our room was so we had to park and carry everything the entire length of the hotel. The room was 2 beds and a dresser, no small table and one chair. There was unpainted dry wall mud around the bathtub and a large hole between the tub and wall. Does anyone actually look at these rooms before they are listed? The pool was a little bigger than a hot tub. So much for booking early. Next time I'll go to the hotel and look and look at the room before I book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
katrinaj
sioux city, ia
Jul 9, 2010

bad

where i come from howard johnsons is a fairly nice place to stay.not in sandusky! my family and i take a trip every year. this was the worst experince ever! we had to move to a different room @ 11:00pm because the heat was unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
katrinaj
sioux city, ia
Jul 9, 2010

bad

where i come from howard johnsons is a fairly nice place to stay.not in sandusky! my family and i take a trip every year. this was the worst experince ever! we had to move to a different room @ 11:00pm because the heat was unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
west seneca new york
Jul 6, 2010

Horrible stay

Very unhappy, felt dirty, water backed onto feet in shower, sink did not drain, previous guest hair in tub, toothpaste spray left on mirror from previous guest, rug was so dirty our feet were black, beds were way to worn in, no extra pillows in room, cushions on chairs in room very soiled, chips left in side of chair, very poor cleaning. Will NEVER stay again in HJ hotel or motel. [...]We left a day/night early due to the above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

do not stay at HJ express on Cleveland at Cedar Point Dr. HORRIBLE! We left day early. I was throughly disgusted.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coopersville MI
Jul 6, 2010

Cedar Point Hotel

Close to Cedar point, but staff was not very friendly or helpful, and trains go by all night long..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top