$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE PA
May 30, 2011

FILTHY DISGUSTING

This hotel was extremely disappointing. Dirty, depressing. We booked for 4 nites, and this hotel does not allow cancellations at all so we were stuck there for the full time. The pool was nasty and the water had a terrible salty taste. We stayed out of the hotel as much as possible. I would recommend you go just about ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Sep 19, 2010

terrible experience

First of all we were meeting my niece and her family at this hotel to stay the night. She had gotten to the motel before us and called us to inform us of how dirty the room was and that she wasn't staying there. We went there later and the parking lot was dark,there were no lights in the parking area at all. The lobby,if you can call it that, well check in area had bugs crawling on the ground and that was the area you were to eat your breakfast, which only had 2 tables in there. The employee that we had to deal with was rude and answered her cell phone and talked to the person who called her while we were supposed to be taken care of. There was no attempt to even accommodate us. I informed her that my niece had told us the room was dirty,she didn't even offer to show us a room to prove otherwise. The place appeared disgusting and would not recommend this place to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!! Do not stay in this place!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Taylor,MI
Sep 5, 2010

Nice for the money

nice clean room for the money, just wanted a place to sleep after Cedar Point with a continental breakfast for a quick start in the morning.Breakfast was skimpy but enough to get us going down the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
crawfordsville, in
Aug 29, 2010

rainy night - busy street - hole in wall

went to cedar point, sunday stayed in sandusky... minutes away from cedar point... nice clean, but small, did every thing i asked it to do...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the lady at the dest was actually going out of her way to help other customers get cedar point tickets online... dont eat at jacks pizziarilla its frozen pizza for 20$

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southfield, MI
Aug 20, 2010

Great value!

It was a great value for our Cedar Point trip. It was nice to leave the park, go down the causeway and right into your motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Not the most satisfied customer
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 26, 2010

Over priced, but prime time pricing

It was a busy weekend that we planned late so we got a room on the back side of the hotel which had no parking and a longer walk than i would have liked to have to get to my room. I was also greeted at check in for my stay by a man in a cut off shirt and jeans. The room was not worth what i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Florida
Jul 14, 2010

It met our needs

Staff friendly. Checkin was easy. Breakfast was as advertised (ceral, donuts, juice, coffe). Our room was on back side and was quiet. The A/C worked fine (it was in 90's outside). Room was basic & clean. No problems other than bath light was hardly working and it was not fixed during our 2 day stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Severna Park, Md.
Jul 10, 2010

"never again"

We had the worst room in the hotel. We could not park anywhere on the side our room was so we had to park and carry everything the entire length of the hotel. The room was 2 beds and a dresser, no small table and one chair. There was unpainted dry wall mud around the bathtub and a large hole between the tub and wall. Does anyone actually look at these rooms before they are listed? The pool was a little bigger than a hot tub. So much for booking early. Next time I'll go to the hotel and look and look at the room before I book it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
katrinaj
Business
sioux city, ia
Jul 9, 2010

bad

where i come from howard johnsons is a fairly nice place to stay.not in sandusky! my family and i take a trip every year. this was the worst experince ever! we had to move to a different room @ 11:00pm because the heat was unbearable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west seneca new york
Jul 6, 2010

Horrible stay

Very unhappy, felt dirty, water backed onto feet in shower, sink did not drain, previous guest hair in tub, toothpaste spray left on mirror from previous guest, rug was so dirty our feet were black, beds were way to worn in, no extra pillows in room, cushions on chairs in room very soiled, chips left in side of chair, very poor cleaning. Will NEVER stay again in HJ hotel or motel. [...]We left a day/night early due to the above.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

do not stay at HJ express on Cleveland at Cedar Point Dr. HORRIBLE! We left day early. I was throughly disgusted.

Back to menu Return to top