Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWKT
Michigan
Jun 2, 2012

a ok

it was what we were looking for. We would recommend this hotel to a friend and we plan on sating here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo Ohio
Jul 24, 2011

Howard Johnson Express Inn

Check in was quick, but three light bulbs were not working when we got to the room. No towles in the bathroom and the bathroom floor was flooded becouse the roof had a leek. The AC unit worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 23, 2011

Great Trip

The location of this hotel is perfect all you have to do is cross the street and your on the road to Cedar Point. It was a perfect place to rest your head after a day of running around. If you get tired of the rollercoaster action try going to a restraunt called "The Thristy Pony" if your in the mood for some free bowling and lazer tag action. The room at the hotel was the perfect size for 4 people with a tv and very clean. Now keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort but still if your looking for a nice place to sleep and swim I would highly suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheap hotel with everything you need in a 2 mile radius.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam&Martha
Business
Newark, OH
Jul 23, 2011

Great value, Friendly staff!!

Friendly staff, nice outdoor pool, TGI Fridays across the road on the water. Minutes from the JetExpress docks and Cedar Point. GREAT value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

JetExpress to the Islands is just a few blocks up Rt.6 at the Jackson Street Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central PA
Jul 3, 2011

SADD trip

The hotel was easy to find and the location was nice. For the price of the stay the accomodations were acceptable. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. There was a nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Googy Golf with miniature golf and go carts was very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Indiana
Jul 3, 2011

Great Location and Not so much else

Can't get a better location for the money! You'll save yourself alot of time getting to the park. AND, the Thirsty Pony is right across the street. [...] serves a superpotent Long Island Ice Tea, if you ask for it strong and it's only 7 bucks. The food is absolutely fantastic. Truly addictive and reasonable for Cedar Point. Our hint? Don't waste your time spending money on mediocre food that leaves you still hungry when you can get great food and fills you up at Thirsty Pony. We ate there all three nights. And, it's right across the street from the hotel. So, you can get hammered at a great place and walk across the street to your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnie-D
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2011

For The Price, Not Bad.

Location was very convenient. Extremely close to Cedar Point. However, they were extremely rude through out my whole visit. My reservation was screwed up and I got a smoking room instead of non-smoking. Since I booked through [...], they refused to help my situation, even with my partners health condition with smoke. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was extremely TINY! I had to squeeze between the sink and the toilet to get the door shut to use the restroom, let alone get to the shower, which was behind the door. They served a breakfast, however, it was only available for a limited time, and I never got to try it. Over all, for the price I paid, it was good for sleep, but for overall comfort and experience, I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
evans city, pa
Jun 12, 2011

awsome vacation with my son!!

went to cedar point.employees are very polite an helpful. they had a very friendly enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, IN
Jun 10, 2011

Misleading

The pictures that are on the website are misleading and the room was no where near as big as the picture makes you think. Next time I will probably just stay at a hotel in Cedar Point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE PA
May 30, 2011

FILTHY DISGUSTING

This hotel was extremely disappointing. Dirty, depressing. We booked for 4 nites, and this hotel does not allow cancellations at all so we were stuck there for the full time. The pool was nasty and the water had a terrible salty taste. We stayed out of the hotel as much as possible. I would recommend you go just about ANYWHERE else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Sep 19, 2010

terrible experience

First of all we were meeting my niece and her family at this hotel to stay the night. She had gotten to the motel before us and called us to inform us of how dirty the room was and that she wasn't staying there. We went there later and the parking lot was dark,there were no lights in the parking area at all. The lobby,if you can call it that, well check in area had bugs crawling on the ground and that was the area you were to eat your breakfast, which only had 2 tables in there. The employee that we had to deal with was rude and answered her cell phone and talked to the person who called her while we were supposed to be taken care of. There was no attempt to even accommodate us. I informed her that my niece had told us the room was dirty,she didn't even offer to show us a room to prove otherwise. The place appeared disgusting and would not recommend this place to my worst enemy!!!!!!!!! Do not stay in this place!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top