$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dano
Business
Canajoharie, NY, USA
Aug 12, 2011

Great Location but will never stay here again.

The room was dirty, it smelled bad, there were ants crawling on floor and walls. The floor was not vacaumed there was sometime under the fridge that I didnt dare disturb. But to the good stuff, the location was great, the pool was small but nice. The beds seemed clean. Overall I would not go back and I would not recommend to anybody. I even tried talking to people at front desk but they didnt want to hear it. They said we are full and can't do anything about it. I almost forgot, I had there suite and they still would not do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ice machine works.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dudelange
Jul 26, 2011

Never again

Noisy, other guests were screaming and shouting till 4 am. Very dirty. After leaving bathroom my feet were dirtier than before!! Carpet in the room was old and stinking and wet , Towels were not clean. If I had cash back or more money i would leave. Horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toledo Ohio
Jul 24, 2011

Howard Johnson Express Inn

Check in was quick, but three light bulbs were not working when we got to the room. No towles in the bathroom and the bathroom floor was flooded becouse the roof had a leek. The AC unit worked great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Jul 23, 2011

Great Trip

The location of this hotel is perfect all you have to do is cross the street and your on the road to Cedar Point. It was a perfect place to rest your head after a day of running around. If you get tired of the rollercoaster action try going to a restraunt called "The Thristy Pony" if your in the mood for some free bowling and lazer tag action. The room at the hotel was the perfect size for 4 people with a tv and very clean. Now keep in mind this is not a 5 star resort but still if your looking for a nice place to sleep and swim I would highly suggest this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheap hotel with everything you need in a 2 mile radius.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam&Martha
Business
Newark, OH
Jul 23, 2011

Great value, Friendly staff!!

Friendly staff, nice outdoor pool, TGI Fridays across the road on the water. Minutes from the JetExpress docks and Cedar Point. GREAT value

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

JetExpress to the Islands is just a few blocks up Rt.6 at the Jackson Street Pier.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
central PA
Jul 3, 2011

SADD trip

The hotel was easy to find and the location was nice. For the price of the stay the accomodations were acceptable. The staff was friendly and the rooms were clean. There was a nice pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The Googy Golf with miniature golf and go carts was very nice.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, Indiana
Jul 3, 2011

Great Location and Not so much else

Can't get a better location for the money! You'll save yourself alot of time getting to the park. AND, the Thirsty Pony is right across the street. [...] serves a superpotent Long Island Ice Tea, if you ask for it strong and it's only 7 bucks. The food is absolutely fantastic. Truly addictive and reasonable for Cedar Point. Our hint? Don't waste your time spending money on mediocre food that leaves you still hungry when you can get great food and fills you up at Thirsty Pony. We ate there all three nights. And, it's right across the street from the hotel. So, you can get hammered at a great place and walk across the street to your hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Minnie-D
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2011

For The Price, Not Bad.

Location was very convenient. Extremely close to Cedar Point. However, they were extremely rude through out my whole visit. My reservation was screwed up and I got a smoking room instead of non-smoking. Since I booked through [...], they refused to help my situation, even with my partners health condition with smoke. The room was small, but clean. The bathroom was extremely TINY! I had to squeeze between the sink and the toilet to get the door shut to use the restroom, let alone get to the shower, which was behind the door. They served a breakfast, however, it was only available for a limited time, and I never got to try it. Over all, for the price I paid, it was good for sleep, but for overall comfort and experience, I don't think I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
evans city, pa
Jun 12, 2011

awsome vacation with my son!!

went to cedar point.employees are very polite an helpful. they had a very friendly enviroment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakville, IN
Jun 10, 2011

Misleading

The pictures that are on the website are misleading and the room was no where near as big as the picture makes you think. Next time I will probably just stay at a hotel in Cedar Point

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top