$54 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
128 reviews
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant... See full review

  • Heavenly Heirs
  • Sep 16, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cmrg
michigan
Aug 2, 2012

vacation

doesn't have internet connection the room is small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M0mof3
Huntington, indiana
Aug 2, 2012

Run down, but serves purpose

electrical outlets did not work. This is not a hotel, motel... brought own bedding just incase... glad we did.. served purpose for cedar point, however, I will pay a little extra and stay some where i have a peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cedar Point Disaster
Michigan
Aug 1, 2012

Not Good

Sheets were covered in hair and only one worker so no one to do anything about it. Breakfast was a joke. Way busy and not even any water. Overall, website makes hotel out to be way nicer than it is.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jess G
OHIO
Jul 16, 2012

Cheap and close to Cedar Point BUT very dirty!!!!!!!

My boyfriend and I along with our 2 boys had stayed at this hotel after a day at Cedar Point. We booked it due to the fact that it was so close to the amusement park. I had previously read the mixed reviews and decided to give it a chance anyways. BAD IDEA!!! The front desk clerk was very friendly which made checking in very pleasant. After getting the room key...it was all downhill. The musty smell of the room hit us in the face as soon as we opened the door. There were cobwebs on the window and bugs in the corners of the room as well as on the headborard. LIVE BUGS!!!! The carpets were filthy. Our sons wouldnt sleep with the blankets on the bed bc they had bodily fluid stains on them. The sheets had what looked like small black hairs ALL over them! I couldnt believe it! It was horrible. We will never stay at this hotel again. Dont chance it like we did. Dont stay at this hotel.....EVER!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CWKT
Michigan
Jun 2, 2012

a ok

it was what we were looking for. We would recommend this hotel to a friend and we plan on sating here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

cedar point

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tash marie
mi
Oct 10, 2011

could use some updating

It was very musky smelling in the room and office! And the bathroom was very moldy and tub not so appealing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.P.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good for Cedar Point

Went to Cedar Point and needed a place to stay the night before driving home in the morning. Room was pretty clean - no gunk or smell, beds were comfy (though we did bring our own blankets, just in case), easy check-in and out. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast, so I don't know if it's good or not.. Overall, definitely worth it for the price and proximity to Cedar Point. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K.P.
Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Good for Cedar Point

Went to Cedar Point and needed a place to stay the night before driving home in the morning. Room was pretty clean - no gunk or smell, beds were comfy (though we did bring our own blankets, just in case), easy check-in and out. We didn't take advantage of the continental breakfast, so I don't know if it's good or not.. Overall, definitely worth it for the price and proximity to Cedar Point. I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmtp79
Zeeland, MI
Aug 16, 2011

Nothing special, but very convenient to Cedar Point

At first glance, it looks pretty ghetto. There is an abandoned restaurant next door that has been overgrown with weeds and is falling apart. When we checked into our room, it was clean enough. Not spotless by any means, but we are not too picky. There were a couple big disappointments which I feel that I should share... 1) The toilet in our room plugged and started overflowing because the flush mechanism did not work correctly and the tank kept running. I was able to shut the water off to it, throw some towels on the floor and called the front desk to send maintenance over. He repaired the toilet, and took some of the wet towels with him. However, nobody ever came back and cleaned up the mess or mopped the floor. Even after calling the front desk requesting housekeeping to come mop the floor that the toilet had just overflowed on, they never did come mop the floor for the entire 3 days we were there. We just wore our shoes in the bathroom when we went in there. 2) When we returned from Cedar Point the second night, there was no water pressure. I called the front desk, and they said that another room had water issues, so they had to shut down the water supply for the entire hotel until they could get a plumber there to fix it. So, there we sat with no way of using the toilet or taking a shower after spending the entire day at Cedar Point. Not a good way to end the day! This hotel was about $20 per night cheaper than the other "low-rent" hotels on that side of town, so I guess I got what I paid for. Would I go back? Maybe, because we only use the hotel to sleep, and spend all of our waking hours out doing stuff. If you are picky about your hotels, or would be freaked out by being next door to a falling down restaurant, then this probably isn't the place for you. It may be worth it to spend the extra $20 for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thirsty Pony is right across the road. The food is ok, but in my opinion overpriced for what you get. The atmosphere is good, but I don't think I would go back again. Try the TGI Fridays just 1/4 mile east of the hotel.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jmtp79
Zeeland, MI
Aug 16, 2011

Nothing special, but very convenient to Cedar Point

At first glance, it looks pretty ghetto. There is an abandoned restaurant next door that has been overgrown with weeds and is falling apart. When we checked into our room, it was clean enough. Not spotless by any means, but we are not too picky. There were a couple big disappointments which I feel that I should share... 1) The toilet in our room plugged and started overflowing because the flush mechanism did not work correctly and the tank kept running. I was able to shut the water off to it, throw some towels on the floor and called the front desk to send maintenance over. He repaired the toilet, and took some of the wet towels with him. However, nobody ever came back and cleaned up the mess or mopped the floor. Even after calling the front desk requesting housekeeping to come mop the floor that the toilet had just overflowed on, they never did come mop the floor for the entire 3 days we were there. We just wore our shoes in the bathroom when we went in there. 2) When we returned from Cedar Point the second night, there was no water pressure. I called the front desk, and they said that another room had water issues, so they had to shut down the water supply for the entire hotel until they could get a plumber there to fix it. So, there we sat with no way of using the toilet or taking a shower after spending the entire day at Cedar Point. Not a good way to end the day! This hotel was about $20 per night cheaper than the other "low-rent" hotels on that side of town, so I guess I got what I paid for. Would I go back? Maybe, because we only use the hotel to sleep, and spend all of our waking hours out doing stuff. If you are picky about your hotels, or would be freaked out by being next door to a falling down restaurant, then this probably isn't the place for you. It may be worth it to spend the extra $20 for a nicer place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thirsty Pony is right across the road. The food is ok, but in my opinion overpriced for what you get. The atmosphere is good, but I don't think I would go back again. Try the TGI Fridays just 1/4 mile east of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top