Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
View map of 1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heavenly Heirs
Friends
Tazewell, TN
Sep 16, 2013

Just right

For the price, wasn't sure what to expect. Everything was clean in working order. Very pleasant employees. Great Location.. directly across from the Cedar Point entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tricker67
Couples
Chesapeake
Aug 26, 2013

couple

Could have gotten a better room for less the location is good but the room has nothing but a bed and bath

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J Monday
Family
MI
Aug 25, 2013

We were a bit shocked to say the least!

We knew the hotel is a high traffic hotel because of Cedar Point but we didn't expect this! When we opened the door it was apparent that our "non smoking" request was not filled, our towels even smelled like smoke! Yuck! There were bugs on the ceiling above the door, and BLOOD in the bathroom below the toilet paper roll! Oh and did I mention the pool is in the back parking lot? The staff were the nicest people, too bad they have to work in those conditions, I'm sure they get a lot of angry customers. I do hope that I get some reponse from this hotel chain!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan coaster boss
Family
Grandville mi
Aug 19, 2013

HoJo Sandusky

Great location rooms small but clean Easy to find hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayzus
Couples
Rhode Island
Aug 16, 2013

Don't expect much. It's a dump.

I'm sure the people who work there are perfectly nice, but this is the kind of place deadbeat-dads end up. Rusty bathroom fixtures, a leaky shower, décor from the late 60's and an old tube television round out the experience. Even more disappointing is the outdoor pool with green water and the location, while very close to Cedar Point (our destination), the neighborhood is pretty shady as evidenced by the empty shell of what used to be a McDonald's right next door. Come on...if a freakin McD's can't survive at one of the countries busiest tourist attractions, not much more needs to be said. It's my own fault for not reviewing the place first. If you can't afford better, sleep in your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COLTSJAB
Family
SW Florida
Aug 9, 2013

Wished I stayed next door

This hotel is not setup nicely. Parking was terrible as all rooms share one small parking lot. The pool was really small and not heated. The room was not cleaned to basic standards but after driving over 15 hours my family members just wanted to sleep so we did not complain. The bathroom door would not close, paint was peeling everywhere, the hair dryer had dust all over it, the bathroom was really small, the hallway to get ice and for room access was dirty and had a leaky water hose making walks hazardous. The AC needed a cleaning and you can tell the was lots of smoking in the room before. We stayed here 2 days when we visited Cedar Point. It is close to Cedar Point but NOT close enough to where you can see the park or coasters as another reviewer stated and you definitely cannot walk there to CP. During my stay I was wishing I had booked the hotel next door as it seemed better than ours. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone especially a family staying 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AshlynV
Friends
Burlington, Ontario
Jul 31, 2013

Great for the Price

We stayed here awhile back and had a great time. You are paying a very low price so your expectations should reflect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roller Coaster Luver
Friends
Canton, Ohio
May 20, 2013

Trip to CP

Booking was vary easy. I had called the hotel the afternoon I was supposed to be there and told them we wouldn't be in until ~11pm. She said "that's fine, you are guaranteeed" "Great" I said. We got there, I told the attendant my name she had my room cards already. Al I had to do was sign and then she gave me my key, I was in the office for about a minute and a half. The room was small (not a big deal) but it had everything we needed, a bed, sink and shower. We could see the Top Thrill Dragster from the parking lot! The shower button was stuck so we couldn't fill the tub, only take showers. My friend was a little disappointed because he wanted to soak in the tub. The next morning was the continental breakfast, everything was fresh, doughnuts, cereal, coffee (I didn't have any of that, my friend said it was good) and orange/apple juice. David the GM was in the lobby while everyone was getting breakfast. He was very friendly and made sure everyone had everything they wanted. After that we checked out and headed to CP which was practically across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytrips
Family
Holland, MI
Oct 2, 2012

family get away

Great place to stay for the price. Close to Cedar Point. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed....
Friends
MI
Sep 24, 2012

Not recommended

I would not stay here again. It was cheap, I'll give them that, but it was not clean. It had ants on the floor. There was lint left on the floor, so it had not been vacuumed. There was a used bar of soap and 1/2 full lotion bottle left in the bathroom. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom had water damage. It was not a comfortable stay to say the least. Cheap but clean is one thing. I learned a valuable lesson here......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top