$64 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

2 stars
1932 Cleveland Rd - Rt 6, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
89 reviews
Good access to Cedar Point

For the price and for this particular chain, I expected rundown and noisy, but I was pleasantly... See full review

  • Ron the dad
  • Aug 18, 2014
Perfect location for cedar pointe!

This is an old place BUT it was very clean and very cheap. Perfect for a late night check in and... See full review

  • Notacrazydancemom
  • Oct 8, 2013
Stay close to Cedar Point at budget hotel with free breakfast
Guests at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance get free continental breakfast daily, free in-room Wi-Fi and a budget-friendly location that's as close as it gets to Sandusky's favorite theme parks. Castaway Bay is within walking distance, and Cedar Point Amusement Park is just down the causeway from the hotel. Guests at this Sandusky Howard Johnson also enjoy free parking, free newspaper, cable TV with HBO and a heated outdoor swimming pool.
Highlights
  • Walk to Castaway Bay or take the three-mile drive down the causeway to Cedar Point
  • Save with free continental breakfast served daily
  • Swim in the heated outdoor pool
  • Cruise the Internet for free with in-room wireless Internet access
Location
Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance is directly across the street from the entrance to Cedar Point Causeway, which leads to Cedar Point Amusement Park. Castaway Bay is within walking distance. 
Rooms
This Sandusky Howard Johnson Express offers free Wi-Fi access in every guest room. Simple, traditional style prevails in rooms that also include 25-inch cable TV with HBO, free local calls, a dataport phone with message alert and wake-up call system, coffee- maker and free newspaper. Smoking, nonsmoking rooms and connecting rooms are available.
Features
Start with a free continental Rise'n Dine breakfast each morning at Howard Johnson Express - Sandusky Park N. Entrance before heading out to nearby Cedar Point or Castaway Cay. For more dining variety, T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster and Perkins Pancake House are all located near the hotel.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (51.5 mi/82.8 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (68.4 mi/110 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22 mi/35.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.1 mi/102 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (63.9 mi/103 km)
Business
Free in-room wireless Internet access is available.

Hotel Map

41.4414 -82.6821
Area description
Entertainment district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 2.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

56% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dan coaster boss
Grandville mi
Aug 19, 2013

HoJo Sandusky

Great location rooms small but clean Easy to find hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayzus
Rhode Island
Aug 16, 2013

Don't expect much. It's a dump.

I'm sure the people who work there are perfectly nice, but this is the kind of place deadbeat-dads end up. Rusty bathroom fixtures, a leaky shower, décor from the late 60's and an old tube television round out the experience. Even more disappointing is the outdoor pool with green water and the location, while very close to Cedar Point (our destination), the neighborhood is pretty shady as evidenced by the empty shell of what used to be a McDonald's right next door. Come on...if a freakin McD's can't survive at one of the countries busiest tourist attractions, not much more needs to be said. It's my own fault for not reviewing the place first. If you can't afford better, sleep in your car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
COLTSJAB
SW Florida
Aug 9, 2013

Wished I stayed next door

This hotel is not setup nicely. Parking was terrible as all rooms share one small parking lot. The pool was really small and not heated. The room was not cleaned to basic standards but after driving over 15 hours my family members just wanted to sleep so we did not complain. The bathroom door would not close, paint was peeling everywhere, the hair dryer had dust all over it, the bathroom was really small, the hallway to get ice and for room access was dirty and had a leaky water hose making walks hazardous. The AC needed a cleaning and you can tell the was lots of smoking in the room before. We stayed here 2 days when we visited Cedar Point. It is close to Cedar Point but NOT close enough to where you can see the park or coasters as another reviewer stated and you definitely cannot walk there to CP. During my stay I was wishing I had booked the hotel next door as it seemed better than ours. I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel to anyone especially a family staying 2 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AshlynV
Burlington, Ontario
Jul 31, 2013

Great for the Price

We stayed here awhile back and had a great time. You are paying a very low price so your expectations should reflect that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Roller Coaster Luver
Canton, Ohio
May 20, 2013

Trip to CP

Booking was vary easy. I had called the hotel the afternoon I was supposed to be there and told them we wouldn't be in until ~11pm. She said "that's fine, you are guaranteeed" "Great" I said. We got there, I told the attendant my name she had my room cards already. Al I had to do was sign and then she gave me my key, I was in the office for about a minute and a half. The room was small (not a big deal) but it had everything we needed, a bed, sink and shower. We could see the Top Thrill Dragster from the parking lot! The shower button was stuck so we couldn't fill the tub, only take showers. My friend was a little disappointed because he wanted to soak in the tub. The next morning was the continental breakfast, everything was fresh, doughnuts, cereal, coffee (I didn't have any of that, my friend said it was good) and orange/apple juice. David the GM was in the lobby while everyone was getting breakfast. He was very friendly and made sure everyone had everything they wanted. After that we checked out and headed to CP which was practically across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
familytrips
Holland, MI
Oct 2, 2012

family get away

Great place to stay for the price. Close to Cedar Point. Will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CaliforniaKidd
California
Sep 24, 2012

Would NOT stay here again

Very dirty and outdated hotel. The carpet was not clean and the beds were dirty. The soap bar in the bathroom was opened and used. There wers also small ants in the room near the front door. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. Will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed....
MI
Sep 24, 2012

Not recommended

I would not stay here again. It was cheap, I'll give them that, but it was not clean. It had ants on the floor. There was lint left on the floor, so it had not been vacuumed. There was a used bar of soap and 1/2 full lotion bottle left in the bathroom. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom had water damage. It was not a comfortable stay to say the least. Cheap but clean is one thing. I learned a valuable lesson here......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
twogirlstoomany
austintown, ohio
Aug 13, 2012

cedar point

great location very close to cedar point, nice staff. room could use updating but was clean, had a pool

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

very close to cedar point for a close stay over night

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Sandusky Park N. Entrance

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
roller coaster lovers
pittsburgh pennsylvania
Aug 4, 2012

perfect location

we were very happy at how close it was to cedar point along with stores and restaraunts we will stay there again next year pool was nice and clean ad the staff was very friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search