$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
59 reviews
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4322 -82.6878
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 59
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy Mehul
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for Cedar Point

I booked this room 1 week prior to our visit to Cedar Point for $100. I was just glad to get a room since most hotels were packed full (including this one) that weekend. Having said that, this room is not worth $100/night. The room was quite smaller than we thought it'd be, the bathroom was cramped as well (but clean). We had pretty noisy neighbors too. The parking lot was extremely tiny and I got the 2nd to last spot they had. Small is the theme here... I would recommend this hotel to people that just need a decent place to crash after a day at Cedar Point. The rooms are clean, water is hot, A/C is cold, and the staff helpful. That's about all you'll get though. The breakfast was stale cereal and warm milk with various types of doughnuts (better than nothing). The Howard Johnson down the road in front of the park is MUCH better, but this hotel is an "Express" and you'll see why. Again, if you aren't looking for anything elegant and you aren't looking to be pampered then this place is perfect. In addition to what I mentioned above, the location is pretty nice (5-10 minutes from the park). Just don't pay $100/night unless you have to...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave 2 Rose
Xenia,Oh
May 23, 2012

Room didn't match the company name.

When you read ho-jo you do not think flea-bag. This was well below Motel 6 in overall experience. The one thing good was that as worn as it was, it was clean. I went to fish and found that the continental breakfast didn't begin until two hours after the charters depart; and that the motel was closer to 17 miles away instead of the six they stated on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah beth
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Cedar point

Great value for one night. Perfect for a quick trip tocedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah beth
Detroit, MI, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect for cedar point trip!

We went for Halloweekends. Nice and close. We checked in late but all our info was ready to go so it took minutes. Rooms are small. It's an old motel. Can't beat it for the price and a one night stay. I'll stay there again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ryans has a great buffet breakfast for only 6$!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sarah beth
Detroit, MI, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Perfect for cedar point trip!

We went for Halloweekends. Nice and close. We checked in late but all our info was ready to go so it took minutes. Rooms are small. It's an old motel. Can't beat it for the price and a one night stay. I'll stay there again for sure

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Ryans has a great buffet breakfast for only 6$!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA- Home of the Penguins
Jul 17, 2011

Acceptable - Get What You Pay For

Overall the HOJO isn't too bad. Although really, it's not a Howard Johnson. It basically seems to be a former mom-n-pop 2-floor motel that Howard Johnson just stuck their name on. I booked 2 rooms for 2 couples. One room had a king bed and my only critique on this particular room was the tv. It had a decent amount of static on it. Aside from this minor comment- after all, I'm not there to watch the tv..., it was a fine room. The shower had nice pressure with a newer curtain rod, the bed was a bid hard for my liking but wife enjoyed it so to each their own. Now onto my friends' room. They had 2 double beds and they had a number of complaints. First, their bathroom was one of the smallest I'd ever seen (room 106 specifically). The door would only swing half-way open because it would hit the edge of the shower tub. You literally couldn't swing your legs to the left if you were on the toilet. There also was no sink in the bathroom. It was located outside of the room where the 'desk' part of the countertop should have been. Yup, you heard me. They had a sink outside of their bathroom! I got a good laugh out of it, but they weren't chuckling. They also didn't even have any clothes drawers. Outside of their bathroom was a countertop with sink and no drawers below, just open space. Poor design... Also, there was a 'fallen iron' burn mark in the carpet that just added to the decor... Anyways, I didn't have any issues in the king bed room (#216) but in the 2 double bed rooms, they certainly did. Moral of the story is to be VERY careful if you plan on booking with 2 doubles. Great location close to park though- only about 2.5 miles from Cleveland Ave which is 5 - 10 minutes away. Terrific location, have fun and enjoy the Top Thrill Dragster and Millenium Force- best coasters around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA- Home of the Penguins
Jul 17, 2011

Acceptable - Get What You Pay For

Overall the HOJO isn't too bad. Although really, it's not a Howard Johnson. It basically seems to be a former mom-n-pop 2-floor motel that Howard Johnson just stuck their name on. I booked 2 rooms for 2 couples. One room had a king bed and my only critique on this particular room was the tv. It had a decent amount of static on it. Aside from this minor comment- after all, I'm not there to watch the tv..., it was a fine room. The shower had nice pressure with a newer curtain rod, the bed was a bid hard for my liking but wife enjoyed it so to each their own. Now onto my friends' room. They had 2 double beds and they had a number of complaints. First, their bathroom was one of the smallest I'd ever seen (room 106 specifically). The door would only swing half-way open because it would hit the edge of the shower tub. You literally couldn't swing your legs to the left if you were on the toilet. There also was no sink in the bathroom. It was located outside of the room where the 'desk' part of the countertop should have been. Yup, you heard me. They had a sink outside of their bathroom! I got a good laugh out of it, but they weren't chuckling. They also didn't even have any clothes drawers. Outside of their bathroom was a countertop with sink and no drawers below, just open space. Poor design... Also, there was a 'fallen iron' burn mark in the carpet that just added to the decor... Anyways, I didn't have any issues in the king bed room (#216) but in the 2 double bed rooms, they certainly did. Moral of the story is to be VERY careful if you plan on booking with 2 doubles. Great location close to park though- only about 2.5 miles from Cleveland Ave which is 5 - 10 minutes away. Terrific location, have fun and enjoy the Top Thrill Dragster and Millenium Force- best coasters around!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN2665
Indianapolis
Nov 12, 2009

Mold in the Bathroom, Hair on the Sheets

Those of you that have allergies will know what I'm talking about. Some hotels don't bother my sinuses at all, and then there are those that do. The first morning that we woke up, my nose was very stuffy and my eyes were puffy. I later noticed that there was mold on the wallpaper on the top of the wall all the way around the bathroom. Even if you don't have allergies, I would not recomend this hotel because to me there is just no excuse for mold anywhere in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN2665
Indianapolis
Nov 12, 2009

Mold in the Bathroom, Hair on the Sheets

Those of you that have allergies will know what I'm talking about. Some hotels don't bother my sinuses at all, and then there are those that do. The first morning that we woke up, my nose was very stuffy and my eyes were puffy. I later noticed that there was mold on the wallpaper on the top of the wall all the way around the bathroom. Even if you don't have allergies, I would not recomend this hotel because to me there is just no excuse for mold anywhere in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bike traveller
Columbus, Oh
Aug 18, 2009

Great Price

For the Price and location it was perfect. I didn't need a Hilton to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top