$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
41 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Hotel Map

41.4322 -82.6878
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 41
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.1
Value:
3

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snowgirl7446
Business
Cleveland ohio
May 26, 2014

room could have been cleaner.

In my opinion, hot tub room should have been cleaner. Had to ask for new blanket because the one in the room was covered w spots. TV was not clear, we still had fun, but the hotel could use some updating and cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edub69
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 24, 2013

1 Star only because I can't give it a 0!

I have stayed in many motels, hotels, and inns all across the United States of America and this was the worst one. In my opinion, regardless of whether you're staying at a hotel or a five-star resort, the bed is the most important thing in the room. My wife and I arrived in the room and we're immediately bombarded by the overwhelming smell of Febreeze. Within minutes, we discovereded that the odor masker was being used on the bed. The pillows were mildewed and the comforter was stained everywhere! (And by stains y'all know what I'm talking about! I.e. bodily fluids!). The powerful odor in the room made it hard to breathe and my wife started to develop an allergic reaction. Thankfully I thought to clean the air conditioner and it's filters and ran the unit throughout the duration of our stay, making it more comfortable to breathe. Our first night, the staff was unavailable so my wife and I stripped-down the bed and slept on it with no pillows and blankets. The next day, the hotel staff gave us new pillows and blankets yet they were still dirty and soiled! There was also black mold in the electrical socket that provides power to the air conditioner and all over the rim of the bathtub. I have stayed at lots of motels (Motel 6, Super 8, etc.) And even though those rooms were cheap and nothing to rave about, the beds, blankets, and pillows were always clean! Because of this experience, I'm no longer booking hotels with my travel packages! If I hadnt already prepaid for the room, my wife and I would've immediately left and stayed elsewhere! This hotel is poorly managed and maintained! Do yourself a favor and do not even consider this slum in your travel plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cracker Barrel restaurant on Milan Road is a great place to eat! The menu is wonderful, the food is really good, and you can't beat the price! My wife and I had really good dinners there just about every night and the average bill was 25 bucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyTam
Business
Indianapolis
Jul 18, 2012

Cedar Point Trip

The room was small but, it was clean and just what we needed. We didn't need a big fancy room. I would diffentley stay here again. Just miutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget Travels
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 30, 2012

Great Low Rate Stay

This hotel was clean and just what we needed. We knew we would only be using the room for sleeping and showering because we were gone at the parks all day. This is about 5 minutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 27, 2011

Sandusky, OH

We were in town for the drag races in Norwalk, OH. The hotel was not bad for the price. The rooms were small, but decently cleaned. The bathroom was clean, but there were stains on the towels. The one thing that was bad about staying at this hotel was the parking. The parking lot is very narrow and hard to get into. The hotel was full, so we had to park by the pool. The other thing that made my stay not as enjoyable was that it was really loud at night. We were right next to the road and the wall are really thin. If I had a choice I would probably pick another hotel to stay at in the future. You get what you paid for. The hotel is outdated and run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The nice thing about this hotel is that it is close to shopping. The Sandusky Mall is about a mile away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chopsreese
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jun 6, 2011

Couldn't go, hotel wouldn't reimburse

Couldn't go, hotel wouldn't reimburse with a one month notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Team Sun Spot
Business
PA
Dec 20, 2009

Great Price, so-so hotel.

Attending a trade show 4 miles away, so this was a very convenient, very affordable motel for our 10 hr. stay. Room was freezing upon arrrival (but heating is expensive). We cranked up the heat and it did warm up very quickly. The room was very small but the price was awesome. Appeared clean except for the dirty socks found the next morning wedged up against the base of the bed :(. Coffee & pot, microwave, fridge, cable TV, outdoor pool. Coffee, tea, cereal, juice in lobby in the morning. A lot of options around this location for shopping/dining. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This was just a short 10 hr stay enroute to a trade show, but there is soo many places to eat and shop within this area. Food is even within walking distance. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maumee, Ohio
Oct 19, 2009

Froze during the night at antique motel

We picked this hotel because it was the closest one to the wedding reception- the wedding was more than an hour from our home, so we (2 couples) decided to stay over. The location was great. This is a very old motor court. It is in fair to good condition. It was clean. The room was very, very small- smaller than a microtel!!! We asked for adjacent rooms and were given rooms near each other- not a big deal, but not what we asked for. The bathroom was tiny, but there was good water pressure. The main problem was the heat- I awoke 4 times during the night because the heat went off and the room got cold enough to wake us- that's pretty cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kingx18
Business
Geneva, OH
Sep 4, 2009

Cedar Point Extravaganza

We enjoyed a lovely dinner before going to sleep early to prepare for a joyful day @ Cedar Point. The only thing i would recommend would be larger rooms. Other than that it was fine. In comparison to other trips, it was quite the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus
Jul 5, 2008

Cramped Room

From what I understand most the hotels in Sandusky aren't the greatest. We payed 90 dollars for a king sized bed in a cramped little room. The Pool is small. At least the air conditioner worked, and there was a small breakfast included. Its not the best for the money, but not bad if you're planning to go to Cedar Point for the day and want a comfortable bed to come back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top