$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2015 Check-out: Aug 20, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
View map of 2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
43 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Property features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Nearby attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crazyhorse25
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

NOT A HOWARD JOHNSON!!! AS MENTIONED BY SOMEONE.

A very shoddy motel. It seemed like that local hooker joint we all see in the movies with the meth labs etc. They just painted the walls and a little decor to make it into a Howard Johnson. Staff did seem nice though. Washroom very tiny especially when bathing kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast food joints close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lyaya
Business
Columbus,oh
Jul 8, 2012

Never Again

There were young men drinking outside the premises on a truck. The pillows had stains on them. There were bugs coming out of the keyhole! It smelled bad. The family didn't stay there they just left. I had booked the rooms for them. I lost my money and they had to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle jr.
Business
Wayne NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Pass it by

Rooms were not very clean, very old bld, smells of smoke not a place to bring a family, only would stay there as a last resort late at night if nothing else was available, I say pass this one by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edub69
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 24, 2013

1 Star only because I can't give it a 0!

I have stayed in many motels, hotels, and inns all across the United States of America and this was the worst one. In my opinion, regardless of whether you're staying at a hotel or a five-star resort, the bed is the most important thing in the room. My wife and I arrived in the room and we're immediately bombarded by the overwhelming smell of Febreeze. Within minutes, we discovereded that the odor masker was being used on the bed. The pillows were mildewed and the comforter was stained everywhere! (And by stains y'all know what I'm talking about! I.e. bodily fluids!). The powerful odor in the room made it hard to breathe and my wife started to develop an allergic reaction. Thankfully I thought to clean the air conditioner and it's filters and ran the unit throughout the duration of our stay, making it more comfortable to breathe. Our first night, the staff was unavailable so my wife and I stripped-down the bed and slept on it with no pillows and blankets. The next day, the hotel staff gave us new pillows and blankets yet they were still dirty and soiled! There was also black mold in the electrical socket that provides power to the air conditioner and all over the rim of the bathtub. I have stayed at lots of motels (Motel 6, Super 8, etc.) And even though those rooms were cheap and nothing to rave about, the beds, blankets, and pillows were always clean! Because of this experience, I'm no longer booking hotels with my travel packages! If I hadnt already prepaid for the room, my wife and I would've immediately left and stayed elsewhere! This hotel is poorly managed and maintained! Do yourself a favor and do not even consider this slum in your travel plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cracker Barrel restaurant on Milan Road is a great place to eat! The menu is wonderful, the food is really good, and you can't beat the price! My wife and I had really good dinners there just about every night and the average bill was 25 bucks!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brownsfan10
Business
Barnesville, Ohio
Aug 3, 2009

Room not same as picture

With the price I didn't expect much. The room was not the same as picture on orbitz as a matter of fact it wasn't even close. When I complained I was told that there was nothing that Orbitz would do. This was the worst room I have ever reserved. I will never use Orbitz again and I would not recommened this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was close to many restaurants.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
STL, MO
Jul 1, 2011

Howard Johnson Cedar Point

The hotel in NO WAY looks like the internet photo! I was extremely disappointed!!! the rooms were as small as my walk-in closet!! I asked the manager if there were any other rooms but was informed all rooms were the same size. The staff was very nice but having to leave the room so the my boys could change or so I could change, OMG!! As long as you weren't in the room the trip was fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't stay here if you have more than two people in your travel party!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN2665
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 12, 2009

Mold in the Bathroom, Hair on the Sheets

Those of you that have allergies will know what I'm talking about. Some hotels don't bother my sinuses at all, and then there are those that do. The first morning that we woke up, my nose was very stuffy and my eyes were puffy. I later noticed that there was mold on the wallpaper on the top of the wall all the way around the bathroom. Even if you don't have allergies, I would not recomend this hotel because to me there is just no excuse for mold anywhere in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sandusky, OH
May 12, 2011

NOT IMPRESSED!

I came to the area to start work. When I arrived at the hotel, the parking lot was taped off and i had to maneuver my way to the front desk entrance. Upon checking in, the hotel clerk told me to park my car at the neighboring hotel as theirs was recently black-topped. Then I got to my room and realized that I was the only guest at the hotel. Sleeping was impossible as well, because there was a train that came by every 30 minutes. I would NOT recommend staying here for any purpose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Oh.
Aug 7, 2011

The hotel has not been remodeled.

I had five rooms for my family all of the rooms smell of mold that can be seen in each bathroom,toilet didn't work in two rooms,the peep hole parts were completely gone in my room I had to duck tape inside and outside the door, not to mention the nats and flies we had to buy spray and let's not forget how hard we had to slam the doors several times before they would lock. we will never stay here again nor will I tell anyone to stay here. The only enjoyment was the parks we attended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Got Taken
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 26, 2009

OMG, What In The World !!!

Please listen to the reviews. They do not lie about this motel. This Ho Jo is VERY old and nasty. Not something I would ever take my family to - EVER. Immediately after checking in, we unsuccessfully tried to look for a different hotel. The room was nasty, and the bathroom nastier. The hotel manager had the nerve to say that the building our room was located in had just been built a couple of years ago - what a crock! The room door was so slanted that you could put your entire finger through to the outside. The room walls were crumbling at the baseboards and it was very obvious that instead of repairing the walls, they just paint over it. The floors were absolutely filthy. Now about the beds - HARD. Luckily we travel with blankets therefore we did not have to sleep under the filthy comforter and stained sheets. The bathroom was nastier than the room. We wore our flip flops in the shower. There was mold on the wall and shower curtain. Housekeeping (what a joke) did not clean the tub at all during our stay, as if it had ever been cleaned to start with. The noise level was irritating. The motel doors are heavy, so you hear every loud thud of neighboring rooms. Not to mention the people of neighboring rooms just hanging around outside smoking. If that was not bad enough, there is a drag strip near by and every evening...you guessed it, engines racing loudly into the night - not ideal for kids trying to sleep. To wrap this up, I would just like to say that we roughed it and stuck it out for a few nights, but we were too excited to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great wild life safari that is about 18 miles from the hotel. It will be a highlight of your trip. Well worth the time.

Back to menu Return to top