$31 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
41 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Hotel Map

41.4322 -82.6878
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (41)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 41
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.9

39% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
flint mi
Jul 3, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget Travels
Baltimore, MD
May 30, 2012

Great Low Rate Stay

This hotel was clean and just what we needed. We knew we would only be using the room for sleeping and showering because we were gone at the parks all day. This is about 5 minutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah beth
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Cedar point

Great value for one night. Perfect for a quick trip tocedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SACS
Tampa, Fl
Aug 14, 2014

family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coaster Fanatic
PA
Aug 6, 2009

Dont judge a book(OR HOTEL) by its cover

We went to cedar point for a short trip. Upon arriving at our hotel we weren't sure what we were getting ourselves into however the rooms were very clean and accomadating. Front desk staff was very helpful and personalbe. Over all our trip was a blast. The pool was nice and clean. Breakfast bar was small but well stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyTam
Indianapolis
Jul 18, 2012

Cedar Point Trip

The room was small but, it was clean and just what we needed. We didn't need a big fancy room. I would diffentley stay here again. Just miutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 24, 2008

Value Minded

Very handy to the Cedar Point area with clean rooms. The room size was a bit small, but for the money it worked out just fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

This gem is very close to Cedar Point Coaster Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Team Sun Spot
PA
Dec 20, 2009

Great Price, so-so hotel.

Attending a trade show 4 miles away, so this was a very convenient, very affordable motel for our 10 hr. stay. Room was freezing upon arrrival (but heating is expensive). We cranked up the heat and it did warm up very quickly. The room was very small but the price was awesome. Appeared clean except for the dirty socks found the next morning wedged up against the base of the bed :(. Coffee & pot, microwave, fridge, cable TV, outdoor pool. Coffee, tea, cereal, juice in lobby in the morning. A lot of options around this location for shopping/dining. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This was just a short 10 hr stay enroute to a trade show, but there is soo many places to eat and shop within this area. Food is even within walking distance. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy Mehul
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for Cedar Point

I booked this room 1 week prior to our visit to Cedar Point for $100. I was just glad to get a room since most hotels were packed full (including this one) that weekend. Having said that, this room is not worth $100/night. The room was quite smaller than we thought it'd be, the bathroom was cramped as well (but clean). We had pretty noisy neighbors too. The parking lot was extremely tiny and I got the 2nd to last spot they had. Small is the theme here... I would recommend this hotel to people that just need a decent place to crash after a day at Cedar Point. The rooms are clean, water is hot, A/C is cold, and the staff helpful. That's about all you'll get though. The breakfast was stale cereal and warm milk with various types of doughnuts (better than nothing). The Howard Johnson down the road in front of the park is MUCH better, but this hotel is an "Express" and you'll see why. Again, if you aren't looking for anything elegant and you aren't looking to be pampered then this place is perfect. In addition to what I mentioned above, the location is pretty nice (5-10 minutes from the park). Just don't pay $100/night unless you have to...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave Dragster
Orlando, FL
Jul 14, 2014

Good, but small room, very small bathroom

The manager was very friendly and helpful, especially after I noticed we didn't necessarily have a non-smoking room as we thought we did. We were glad to have a place near Cedar Point to sleep after a long day there. The bathroom's toilet probably couldn't be any closer to the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search