Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
42 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Team Sun Spot
Business
PA
Dec 20, 2009

Great Price, so-so hotel.

Attending a trade show 4 miles away, so this was a very convenient, very affordable motel for our 10 hr. stay. Room was freezing upon arrrival (but heating is expensive). We cranked up the heat and it did warm up very quickly. The room was very small but the price was awesome. Appeared clean except for the dirty socks found the next morning wedged up against the base of the bed :(. Coffee & pot, microwave, fridge, cable TV, outdoor pool. Coffee, tea, cereal, juice in lobby in the morning. A lot of options around this location for shopping/dining. Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

This was just a short 10 hr stay enroute to a trade show, but there is soo many places to eat and shop within this area. Food is even within walking distance. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
IN2665
Business
Indianapolis
Nov 12, 2009

Mold in the Bathroom, Hair on the Sheets

Those of you that have allergies will know what I'm talking about. Some hotels don't bother my sinuses at all, and then there are those that do. The first morning that we woke up, my nose was very stuffy and my eyes were puffy. I later noticed that there was mold on the wallpaper on the top of the wall all the way around the bathroom. Even if you don't have allergies, I would not recomend this hotel because to me there is just no excuse for mold anywhere in a hotel room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maumee, Ohio
Oct 19, 2009

Froze during the night at antique motel

We picked this hotel because it was the closest one to the wedding reception- the wedding was more than an hour from our home, so we (2 couples) decided to stay over. The location was great. This is a very old motor court. It is in fair to good condition. It was clean. The room was very, very small- smaller than a microtel!!! We asked for adjacent rooms and were given rooms near each other- not a big deal, but not what we asked for. The bathroom was tiny, but there was good water pressure. The main problem was the heat- I awoke 4 times during the night because the heat went off and the room got cold enough to wake us- that's pretty cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kingx18
Business
Geneva, OH
Sep 4, 2009

Cedar Point Extravaganza

We enjoyed a lovely dinner before going to sleep early to prepare for a joyful day @ Cedar Point. The only thing i would recommend would be larger rooms. Other than that it was fine. In comparison to other trips, it was quite the same.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bike traveller
Business
Columbus, Oh
Aug 18, 2009

Great Price

For the Price and location it was perfect. I didn't need a Hilton to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coaster Fanatic
Business
PA
Aug 6, 2009

Dont judge a book(OR HOTEL) by its cover

We went to cedar point for a short trip. Upon arriving at our hotel we weren't sure what we were getting ourselves into however the rooms were very clean and accomadating. Front desk staff was very helpful and personalbe. Over all our trip was a blast. The pool was nice and clean. Breakfast bar was small but well stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
brownsfan10
Business
Barnesville, Ohio
Aug 3, 2009

Room not same as picture

With the price I didn't expect much. The room was not the same as picture on orbitz as a matter of fact it wasn't even close. When I complained I was told that there was nothing that Orbitz would do. This was the worst room I have ever reserved. I will never use Orbitz again and I would not recommened this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel was close to many restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Got Taken
Business
Richmond VA
Jul 26, 2009

OMG, What In The World !!!

Please listen to the reviews. They do not lie about this motel. This Ho Jo is VERY old and nasty. Not something I would ever take my family to - EVER. Immediately after checking in, we unsuccessfully tried to look for a different hotel. The room was nasty, and the bathroom nastier. The hotel manager had the nerve to say that the building our room was located in had just been built a couple of years ago - what a crock! The room door was so slanted that you could put your entire finger through to the outside. The room walls were crumbling at the baseboards and it was very obvious that instead of repairing the walls, they just paint over it. The floors were absolutely filthy. Now about the beds - HARD. Luckily we travel with blankets therefore we did not have to sleep under the filthy comforter and stained sheets. The bathroom was nastier than the room. We wore our flip flops in the shower. There was mold on the wall and shower curtain. Housekeeping (what a joke) did not clean the tub at all during our stay, as if it had ever been cleaned to start with. The noise level was irritating. The motel doors are heavy, so you hear every loud thud of neighboring rooms. Not to mention the people of neighboring rooms just hanging around outside smoking. If that was not bad enough, there is a drag strip near by and every evening...you guessed it, engines racing loudly into the night - not ideal for kids trying to sleep. To wrap this up, I would just like to say that we roughed it and stuck it out for a few nights, but we were too excited to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a great wild life safari that is about 18 miles from the hotel. It will be a highlight of your trip. Well worth the time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 6, 2009

Not the best...Not the Worst

This is your usual hotel to just sleep for a night while at Cedar Point. It was overpriced for the room, but was all we could get. The room was very small and the bathroom was more like a closet, so only stay if you need a place to sleep and won't be spending much time in the room. The kids were excited about the pool, but it was way too cold to use. The beds were pretty comfortable and looked fairly new, which is always a bonus after 12 hours walking around Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus
Jul 5, 2008

Cramped Room

From what I understand most the hotels in Sandusky aren't the greatest. We payed 90 dollars for a king sized bed in a cramped little room. The Pool is small. At least the air conditioner worked, and there was a small breakfast included. Its not the best for the money, but not bad if you're planning to go to Cedar Point for the day and want a comfortable bed to come back to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top