$37 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
View map of 2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
3

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyTam
Indianapolis
Jul 18, 2012

Cedar Point Trip

The room was small but, it was clean and just what we needed. We didn't need a big fancy room. I would diffentley stay here again. Just miutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edub69
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 24, 2013

1 Star only because I can't give it a 0!

I have stayed in many motels, hotels, and inns all across the United States of America and this was the worst one. In my opinion, regardless of whether you're staying at a hotel or a five-star resort, the bed is the most important thing in the room. My wife and I arrived in the room and we're immediately bombarded by the overwhelming smell of Febreeze. Within minutes, we discovereded that the odor masker was being used on the bed. The pillows were mildewed and the comforter was stained everywhere! (And by stains y'all know what I'm talking about! I.e. bodily fluids!). The powerful odor in the room made it hard to breathe and my wife started to develop an allergic reaction. Thankfully I thought to clean the air conditioner and it's filters and ran the unit throughout the duration of our stay, making it more comfortable to breathe. Our first night, the staff was unavailable so my wife and I stripped-down the bed and slept on it with no pillows and blankets. The next day, the hotel staff gave us new pillows and blankets yet they were still dirty and soiled! There was also black mold in the electrical socket that provides power to the air conditioner and all over the rim of the bathtub. I have stayed at lots of motels (Motel 6, Super 8, etc.) And even though those rooms were cheap and nothing to rave about, the beds, blankets, and pillows were always clean! Because of this experience, I'm no longer booking hotels with my travel packages! If I hadnt already prepaid for the room, my wife and I would've immediately left and stayed elsewhere! This hotel is poorly managed and maintained! Do yourself a favor and do not even consider this slum in your travel plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cracker Barrel restaurant on Milan Road is a great place to eat! The menu is wonderful, the food is really good, and you can't beat the price! My wife and I had really good dinners there just about every night and the average bill was 25 bucks!

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Toth
Business
Newaygo, MI
Aug 22, 2013

OK

An OK place. Clean room. Not very much for breakfast. Outdoor pool was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Awesome couple Allen
Business
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 20, 2013

Quick sleep for over night stay at Cedar Point

The room temp was nice but over all place seems very old, stains on bed sheets and shower curtain was disgusting covered in black mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle jr.
Business
Wayne NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Pass it by

Rooms were not very clean, very old bld, smells of smoke not a place to bring a family, only would stay there as a last resort late at night if nothing else was available, I say pass this one by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt traveling with famil
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 30, 2012

Good enough for the price-- crowded for 4

This hotel was close to Cedar Point and the Jet Express. The room and bathroom were VERY small. The beds were comfortable-the room was clean-didn't smell too good but we used Lysol and air freshener and left the door open for a while and it was OK. Fridge and microwave too. The in room AC was loud but we were too tired to care that much. "Breakfast" was coffee, juice, dry cereal but was saved by very fresh donuts from the shop next door. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. Overall, good for the cheap rates. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful if the hotel provided nearby restaurants with directions.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbsmom
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Aug 10, 2012

Average Family Getaway

Was small. Rooms very small. pool small. not enough to eat on breakfast bar. could use some fruit maybe a waffle maker Not much choice in cereal. donuts were good.! need more area to eat in . Room had strong overpowering smell apon entering. Air conditionar was very dirty. bedspreads had spots on them. For just sleeping there at night, room was just fair for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

was only a very short drive to cedar point

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy Mehul
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for Cedar Point

I booked this room 1 week prior to our visit to Cedar Point for $100. I was just glad to get a room since most hotels were packed full (including this one) that weekend. Having said that, this room is not worth $100/night. The room was quite smaller than we thought it'd be, the bathroom was cramped as well (but clean). We had pretty noisy neighbors too. The parking lot was extremely tiny and I got the 2nd to last spot they had. Small is the theme here... I would recommend this hotel to people that just need a decent place to crash after a day at Cedar Point. The rooms are clean, water is hot, A/C is cold, and the staff helpful. That's about all you'll get though. The breakfast was stale cereal and warm milk with various types of doughnuts (better than nothing). The Howard Johnson down the road in front of the park is MUCH better, but this hotel is an "Express" and you'll see why. Again, if you aren't looking for anything elegant and you aren't looking to be pampered then this place is perfect. In addition to what I mentioned above, the location is pretty nice (5-10 minutes from the park). Just don't pay $100/night unless you have to...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lyaya
Business
Columbus,oh
Jul 8, 2012

Never Again

There were young men drinking outside the premises on a truck. The pillows had stains on them. There were bugs coming out of the keyhole! It smelled bad. The family didn't stay there they just left. I had booked the rooms for them. I lost my money and they had to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crazyhorse25
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

NOT A HOWARD JOHNSON!!! AS MENTIONED BY SOMEONE.

A very shoddy motel. It seemed like that local hooker joint we all see in the movies with the meth labs etc. They just painted the walls and a little decor to make it into a Howard Johnson. Staff did seem nice though. Washroom very tiny especially when bathing kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast food joints close by.

Back to menu Return to top