$36 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 12, 2015

Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
View map of 2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.3
Location:
3.1
Value:
2.9

41% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
flint mi
Jul 3, 2011

Unbeatable location for the price

great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Awesome couple Allen
Business
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 20, 2013

Quick sleep for over night stay at Cedar Point

The room temp was nice but over all place seems very old, stains on bed sheets and shower curtain was disgusting covered in black mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle jr.
Business
Wayne NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Pass it by

Rooms were not very clean, very old bld, smells of smoke not a place to bring a family, only would stay there as a last resort late at night if nothing else was available, I say pass this one by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt traveling with famil
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 30, 2012

Good enough for the price-- crowded for 4

This hotel was close to Cedar Point and the Jet Express. The room and bathroom were VERY small. The beds were comfortable-the room was clean-didn't smell too good but we used Lysol and air freshener and left the door open for a while and it was OK. Fridge and microwave too. The in room AC was loud but we were too tired to care that much. "Breakfast" was coffee, juice, dry cereal but was saved by very fresh donuts from the shop next door. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. Overall, good for the cheap rates. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful if the hotel provided nearby restaurants with directions.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbsmom
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Aug 10, 2012

Average Family Getaway

Was small. Rooms very small. pool small. not enough to eat on breakfast bar. could use some fruit maybe a waffle maker Not much choice in cereal. donuts were good.! need more area to eat in . Room had strong overpowering smell apon entering. Air conditionar was very dirty. bedspreads had spots on them. For just sleeping there at night, room was just fair for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

was only a very short drive to cedar point

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy Mehul
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for Cedar Point

I booked this room 1 week prior to our visit to Cedar Point for $100. I was just glad to get a room since most hotels were packed full (including this one) that weekend. Having said that, this room is not worth $100/night. The room was quite smaller than we thought it'd be, the bathroom was cramped as well (but clean). We had pretty noisy neighbors too. The parking lot was extremely tiny and I got the 2nd to last spot they had. Small is the theme here... I would recommend this hotel to people that just need a decent place to crash after a day at Cedar Point. The rooms are clean, water is hot, A/C is cold, and the staff helpful. That's about all you'll get though. The breakfast was stale cereal and warm milk with various types of doughnuts (better than nothing). The Howard Johnson down the road in front of the park is MUCH better, but this hotel is an "Express" and you'll see why. Again, if you aren't looking for anything elegant and you aren't looking to be pampered then this place is perfect. In addition to what I mentioned above, the location is pretty nice (5-10 minutes from the park). Just don't pay $100/night unless you have to...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyTam
Business
Indianapolis
Jul 18, 2012

Cedar Point Trip

The room was small but, it was clean and just what we needed. We didn't need a big fancy room. I would diffentley stay here again. Just miutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lyaya
Business
Columbus,oh
Jul 8, 2012

Never Again

There were young men drinking outside the premises on a truck. The pillows had stains on them. There were bugs coming out of the keyhole! It smelled bad. The family didn't stay there they just left. I had booked the rooms for them. I lost my money and they had to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crazyhorse25
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

NOT A HOWARD JOHNSON!!! AS MENTIONED BY SOMEONE.

A very shoddy motel. It seemed like that local hooker joint we all see in the movies with the meth labs etc. They just painted the walls and a little decor to make it into a Howard Johnson. Staff did seem nice though. Washroom very tiny especially when bathing kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast food joints close by.

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget Travels
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 30, 2012

Great Low Rate Stay

This hotel was clean and just what we needed. We knew we would only be using the room for sleeping and showering because we were gone at the parks all day. This is about 5 minutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave 2 Rose
Business
Xenia,Oh
May 23, 2012

Room didn't match the company name.

When you read ho-jo you do not think flea-bag. This was well below Motel 6 in overall experience. The one thing good was that as worn as it was, it was clean. I went to fish and found that the continental breakfast didn't begin until two hours after the charters depart; and that the motel was closer to 17 miles away instead of the six they stated on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top