Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
42 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uncle jr.
Business
Wayne NJ
Jul 7, 2013

Pass it by

Rooms were not very clean, very old bld, smells of smoke not a place to bring a family, only would stay there as a last resort late at night if nothing else was available, I say pass this one by!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Aunt traveling with famil
Business
Columbus Ohio
Aug 30, 2012

Good enough for the price-- crowded for 4

This hotel was close to Cedar Point and the Jet Express. The room and bathroom were VERY small. The beds were comfortable-the room was clean-didn't smell too good but we used Lysol and air freshener and left the door open for a while and it was OK. Fridge and microwave too. The in room AC was loud but we were too tired to care that much. "Breakfast" was coffee, juice, dry cereal but was saved by very fresh donuts from the shop next door. Staff was friendly and tried to be helpful. Overall, good for the cheap rates. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Helpful if the hotel provided nearby restaurants with directions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbsmom
Business
Grand Rapids MI
Aug 10, 2012

Average Family Getaway

Was small. Rooms very small. pool small. not enough to eat on breakfast bar. could use some fruit maybe a waffle maker Not much choice in cereal. donuts were good.! need more area to eat in . Room had strong overpowering smell apon entering. Air conditionar was very dirty. bedspreads had spots on them. For just sleeping there at night, room was just fair for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

was only a very short drive to cedar point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Indy Mehul
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jul 23, 2012

Good for Cedar Point

I booked this room 1 week prior to our visit to Cedar Point for $100. I was just glad to get a room since most hotels were packed full (including this one) that weekend. Having said that, this room is not worth $100/night. The room was quite smaller than we thought it'd be, the bathroom was cramped as well (but clean). We had pretty noisy neighbors too. The parking lot was extremely tiny and I got the 2nd to last spot they had. Small is the theme here... I would recommend this hotel to people that just need a decent place to crash after a day at Cedar Point. The rooms are clean, water is hot, A/C is cold, and the staff helpful. That's about all you'll get though. The breakfast was stale cereal and warm milk with various types of doughnuts (better than nothing). The Howard Johnson down the road in front of the park is MUCH better, but this hotel is an "Express" and you'll see why. Again, if you aren't looking for anything elegant and you aren't looking to be pampered then this place is perfect. In addition to what I mentioned above, the location is pretty nice (5-10 minutes from the park). Just don't pay $100/night unless you have to...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyTam
Business
Indianapolis
Jul 18, 2012

Cedar Point Trip

The room was small but, it was clean and just what we needed. We didn't need a big fancy room. I would diffentley stay here again. Just miutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lyaya
Business
Columbus,oh
Jul 8, 2012

Never Again

There were young men drinking outside the premises on a truck. The pillows had stains on them. There were bugs coming out of the keyhole! It smelled bad. The family didn't stay there they just left. I had booked the rooms for them. I lost my money and they had to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crazyhorse25
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

NOT A HOWARD JOHNSON!!! AS MENTIONED BY SOMEONE.

A very shoddy motel. It seemed like that local hooker joint we all see in the movies with the meth labs etc. They just painted the walls and a little decor to make it into a Howard Johnson. Staff did seem nice though. Washroom very tiny especially when bathing kids.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast food joints close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budget Travels
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 30, 2012

Great Low Rate Stay

This hotel was clean and just what we needed. We knew we would only be using the room for sleeping and showering because we were gone at the parks all day. This is about 5 minutes from Cedar Point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dave 2 Rose
Business
Xenia,Oh
May 23, 2012

Room didn't match the company name.

When you read ho-jo you do not think flea-bag. This was well below Motel 6 in overall experience. The one thing good was that as worn as it was, it was clean. I went to fish and found that the continental breakfast didn't begin until two hours after the charters depart; and that the motel was closer to 17 miles away instead of the six they stated on line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah beth
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Oct 11, 2011

Cedar point

Great value for one night. Perfect for a quick trip tocedar point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top