Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

2 stars
2809 Milan Road, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
42 reviews
family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable. See full review

  • SACS
  • Aug 14, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

great See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 3, 2011
Large rooms, free breakfast and a pool draw budget-minded families
Start the day with free Rise'n Dine breakfast at the easy Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. This affordable Sandusky hotel features refreshed guest rooms with free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch TV with HBO and free local calls. Guests also enjoy free newspaper, free parking, a 24-hour front desk and a lounge-friendly outdoor swimming pool. The popular Castaway Bay theme park is a quick drive from the hotel while Ghostly Manor Thrill Center is within easy walking distance. 
Highlights
  • Save with free Rise'n Dine continental breakfast served daily
  • Relax at Howard Johnson's outdoor swimming pool
  • Book a room with a Jacuzzi for extra luxury
  • Located within walking distance of Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a quick drive from Castaway Bay
Location
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is centrally located on Milan Road, only a few blocks from the popular Ghostly Manor Thrill Center and a short drive to other theme parks.
Rooms
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park is a small hotel with 30 guest rooms, all completely remodeled and surprisingly spacious. Every room includes free Wi-Fi, a 25-inch cable TV with HBO and more than 40 other channels, free local calls, an AM/FM radio/alarm clock, free daily newspaper, a coffee-maker, and an iron and ironing board. Families appreciate larger rooms with comfortable sleeping arrangements for six. Upgrade to a Jacuzzi room for extra relaxation.Nonsmoking rooms are also available.
Features
Continental Rise'n Dine breakfast is free at Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park. More popular dining options are easy to find in the area, including T.G.I. Friday's, Red Lobster, Olive Garden and Perkins Pancake House. A Gold Medal Award property, the Howard Johnson Express Inn -- Sandusky Amusement Park aims to make guests feel at home with the service of a small, guest-oriented staff.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (52.3 mi/84.2 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (67.1 mi/108 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.1 mi/35.6 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (63.9 mi/103 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (62.6 mi/101 km)
Business
Fax and copy services available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (42)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 42
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tonythetraveller
Business
bangkok, thailand
Dec 2, 2014

Great Place if you need simple & clean near cedar point

The room is nice enough.. clean, cozy... and very close to cedar point... continental breakfast is an added perk.. Enjoy stay.. I'd sleep in a box to go to cedar point again... AWESOME!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SACS
Business
Tampa, Fl
Aug 14, 2014

family vacation

Just there overnight but staff was nice and helpful and room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
off to Cedar Point
Business
Louisville, KY
Aug 12, 2014

You get what you pay for

The location is close to Cedar Point and the front desk attendant was friendly. However the room was very old and out-dated. The carpet was sticky so I did not take my shoes off in the room. The walls were very thin so you could hear when people were moving around, opening doors all night, and moving in at late hours. The location is also near a train so you could hear it through the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tiarrae30
Business
Sandusky, OH
Jul 25, 2014

July 2014-Dirty!!!

Carpet made bare feet black, garbage from previous guest stuffed under bathroom sink, blood stains on sheets, black hairs on bathroom walls, film under sink edge...I cannot believe any online booking site would use this place when people are looking for rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave Dragster
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 14, 2014

Good, but small room, very small bathroom

The manager was very friendly and helpful, especially after I noticed we didn't necessarily have a non-smoking room as we thought we did. We were glad to have a place near Cedar Point to sleep after a long day there. The bathroom's toilet probably couldn't be any closer to the sink.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
snowgirl7446
Business
Cleveland ohio
May 26, 2014

room could have been cleaner.

In my opinion, hot tub room should have been cleaner. Had to ask for new blanket because the one in the room was covered w spots. TV was not clear, we still had fun, but the hotel could use some updating and cleaning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
joebob75
Business
warren, ohio
May 18, 2014

Will not stay here again...

The room was clean but the bathroom was barely big enough for a small man to get into. The "Continental breakfast" consisted of not fresh donuts and dirt tasting coffee. Had to go to local restaurant to get something edible to eat. You definitely get what you pay for. Never again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Edub69
Business
Santa Ana, CA
Aug 24, 2013

1 Star only because I can't give it a 0!

I have stayed in many motels, hotels, and inns all across the United States of America and this was the worst one. In my opinion, regardless of whether you're staying at a hotel or a five-star resort, the bed is the most important thing in the room. My wife and I arrived in the room and we're immediately bombarded by the overwhelming smell of Febreeze. Within minutes, we discovereded that the odor masker was being used on the bed. The pillows were mildewed and the comforter was stained everywhere! (And by stains y'all know what I'm talking about! I.e. bodily fluids!). The powerful odor in the room made it hard to breathe and my wife started to develop an allergic reaction. Thankfully I thought to clean the air conditioner and it's filters and ran the unit throughout the duration of our stay, making it more comfortable to breathe. Our first night, the staff was unavailable so my wife and I stripped-down the bed and slept on it with no pillows and blankets. The next day, the hotel staff gave us new pillows and blankets yet they were still dirty and soiled! There was also black mold in the electrical socket that provides power to the air conditioner and all over the rim of the bathtub. I have stayed at lots of motels (Motel 6, Super 8, etc.) And even though those rooms were cheap and nothing to rave about, the beds, blankets, and pillows were always clean! Because of this experience, I'm no longer booking hotels with my travel packages! If I hadnt already prepaid for the room, my wife and I would've immediately left and stayed elsewhere! This hotel is poorly managed and maintained! Do yourself a favor and do not even consider this slum in your travel plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Cracker Barrel restaurant on Milan Road is a great place to eat! The menu is wonderful, the food is really good, and you can't beat the price! My wife and I had really good dinners there just about every night and the average bill was 25 bucks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C Toth
Business
Newaygo, MI
Aug 22, 2013

OK

An OK place. Clean room. Not very much for breakfast. Outdoor pool was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - Sandusky Amusement Park

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Awesome couple Allen
Business
Georgetown, Ky
Jul 20, 2013

Quick sleep for over night stay at Cedar Point

The room temp was nice but over all place seems very old, stains on bed sheets and shower curtain was disgusting covered in black mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top