$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Comfort Inn Sandusky

2 stars
5909 Milan Rd. US 2 & US 250, Sandusky, OH 44870
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
123 reviews
Cabana bar is the best part

Pretty much what you would expect from a 2 star motel. Room was clean and the staff pleasant. There... See full review

  • DLatch
  • Jul 5, 2014
Perfect for a weekend getaway

We went to Cedar Point for their Halloween weekends and stayed here and loved it. We also stayed... See full review

  • rhondah24
  • Oct 2, 2012
Affordable family fun with free breakfast, game room and pools
Comfort Inn Sandusky is a short drive from the area's top amusement parks, Put-in-Bay and Kelly's Island and beaches. In the morning, feast on hot waffles as part of the free breakfast served daily. Stay connected from the comfort of a guest room with free Wi-Fi, cable TV and free local calls. Families find many ways to have fun with in-room Nintendo, both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool and a game arcade. For dining and cocktails, head to Baci Restaurant and Night Club located onsite.
Highlights
  • Free breakfast with hot waffles daily
  • Recreation includes an outdoor and indoor swimming pool, hot tub and game room
  • Enjoy free in-room Wi-Fi, plus pay-per-view movies and a Nintendo Game System
Location
Comfort Inn Sandusky is just off Highway 2 in the Sandusky South area, approximately 15 minutes from Castaway Bay and Cedar Point Amusement Park, and near shopping centers. This hotel is centrally located to major attractions, including Cedar Point, Jet Express, water parks, Put-in-Bay, Kellys Islands and beaches, all within four miles.
Rooms
Comfort Inn Sandusky features 209 smoking and nonsmoking guest rooms. Some rooms have been refreshed and all include free Wi-Fi access, free local calls, cable/satellite TV with a Nintendo Game System and pay-per-view movies. A coffee-maker, air conditioning, voicemail and hairdryer also add to a comfortable experience. Select rooms also include a balcony and hot tub.
Features
All guests at Comfort Inn Sandusky receive free daily breakfast with hot waffles. The hotel is home to Baci, a restaurant and nightclub serving Italian cuisine and cocktails. Area restaurants include Olive Garden, Outback Steakhouse, Ruby Tuesday and Applebee's. After dinner, unwind or have fun at the hotel with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a hot tub, game arcade, plus movies and Nintendo back in the room.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (49.3 mi/79.3 km)
  • Toledo Express Airport (72.8 mi/117 km)
Attractions
  • Castaway Bay (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Cedar Point Amusement Park (7.7 mi/12.4 km)
  • Marblehead Lighthouse (22.6 mi/36.4 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum, Cleveland (60.9 mi/98 km)
  • Toledo Zoo (68.3 mi/110 km)
Business
  • Two flexible meeting rooms with a total of 1,728 square feet (160 square meters) and a full banquet room with 1,944 square feet (181 square meters)
  • Free guest access to computer with Internet
  • Fax/copy services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

41.3846 -82.6477
Nearby airports
Cleveland Hopkins Int'l Arpt, (CLE), 50.00, MI, E; Toledo Munic. Arpt., (138), 60.00, MI, W; Griffing Sandusky Arpt, (SKY), 4.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Cedar Point 4 mi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn Sandusky also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Sauna
Disco
Game room
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Poolside snackbar
Vending machines
Services
Guest laundromat
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Microwave
In room movies

Nearby points of interest

  • Cedar Point Amusement Park: 3.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (123)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn Sandusky

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
123 out of 123
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago,IL
Aug 1, 2010

Disappointed

Our experience wasn't good. We checked into our room to find wallpaper hanging on by a tac in one place, a caved in bed, a very smokey smell (we asked for a non-smoking room when we booked), and a very unclean room. We asked to switch rooms. The next one was worse, so we switched again. It was the best of the three. It was still smokey and unclean (we bought our own supplies and cleaned the room ourselves), and had something that looked like blood on the wall. The hot tub was broken, the pools were dirty, and the breakfast was not good. The staff seemed unapologetic and even blamed Orbitz for the room not being non-smoking. There also appeared to be many children wokring there which made me uncomfortable. I am not high maintenence and have stayed in all kinds of room,and have never asked to switch rooms before, but this was pretty bad. I will not stay there again, especially for the price it cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
corey_rachel
Indiana
May 25, 2010

Terrible Customer Service

We had a terrible experience at this hotel. We had to wait over an hour in the lobby to check-in because they didn't know which rooms were clean (we arrived at check-in time). We couldn't use their computers to kill time because someone stole the internet connection. They double booked one of the rooms they gave us, so someone came into our room at 11:30pm while we were all in bed, which was very scary. There were so many people at breakfast that they couldn't keep up with food, so there was never any selection to eat. The cups they gave for juice were the 'medicine cup' size. It was just ridiculous. They did give us vouchers for $40 off our next stay, if we every go back to that hotel again, which we probably won't. The pool was nice, however, and the room was clean. There were a lot of towels, but they were scratchy. I would spend a little more for a better quality hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nicoleelaine0310
Canton, Mi
Jun 19, 2010

Horrible hotel room

We have been to this hotel before and didn't have problems. When we arrived, they gave us a handicapped room and it smelled very musty. The bathroom floor was discusting as well as the shower floor. It was black. When we went to the front desk, the worker was very friendly and hanged our room for us. The only issue with the help was that they entered the wrong roomnumber for our key 4 times!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar Point

Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelbyville indiana
Jul 27, 2009

smelly feet

We checked in comfort in after a long car ride. Noticed the nice statues in the lobby but lobby looked as if it hadnt been cleaned in a good while. Upon entering our room noticed a bad odor and the floor was damp. We also noticed people standing around at exit areas looking at everyone that came in. Needless to say this didnt make us feel very safe. It made us feel we was being watched and evaluated for a mugging . We was not happy with our room at all. floors damp bad odor etc. We went down to the lobby and asked to see a different room. They showed us one with the same results. Thank god that comfort in suites was next door. we asked if we could transfer to there and they did so for same price. THANK GOD the suites was much better and cleaner and we felt safe. Nobody was creeping around areas etc. With out this transfer we would have left and found another motel elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shelbyville indiana
Jul 27, 2009

smelly feet

We checked in comfort in after a long car ride. Noticed the nice statues in the lobby but lobby looked as if it hadnt been cleaned in a good while. Upon entering our room noticed a bad odor and the floor was damp. We also noticed people standing around at exit areas looking at everyone that came in. Needless to say this didnt make us feel very safe. It made us feel we was being watched and evaluated for a mugging . We was not happy with our room at all. floors damp bad odor etc. We went down to the lobby and asked to see a different room. They showed us one with the same results. Thank god that comfort in suites was next door. we asked if we could transfer to there and they did so for same price. THANK GOD the suites was much better and cleaner and we felt safe. Nobody was creeping around areas etc. With out this transfer we would have left and found another motel elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Jun 23, 2010

Smelly Rooms

When I walked into my room there was a horrible smell of mold dew and muskyness. I asked for another room. The staff quickly gave me a new room. That room smelled liked freshly sprayed air fresher. However, when I came back a few hours later, it smelled like mold dew. I asked for another room again. The staff nicely gave me another room. Once agian that room had the same problem. Then the staff gave me a room upstairs. This room was for non smoking; however, it smelled like smoke and there was ash trays in the room. Furthermore, Ohio is a smoke free state. Finally, I aked for a refund and checked into Great Wolf Lodge. However, the hotel Best Western is right next to Comfort Inn which looks new, so that would have been another option. Also, Best Western does not have a pool however, they are allowed to use the pool at the Comfort Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DL WALLS
Dayton Ohio
Aug 20, 2012

Poor choice

It was dark when we checked in. The walk down the cooridor to our room was covered with flying insects of some sort. We got to our room and our door was covered by these insects. You literally could not touch the door with your index finger without touching one. We took a folder and spent 3-4 minutes trying our best to shooo them away. As you can guess when we opened the door some got in. At least 200. I whent to the front desk to see if we could change rooms to the other side of the motel, but there were no more left. Needless to say we moved to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GiGi7904
Detroit, MI
Jul 24, 2013

Dirty hotel full of mold

Room was so disgusting dirty with mold everywhere. Right when you walked into the room you can smell the mold. We asked to be moved to another room and they did and also gave us a discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tricmcd
DesMoines, Iowa
Jul 20, 2011

BED BUGS!!!!!

Bed bugs were confirmed by hotel staff on our 2nd morning there. Spent 3 hours at laundry mat drying everthing (including our large suitcses) in the industrial size dryers. Since the live bed bugs were only found in 2 of the 3 rooms we occupied we were still charged with 2 nights in one of the rooms. Rooms smelled musty. No locks on any of the doors leading outside. Do not stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Comfort Inn Sandusky

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clfhngr
Knoxville,TN
Jun 18, 2010

Would not stay again

The room smelled kind of funny when we first walked in. We had a problem with our air conditioner not working. I called the front desk several times with no one checking on our room or calling us back to say they would fix it. We spent the whole 3 nights HOT!!! Not a good time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cedar point

Back to menu Return to top