$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

2 stars
3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
19 reviews
Very Happy

The staff were exceptionally friendly. We had never been to this area before and when we asked the... See full review

  • soccergrl
  • Jul 13, 2014
Celebrating our 58th Wedding Anniversary

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits the Port Clinton-Catawba area. The room was... See full review

  • Marnie53
  • Aug 24, 2012
The hotel is close to several area attractions. 15 miles from Cedar Point Amusement Park, close to ferry service, Lake Erie Islands and African Safari Wildlife Park.

Hotel Map

41.5083 -82.8624
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
GRIFFING SANDUSKY ARPT, (SKY), 16.10, MI, NW; CARL R KELLER FIELD, (PCW), 0.50, MI, E; TOLEDO EXPRESS ARPT, (TOL), 55.00, MI, SE; HOPKINS INTL ARPT, (CLE), 64.50, MI, NW;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Driving range
Dining
All inclusive
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Mon Ami Restaurant
53 North 2 miles from hotel. Historic Winery on Catawaba Island
Casa Las Palmas
53 North, across from Hotel
Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse
Route 53 North and 163. 2 miles from hotel.
Diana's Deli & Restaurant
On Route 163. Serves breakfast all day.
Waldo Peppers
Steak House near the hotel
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room is located just off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 19
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mash's
Marion ohio
Jul 7, 2014

Charged for smoking and do not even smoke

This hotel staff must strive to make extra money. My husband and I are non smokers hence the non smoking room. We have a charge for 200 hundred dollars so for one night our room was 445.00 bucks wow! I called to speak to someone about this charge and I was told it would be a couple of days before this can be handled. DO NOT STAY HERE. My husbands best friend and his wife are also non smokers and were on a trip down south this weekend and also got the same charge. This hotel is a rip off! Drive to Toledo stay at the comfort inn much cheaper and have nicer rooms and friendly staff it's well worth the drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Yuajin
Dayton OH
Jul 31, 2013

Staff don't care

I know first hand the challenges of running a business where any one of a number of employees can turn an otherwise great customer experience into a bad one so I am always forgiving of the inevitable shortcomings that should be expected at value chain hotels. However, I cannot forgive what I believe is an attitude of indifference from management on down. We stayed two nights as this hotel with two burned out lights in the room, no bathroom counter space because it was broken off the wall and wi-fi only available in the lobby. The evening desk person tried to be helpful, but indicated that I should not expect the management to do anything. As if all this was not bad enough, on the morning of checkout, the groundskeepers through big clods of grass and dirt up on customer cars with complete indifference. When I brought this to the manager's attention, I barely go an acknowledgement let alone an apology. There are too many better choices in this area so stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Family Summer Weekend 12'
Kankakee,Illinois
Jul 26, 2012

It's Fine for a weekend trip

Everything was fine and staff was friendly. Conveniently located but not a scenic spot or walking distance to anything interesting. I would have guessed the hotel to be a couple of years old due to some cosmetic issues in our room but it was described as brand new?? Although 100% nonsmoking, one evening every exit had smokers hanging outside the doors. If smoking was permitted it would be nicer to have a designated area away from the doors. I was surprised for a "new" hotel they opt not to install an elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food was good and plentiful at Waldo Peppers which was located in the little strip mall down the road. After dinner we enjoyed ice cream at the Tofts Ice Cream parlor two doors down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SUSAN-VACATION COORDINATOR
MOUNDSVILLE, WV
Aug 19, 2009

VERY NICE AND RELAXING VACATION

THE TRIP WAS VERY RELAXING. WE WENT TO CEDAR POINT WHICH WAS ONLY 17 MILES FROM OUR HOTEL. REAL EASY TO GET TO. IT ENDED UP RAINING HALFWAY THROUGH THE DAY BUT WE MADE THE BEST OF IT. THE NEXT DAY WE WENT TO A SMALL WATERPARK CALLED MONSOON LAGOON, WHICH WAS VERY NICE- NOT TOO CROWDED AND SEVERAL THINGS FOR THE KIDS TO DO. THEY HAVE GO-KARTS, BUMPER BOATS, MINATURE GOLF, AND THE WATER OF COURSE. IT WAS FUN!!!THE WATER PARK WAS JUST ONE EXIT UP FROM WHERE WE STAYED. THE HOTEL WAS VERY NICE. I WOULD GO THERE AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

CEDAR POINT IS AN AWESOME AMUSEMENT PARK!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Algonquin
Aug 5, 2008

Good place

Great place to stay-convenient to Cedar Point and Put-in-Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Mon Ami winery and resturant very good and a close drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search