$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 6, 2014

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

2 stars
3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
17 reviews
Celebrating our 58th Wedding Anniversary

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits the Port Clinton-Catawba area. The room was... See full review

  • Marnie53
  • Aug 24, 2012
Anniversary getaway

It was great the staff was great it was close enough 2 everything but not rite in the middle! It... See full review

  • MrandMrs Stephen Mazur
  • Aug 5, 2012
The hotel is close to several area attractions. 15 miles from Cedar Point Amusement Park, close to ferry service, Lake Erie Islands and African Safari Wildlife Park.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Driving range
Dining
All inclusive
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Security
Shops/Commercial services
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.5083 -82.8624
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
GRIFFING SANDUSKY ARPT, (SKY), 16.10, MI, NW; CARL R KELLER FIELD, (PCW), 0.50, MI, E; TOLEDO EXPRESS ARPT, (TOL), 55.00, MI, SE; HOPKINS INTL ARPT, (CLE), 64.50, MI, NW;
Area description
Beach, This hotel is located near the beach.

Dining

Mon Ami Restaurant
53 North 2 miles from hotel. Historic Winery on Catawaba Island
Casa Las Palmas
53 North, across from Hotel
Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse
Route 53 North and 163. 2 miles from hotel.
Diana's Deli & Restaurant
On Route 163. Serves breakfast all day.
Waldo Peppers
Steak House near the hotel
Breakfast Room
Breakfast Room is located just off the lobby

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Overall score

3.8 / 5
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

1
Yuajin
Dayton OH
Jul 31, 2013

Staff don't care

I know first hand the challenges of running a business where any one of a number of employees can turn an otherwise great customer experience into a bad one so I am always forgiving of the inevitable shortcomings that should be expected at value chain hotels. However, I cannot forgive what I believe is an attitude of indifference from management on down. We stayed two nights as this hotel with two burned out lights in the room, no bathroom counter space because it was broken off the wall and wi-fi only available in the lobby. The evening desk person tried to be helpful, but indicated that I should not expect the management to do anything. As if all this was not bad enough, on the morning of checkout, the groundskeepers through big clods of grass and dirt up on customer cars with complete indifference. When I brought this to the manager's attention, I barely go an acknowledgement let alone an apology. There are too many better choices in this area so stay away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

5
Marnie53
Massillon, Ohio
Aug 24, 2012

Celebrating our 58th Wedding Anniversary

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who visits the Port Clinton-Catawba area. The room was clean, the Air Condition was the quietest we have ever heard, the Continental Breakfast was very good. They had a grab bar in the shower/bathtub which was really nice since we are over 70. We spent a lot of time in that area camping with our children when they were small and we wanted to enjoy the area again. We were celebrating our 58th Wedding Anniversary this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

3
KODAK MOMENT
ROCHESTER, NY
Aug 23, 2012

PLEASANT STAY

STAFF VERY COURTEOUS, ROOM WAS CLEAN CLOSE TO PORT CLINTON AND MARBLEHEAD, WOULD HAVE BEEN NICE TO HAVE AN OUTDOOR GRILL AVAILABLE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

PUT IN BAY A BLAST, RENT THE GOLF CART AT JET EXPRESS, LOVED THE BUTTERFLIES

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

4
Marvings1
Wadsworth, Ohio
Aug 14, 2012

Anniversary getaway

The hotel and its staff was very nice. It was very convenient to go just about anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

5
MrandMrs Stephen Mazur
Sterling Heights, Much.
Aug 5, 2012

Anniversary getaway

It was great the staff was great it was close enough 2 everything but not rite in the middle! It was a prefect 3 days! It's not just a mission statement when they say they want 2 make u feel welcome & at home when u stay THEY REALLY DO IT! They were great! I felt like I was vacationing with family because they were sooooo pleasant & helpful! Great place 2 stay! Planning next years trip & will b bring son & new daughter-in-law also so we can share this experience with them also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

3
Family Summer Weekend 12'
Kankakee,Illinois
Jul 26, 2012

It's Fine for a weekend trip

Everything was fine and staff was friendly. Conveniently located but not a scenic spot or walking distance to anything interesting. I would have guessed the hotel to be a couple of years old due to some cosmetic issues in our room but it was described as brand new?? Although 100% nonsmoking, one evening every exit had smokers hanging outside the doors. If smoking was permitted it would be nicer to have a designated area away from the doors. I was surprised for a "new" hotel they opt not to install an elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Food was good and plentiful at Waldo Peppers which was located in the little strip mall down the road. After dinner we enjoyed ice cream at the Tofts Ice Cream parlor two doors down.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

4
barbwillie
Massillon, OH
Jul 16, 2012

Enjoyable girls getaway

The hotel staff was very nice and helpful. I called to let them know that even though i checked the box for a late check in we would not be until after 10:00 PM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

4
Bridesmaids x Four
Columbus, OH
Jul 16, 2012

Great for a Bachelorette Party weekend!

We stayed at the Country Inn and Suits By Carlson in Port Clinton as the price was great and they offered a continental breakfast! We were 10 minutes from the Jet Express, which was great as we went to Put In Bay to celebrate our dear friends Bachelorette Party! :) We were 3 minutes away from the Mon Ami Winery! This hotel had everything that we needed and check out was not until noon, which was a perk as we were out late the night before! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Mon Ami Winery and go to Put In Bay! :)

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jul 13, 2011

Fairfield Inn Port Clinton --

Just slept and needed nothing else. Staff was very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Walleye fishing on Lake Erie--best in the world.

Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton, OH

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Tiltonsville, OH
Jun 26, 2011

Great!

Very helpful staff, very clean, great breakfast options at the complimentary breakfast. The pool room was very warm; the pool was a bit chilly, but it was a very easy adjustment. Pool was quiet, too. Would have given it five stars except it's a little outdated in that it doesn't have an elevator. There are only 2 floors so it's not terrible, but I was on the second floor so I had to lug my suitcase up a flight of stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top