$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 12, 2014 Check-out: May 15, 2014

South Beach Resort Hotel

3 stars
8620 East Bayshore Road, Marblehead, OH 43440
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
7 reviews
My review of South Beach Resort Hotel

While we enjoyed the view South Beach had to offer, there are two negative aspects as well. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 1, 2007
Good, for the price

Stayed at this hotel for the purpose of going to Put In Bay, which was about 10-15 mins away. It... See full review

  • This Guy
  • May 29, 2013
The South Beach Resort Hotel is a 4 story luxury hotel with 55 Jacuzzi suites, 3 heated in-ground pools, hot tub on the water, private sandy beach, tennis courts, sand volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, children's activity center, 3 fishing piers, 38 slip marina, 2 restaurants, arcade and laundry. Our hotel offers accommodations to suit your every vacation need, and we're conveniently near everything you want to see and do, including: Cedar Point, the Lake Erie Islands, the historic Marblehead Lighthouse, Port Clinton, great fishing and boating, and much more. CLE-Cleveland-50W

South Beach Resort Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King View - B1K
Water View(Best View)-Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-1 King Bed and double pull out sofa -AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Queen - B2Q
Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Queen View - A2Q
Deluxe Ocean View Room with Water View-Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Family Suite - S1K
separate Bedroom w/ king bed&TV-Living room w/2 full pull out sofas-TV-Micro-Fridge-2 person Jacuzzi-Tbl for 4. Sleeps 7. 1 rollaway allowed.
Standard Queen Courtyard - C2Q
Standard Room Courtyard View-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Jacuzzi-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet Access. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Hotel Map

41.5145 -82.7374
Area description
City Center

Dining

FRONTWATERS RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE
Type- Full service restaurant. Cuisine: American. Dress code: Casual. SERVING TIMES- Lunch 1100 / Dinner 1700.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (7)

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Resort Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
7 out of 7
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
2.7
Value:
2

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
Jtbaugh
Pennsylvania
Jun 20, 2010

Getaway from home

We enjoyed the sun by the pools!! The beach wasn't that big. It stated that there was a Restaurant/bar lounge but when we got there it was shut down, which was very disappointing because there was no food place for at least 10 mins away, AND after 10 there was nothing not even a bar!! :( Other than that we all enjoyed the trip away from home!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
murray1950
Cleveland
May 21, 2012

Weekend getaway

I was expecting a resturant/bar on premises..Was told that it closed in the fall of 2011...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
MamaNana
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 6, 2012

A Little Disappointed

For the cost of our room, I felt it was lacking style and atmosphere. It was really not decorated well and lacked the types of things you would expect when charged this price. We paid a bit extra for a "view" which turned out to be not a view at all. Our biggest complaint was the smell in the breakfast area. The first morning we stayed to eat, but by the time we finished breakfast, the stench made me feel a little sick. The second day, we couldn't even go into that area to eat. You could clearly smell mold. In fairness, I think that if I had taken a family, the amenities such as tennis, swimming, volleyball, etc., would have been appealing, but found myself wishing we had researched a bit better before making this hotel choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved, loved, loved a small diner called Sweet Home Cafe in Fremont. The food was delicious, the owner was a delight and the atmosphere was a breath of fresh air.

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Ohio
Jun 7, 2010

A little disappointing

My husband and I were there for our anniversary. The pictures of the hotel were much nicer than the real thing. The "jacuzzi" for 2 was the bathtub with jets. There was no info of the area for things to do anywhere to be found not even a phone book. This hotel was a room and that is it - nothing else - you are on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
This Guy
Columbus, Ohio
May 29, 2013

Good, for the price

Stayed at this hotel for the purpose of going to Put In Bay, which was about 10-15 mins away. It was also close enough to restaraunts and other small shops. The hotel itself was outdated. But we didn't spend much time at the hotel. All in all, it served its purpose and we were satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Canton, Ohio
Jul 6, 2011

Not bad, but not exactly a "resort hotel

The hotel itself was clean, but it should not advertise as a "resort". The hotel itself is not worth the $ spent. The staff is friendly, but some of them can be overly friendly; one guy in particular gives off a "creeper" vibe. However, the younger staff, mostly college kids, were knowledgeable & friendly. The pro's: Two pools that were clean & not overly crowded, located within minutes of great wineries & attractions but not so close that you are unable to relax. Overall, not bad, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Herme's Winery

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
USA
Jul 1, 2007

My review of South Beach Resort Hotel

While we enjoyed the view South Beach had to offer, there are two negative aspects as well. The breakfast they offered, was very unsatisfactory, not much there, hardly any coffee or juices. Our friends stayed at a somewhat less expensive place and they were offered gourmet coffee, fresh fruit, waffles and many juices. The swimming pool is so far away from the hotel and bathroom access, I have trouble walking, it would've taken me a rather long time to make it back to the bathroom,they should offer golf carts or have one of the staff drive people there in their golf carts. I mentioned it to the hotel staff and they shrugged their shoulders. The room itself is very clean and comfortable,especailly the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Port Clinton is not far and one can take the jet express to Put-n-Bay.

Back to menu Return to top