$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

South Beach Resort Hotel

3 stars
View map of 8620 East Bayshore Road, Marblehead, OH 43440

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
9 reviews
Great place to stay.

My family and I loved the place. It was absolutely beautiful, and close enough to cedar point but... See full review

  • TrayBay
  • Jun 20, 2014
My review of South Beach Resort Hotel

While we enjoyed the view South Beach had to offer, there are two negative aspects as well. The... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 1, 2007
The South Beach Resort Hotel is a 4 story luxury hotel with 55 Jacuzzi suites, 3 heated in-ground pools, hot tub on the water, private sandy beach, tennis courts, sand volleyball, basketball, horseshoes, children's activity center, 3 fishing piers, 38 slip marina, 2 restaurants, arcade and laundry. Our hotel offers accommodations to suit your every vacation need, and we're conveniently near everything you want to see and do, including: Cedar Point, the Lake Erie Islands, the historic Marblehead Lighthouse, Port Clinton, great fishing and boating, and much more. CLE-Cleveland-50W

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed South Beach Resort Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★
$89
3.2 / 5 70 reviews
★★
$52
3.1 / 5 69 reviews
★★★
$133
4.1 / 5 66 reviews
★★
$45
2.2 / 5 20 reviews
★★★
$85
3.2 / 5 29 reviews
★★
$58
2.7 / 5 46 reviews
★★★
$70
3.2 / 5 55 reviews

South Beach Resort Hotel Rooms

Deluxe King View - B1K
Water View(Best View)-Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-1 King Bed and double pull out sofa -AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Queen - B2Q
Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Deluxe Queen View - A2Q
Deluxe Ocean View Room with Water View-Balcony-2 person Jacuzzi-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.
Family Suite - S1K
separate Bedroom w/ king bed&TV-Living room w/2 full pull out sofas-TV-Micro-Fridge-2 person Jacuzzi-Tbl for 4. Sleeps 7. 1 rollaway allowed.
Standard Queen Courtyard - C2Q
Standard Room Courtyard View-2 Queen Beds-AC-Cable TV-Table for 2-Jacuzzi-Hairdryer-Coffee Pot-Internet Access. Sleeps 5. 1 rollaway allowed.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Tennis
Fishing
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Express checkout
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Room
Television with cable
Telephone

Dining

FRONTWATERS RESTAURANT AND LOUNGE
Type- Full service restaurant. Cuisine: American. Dress code: Casual. SERVING TIMES- Lunch 1100 / Dinner 1700.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for South Beach Resort Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.1

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 1, 2007

My review of South Beach Resort Hotel

While we enjoyed the view South Beach had to offer, there are two negative aspects as well. The breakfast they offered, was very unsatisfactory, not much there, hardly any coffee or juices. Our friends stayed at a somewhat less expensive place and they were offered gourmet coffee, fresh fruit, waffles and many juices. The swimming pool is so far away from the hotel and bathroom access, I have trouble walking, it would've taken me a rather long time to make it back to the bathroom,they should offer golf carts or have one of the staff drive people there in their golf carts. I mentioned it to the hotel staff and they shrugged their shoulders. The room itself is very clean and comfortable,especailly the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Port Clinton is not far and one can take the jet express to Put-n-Bay.

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
gingergirl
Couples
N/A
Aug 16, 2015

Not a couple friendly hotel

When doing research online this hotel looked amazing however upon arrival we were shocked at what we paid for. First we were charged an extra $30 per day for a convenience fee we are still unsure of how our room was a convenience considering it was on the 4th floor and no where when we originally booked did it state this would be considered in addition to the fee I was told I would have to originally pay. We paid an additional amount in hidden fee's of nearly $100. Once in the room we were upset to find that the two person jacuzzi ended up just being a bathtub with jets in it. Our pillowcases were yellow and bedding was not clean. On the papers we received upon check in it stated to place your maid card on the door if you wanted maid service, we did not place the card on the door and had the maid service walk right in while we were in our room, they did not knock or even apologize upon entering, (the room service was 3 teenagers who did not wear anything that could easily identify them as employees either so it was very alarming when they walked into our room). Overall we were extremely disappointed in the services provided by this hotel. It is in a beautiful location next to the lake and there is an amazing marsh with walking trails across the road, however the location is the only highlight. Unfortunately we will not be staying with this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flashman9
Family
N/A
Aug 13, 2015

A family run Resort w/o the big budget

Both good and not so good here. Resort has awesome location! There are 3 pools (including one for very young children - kudos!) and a jacuzzi/hot tub. (The hot tub feels like it was heated by a 150 watt light bulb- perhaps 80-85 degrees.) Sand volleyball court, pirate ship and large grassy area for other activities as well all surrounded by the resort for privacy among guests. The pictures/description in the listing didn't match what we expected. Description - courtyard view. Reality - we had a view of the roof overlooking the courtyard. Description - 2 queen size beds. Reality - 2 full size overly soft beds. (no bugs as I am a phobe about them, but mattresses did not have the bug-proof plastic mattress wraps that most hotels now use.) Description - Jacuzzi for 2. Reality - large soaker tub in bathroom with jets. Could fit 2 kids in it but not 2 adults. PS - not to be run after 10pm. Good thing it took me 20+ mins to fill it & the hot water was not hot. Cleanliness was a bit of an issue. Its all about the details here. The floor, sheets and towels were clean (towels were small and not soft at all). The shower head had mildew as did the tub jets. There were other areas of minor missed dust and what not that commonly happens. There is an overwhelming need to completely overhaul the breakfast. 3 kinds of cereal, coffee,juice, doughnuts, muffins, oatmeal (single serve). Toaster could only handle 2 people at one time. One small micro to cook your oatmeal. All this was jammed into a nook area that only allowed 1-2 people to serve themselves at a time. Add in wait time for toaster and micro, very very inefficient. Table layout was bad as no lanes for moving either. Overall a 3. They could easily bump up a bit with detailed room cleaning, large soft towels and more accuracy in the room descriptions associated with each price point. This would place my expectations in line with what we actually got. If you know what you are getting its fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TrayBay
Family
Tn
Jun 20, 2014

Great place to stay.

My family and I loved the place. It was absolutely beautiful, and close enough to cedar point but also far enough away where you were not always in a crowd. The room was great, although I would have liked a mini fridge, and the place had two pools! A pool for the kids and also a pool and hot tub for adults. I would recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mexican restraint down the road was THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD!! They had our food out in less then 10 minutes and it was cheap.

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MamaNana
Couples
Cincinnati, OH
Sep 6, 2012

A Little Disappointed

For the cost of our room, I felt it was lacking style and atmosphere. It was really not decorated well and lacked the types of things you would expect when charged this price. We paid a bit extra for a "view" which turned out to be not a view at all. Our biggest complaint was the smell in the breakfast area. The first morning we stayed to eat, but by the time we finished breakfast, the stench made me feel a little sick. The second day, we couldn't even go into that area to eat. You could clearly smell mold. In fairness, I think that if I had taken a family, the amenities such as tennis, swimming, volleyball, etc., would have been appealing, but found myself wishing we had researched a bit better before making this hotel choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Loved, loved, loved a small diner called Sweet Home Cafe in Fremont. The food was delicious, the owner was a delight and the atmosphere was a breath of fresh air.

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
murray1950
Couples
Cleveland
May 21, 2012

Weekend getaway

I was expecting a resturant/bar on premises..Was told that it closed in the fall of 2011...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Canton, Ohio
Jul 6, 2011

Not bad, but not exactly a "resort hotel

The hotel itself was clean, but it should not advertise as a "resort". The hotel itself is not worth the $ spent. The staff is friendly, but some of them can be overly friendly; one guy in particular gives off a "creeper" vibe. However, the younger staff, mostly college kids, were knowledgeable & friendly. The pro's: Two pools that were clean & not overly crowded, located within minutes of great wineries & attractions but not so close that you are unable to relax. Overall, not bad, but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Herme's Winery

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jtbaugh
Friends
Pennsylvania
Jun 20, 2010

Getaway from home

We enjoyed the sun by the pools!! The beach wasn't that big. It stated that there was a Restaurant/bar lounge but when we got there it was shut down, which was very disappointing because there was no food place for at least 10 mins away, AND after 10 there was nothing not even a bar!! :( Other than that we all enjoyed the trip away from home!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Ohio
Jun 7, 2010

A little disappointing

My husband and I were there for our anniversary. The pictures of the hotel were much nicer than the real thing. The "jacuzzi" for 2 was the bathtub with jets. There was no info of the area for things to do anywhere to be found not even a phone book. This hotel was a room and that is it - nothing else - you are on your own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
USA
Jul 1, 2007

My review of South Beach Resort Hotel

While we enjoyed the view South Beach had to offer, there are two negative aspects as well. The breakfast they offered, was very unsatisfactory, not much there, hardly any coffee or juices. Our friends stayed at a somewhat less expensive place and they were offered gourmet coffee, fresh fruit, waffles and many juices. The swimming pool is so far away from the hotel and bathroom access, I have trouble walking, it would've taken me a rather long time to make it back to the bathroom,they should offer golf carts or have one of the staff drive people there in their golf carts. I mentioned it to the hotel staff and they shrugged their shoulders. The room itself is very clean and comfortable,especailly the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Port Clinton is not far and one can take the jet express to Put-n-Bay.

Back to menu Return to top