$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

3 stars
View map of 7070 Poe Avenue, Dayton, OH 45414

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
119 reviews
Great getaway

I booked it last min while traveling across country, it was one of the few hotels I could find that... See full review

  • Beth the Deal hunter
  • Sep 11, 2014
Great stay!

One night stay before our vacation to Mexico. Would have loved to have stayed longer. The two... See full review

  • Steph1212
  • Jul 17, 2014
Enjoy all the comforts of home away from home at this Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North lodging, just off Interstates 70 and 75 and only 6 miles from the Dayton International Airport. Pets are welcome at this hotel, which offers complimentary wireless Internet access, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and laundry facilities with valet service. Stretch your legs in the exercise room or on the sports court, splash in the pool or grill out in the picnic area. Each room in this hotel features a full-sized kitchen and sofa bed, ideal for longer stays, and some are available with fireplace. Smoking is not allowed at this hotel, and there is no charge for kids through age 17 when staying with an adult. Take care of business on the go in our business center, which offers complimentary wireless Internet, computer access and fax service.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Thomas J. Frericks Center: 7.7 mi
  • University of Dayton Arena: 7.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (119)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
4

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Here today gone tomorrow
Business
N/A
Dec 23, 2014

Buisness Trip

The room I was booked was very nice. The rooms are located outside/seperate from the main office so if there is bad weather you have to walk through. It is located about 10 miles outside of town. Over all a pleasant trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

You will need to rent a car or have your own transportation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ggodzilla
Business
Mishawaka, IN
Sep 22, 2014

Quite Tired and needs to be refurbished

We have stayed here four times and this time we decided we won't be back. The furnishings are really worn, forget about using the pullout sofa for a bed because it is in such bad shape. The phones didn't work, so couldn't call main desk. Bathroom and sink were clean enough, but obviously old and worn out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth the Deal hunter
Business
Charlotte,nc
Sep 11, 2014

Great getaway

I booked it last min while traveling across country, it was one of the few hotels I could find that allowed pets, was available and didn't have terrible reviews. When I checked into the hotel, the front desk lady was really nice, I was dead tired and cranky yet she still managed to get a small conversation out of me. Turns out that the room I had booked was sold out and O'rbitz upgraded me for free. So I got a suite that looked like a mini condo for $72 after I used some of my reward money.6 different buildings of about 4 outside access rooms each, nice little courtyards to walk my dogs around, and by the pool they have a bbq area for guests to use. The pool was closed for the season so I cant say anything about it but from a walk by glance it looked to be nice, only 5ft deep though. The room it self was clean and very impressive but there were a few querks that annoyed me. The A/C did not want to cool down, and this was after my husband had to shove a pen into the missing button hole to turn off the temp lock. Turned it down about 6* but the room temp only dropped about 2* in the 6hrs we spent there. The sheets would not stay on the bed and there was no mattress protector, it was a no smoking room yet there was a burn on the mattress. Pillows were lumpy but I had brought my own so it wasn't a big deal, just that I would expect better quality pillows from this quality hotel. Continental breakfast was really good, make your own waffles, juice, milk, cereal, bagels, and I think there was an option to make toast. Also they had coffee and flavored creamer, which was a nice treat for someone like me who likes flavor in their coffee. I would definitely consider staying here again and recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The National Museum of the Airforce, which is free, is about a 15min drive from the hotel and is definitely worth checking out. It will definitely take you a few hrs if you stop to read and take in everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Travels Often abc
Business
Minneapolis
Jul 27, 2014

You get what you pay for

Old, outdated room with, saggy mattress. Black streaks on ceiling where are vents flow. Dirty marks around doorknobs. Mirror in bathroom had fingerprints on it when I checked in and were never cleaned during my 3 night stay. Carpet was very old and it didn't look like it was ever vacuumed around the edges. I dared not go barefoot except in the shower. Shameful that room cleaning staff left collected garbage out in the front of each unit ... Garbage was there when I checked in at 7pm!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pale Mamba
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jul 21, 2014

Ok hotel for one night

The hotel was average all the way around. The location was not great as the area was not that nice. A cop was in the front entrance when I arrived as the area did not seem particularly safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dayton Art Institute

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph1212
Business
Milford Center, Ohio
Jul 17, 2014

Great stay!

One night stay before our vacation to Mexico. Would have loved to have stayed longer. The two bedroom was perfect for our family of 5. The kids enjoyed the pool. Since our flight was leaving so early, we were not able to enjoy the free breakfast so the front desk sent us some cereals, muffins and bagels, yogurt and milk for us to enjoy! Super nice!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
College Touring
Business
Ohio
Jul 14, 2014

Spacious rooms desperately needing renovation

While this hotel has large rooms and the price of the stay was lower than most, it is in desperate need of a make-over. Carpets were torn, mold in bathrooms, huge water stains on ceiling and throughout property, rotting boards on stairs, etc. Maids disturbed our sleep by talking loudly outside the window. Husband says he will never stay in this chain again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mimisews
Business
Missouri
Jul 11, 2014

Staff ignored mold issue in room 105

There was a strong moldy odor that was so bad that my lungs hurt and my eyes were burning. There was a puddle of water under the carpet next to the bed, so this was probably where the mold had grown over time. I alerted the front desk and asked to be moved to another room. They accommodated me but, no more than three hours later, they checked someone else into the room. Hawthorn Suites is not interested in the welfare of their visitors. As I heard one of the desk staff say when they were checking in the person ahead of me: "The type of room you book is not guaranteed. We will check you into a broom closet if it was all that was available". I do not recommend this hotel. BTW, the room# is 105, so beware if they try to put you in there. .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Frisch's Big Boy is the BEST and very close by. A Dayton favorite :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Disappointed Travler
Business
Indiana
Jun 16, 2014

Not Bad--Would stay here again!

This is a great value for the money. As for the POSITIVES: The location is not bad, and there is a major shopping center and multiple restaurants within 2 miles or less. The pool was nice and well taken care of. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are large, quite, and clean. The NEGATIVES: There was not a coffee maker in our room but the staff brought one after we brought it to their attention. The telephones in the room did not work. The breakfast on Saturday was “so-so,” but the breakfast on Sunday was of higher quality. As a side note, this is neither good or bad, but the staff told me that the standing hotel “regular” price was approximately only $1 more than we had paid through O-bits. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. Overall it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Dayton North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chile
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jun 10, 2014

Greatt

The hotel is very nice you have every thing in the room it's like being home. The rooms and the staff and the over all is fantastic We will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Shuttle would be nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top