$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 4, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Dayton Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 11 South Ludlow St, Dayton, OH 45402

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
50 reviews
Nice Location

Love Downtown Dayton! The pool was closed during my last visit, but experienced the old one and the... See full review

  • JayDay81
  • Jun 16, 2015
Great Stay

Perfect location for dayton and a very clean and friendly hotel for a great price. See full review

  • Roesch
  • Mar 10, 2014
The Dayton Grand Hotel in Downtown Dayton, a full service historic hotel restored to its grand presence, is just one block from the Schuster Performing Arts Center and minutes away from Dayton's finest recreational and entertainment areas.The Dayton Grand hotel is located near several major downtown corporations like NCR, MeadWestvaco, Relizon, and Reynolds & Reynolds. The warm, inviting hotel features guest rooms, suites and concierge level executive accommodations that boast all the comforts of home and a long list of amenities like high-speed internet access. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is also available in all hotel public areas. The guests enjoy the use of a heated, indoor roof top pool with a whirlpool and sauna, a fitness center, and a full service lounge. The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dayton Grand Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Deluxe that includes cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, free wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, and tea & coffee.
Deluxe - Double
Deluxe Double Room offers two double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Executive - Jr_Suite
Executive Jr. Suite offers one king bed and one sofa bed. Suite with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee, pull out sofa available, tea & coffee.
Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Smoking king bed with cable TV with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Double - Double
Double Double offers two double beds. Smoking double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Thomas J. Frericks Center: 1.6 mi
  • University of Dayton Arena: 1.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Daytonian rooms can combine for meetings of over 350 people comfortably down to round tables, projector and desk for 30 people. Complete banquet facilities available. 6,000 square feet.

Dining

Polo Grille Restaurant
The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.
Cricket Bar & Lounge
A full Service Bar & Lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Dayton Grand Hotel

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 50
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.5

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillieGriff5
Business
Stone Mountain, GA
Jul 5, 2012

Wonderful hotel

It was very nice place and the employees were extremely friendly. I really enjoyed the room. I do however think that they need to have valet parking in their parking garage because there was no elavator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
PJ SEZ
Business
Wallingford, Connecticut
May 20, 2012

Ham radio convention hotel... Nice!

This hotel is downtown Dayton, with easy on/off access from I-75. I was pleasantly surprised at how clean the Dayton downtown streets are kept, and how very quiet it was during the evening hours, Thursday and Friday. A negative was the remodeling of the hotel's restaurant. Another was no garage elevator, and no one paying attention to parkers taking up two spaces. All in all, I would come back here next year for the biggest ham radio convention in the USA. About 30,000 folks come to Hara's Arena just north of the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are many good restaurants just north on I-75, like Max & Irma's, Olive Garden, Cracker Barrel, etc.

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jayxare
Business
fairborn, ohio
May 31, 2014

pleasant experience

I loved the staff very nice and the overall experience just wasn't a big fan of the valet parking driver at night and the rooms air conditioner was a bit noisy, but would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tracy M.
Business
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

Sad to see this situation

The Grand, along with much of downtown Dayton, appears to be in its death throes. No amenities pool and all non room facilities are shut down and the place is essentially vacant. Staff unfailingly polite and helpful but only one person on duty at any time. Room immaculate but fridge and some furniture has been removed. A decent deal for a downtown hotel but there is no charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid downtown Dayton.

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NCAA basketball fan
Business
Des Moines, IA
Mar 26, 2013

Lots of Problems

I booked this hotel to attend the NCAA tournament and stayed 3 nights. The first night our room was not cleaned by early evening so we decided not to have it done. The next day they did not change the sheets on the bed and we had to request to have them changed. It took over 45 minutes to have a blow dryer delivered to our room and the room was hot (fan wouldn't blow cool air). The pool was closed the entire time and the elevators both broke down by the last day, so we had to carry our luggage down 12 flights. The garage attached to the hotel had no elevator or stairs so had to walk up/down the ramps to get to our car. The staff was very nice given what they had to put up with (constant complaints!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HLMB
Business
Savannah, GA
Nov 24, 2014

Worst Hotel Ever

After years of booking with this site the experience at this hotel have made me re-consider using the service. This hotel was under a massive renovation which was not disclosed upon booking. Upon arriving in Dayton in 20degree weather I found that my room had no hot water, there was no heat on my first night, no electricity on my second night, there were no options for food on the property, it was in a VERY questionable area of town, at night the local Homeless came into the lobby and made themselves comfortable, my room had peeling paint, the fire-alarm went off twice in the middle of the night, others complained of MICE in their rooms...I could go on. Repeated attempts to gain some sort of attention from the hotel staff yielded a response of "you'll have to talk to the Manager" who never seemed to be on-site. To top it off, I spent time on the phone with this booking service to attempt a remedy and the hotel gave them the SAME lame response of "talk to the manager". Furthermore the images of this hotel that accompany the listing online couldn't be more misleading. This was an EPIC fail of a hotel and am disappointed that no solution was rendered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top