Dayton Grand Hotel

3 stars
11 South Ludlow St, Dayton, OH 45402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
37 reviews
Great Stay

Perfect location for dayton and a very clean and friendly hotel for a great price. See full review

  • Roesch
  • Mar 10, 2014
Good Hotel with potential

It was good. I enjoyed the stay there. I would like to suggest that they invest in adding microwave... See full review

  • WillieGriff5
  • Jul 7, 2014
The Dayton Grand Hotel in Downtown Dayton, a full service historic hotel restored to its grand presence, is just one block from the Schuster Performing Arts Center and minutes away from Dayton's finest recreational and entertainment areas.The Dayton Grand hotel is located near several major downtown corporations like NCR, MeadWestvaco, Relizon, and Reynolds & Reynolds. The warm, inviting hotel features guest rooms, suites and concierge level executive accommodations that boast all the comforts of home and a long list of amenities like high-speed internet access. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is also available in all hotel public areas. The guests enjoy the use of a heated, indoor roof top pool with a whirlpool and sauna, a fitness center, and a full service lounge. The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.

Dayton Grand Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Deluxe that includes cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, free wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, and tea & coffee.
Deluxe - Double
Deluxe Double Room offers two double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Executive - Jr_Suite
Executive Jr. Suite offers one king bed and one sofa bed. Suite with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee, pull out sofa available, tea & coffee.
Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Smoking king bed with cable TV with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Double - Double
Double Double offers two double beds. Smoking double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

39.759 -84.1939
Area served
Downtown Dayton.
Nearby airports
James Cox Dayton International Airport (DAY) - 15 miles from the hotel.
Area description
Located in the heart of downtown Dayton, across from the City Hall and minutes away from Dayton's finest recreational, entertainment areas,Dayton Convention Center, City Hall, Fifth Third Field, The Victoria Theater, and the Oregon Historical District.

Nearby points of interest

  • Thomas J. Frericks Center: 1.6 mi
  • University of Dayton Arena: 1.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Daytonian rooms can combine for meetings of over 350 people comfortably down to round tables, projector and desk for 30 people. Complete banquet facilities available. 6,000 square feet.

Dining

Polo Grille Restaurant
The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.
Cricket Bar & Lounge
A full Service Bar & Lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Roesch
Cincinnati, OH
Mar 10, 2014

Great Stay

Perfect location for dayton and a very clean and friendly hotel for a great price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Spent the Day at scene 75, full of fun for kids and adults

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MN Sales Guy
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Sep 12, 2012

Pleasantly surprised!

I was pleasantly surprised with everything about the hotel considering the price. It was clean, modern, and the bed was very comfortable. The continental breakfast was good (not great, not bad) about what should be expected considering it is complimentary. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JimK326
Business
Sycamore, IL, USA
Jan 20, 2012

Nice place, good location, great staff!

Clean, neat, nice, comfortable and convenient. Couple that with the great staff and excellent price, and you've got a great place to stay which is exactly what the Dayton Grand Hotel is!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trucker.
Business
Chicago
Nov 22, 2011

Good for the price

The king-size bed sagged toward the middle. The room was too warm (it lacked a thermostat and the windows could not be opened); when we called the desk about it the attendant said the only solution would be moving to a new room. The bathroom lacked an exhaust fan, so the mirror steamed up. Our daughter enjoyed the pool but the whirlpool (mentioned in advertisements) appeared to have been out of service for months. On the plus side, the room attendants did excellent work, the downtown location was great, the parking was free, and the price was inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillieGriff5
Stone Mountain, GA
Jul 7, 2014

Good Hotel with potential

It was good. I enjoyed the stay there. I would like to suggest that they invest in adding microwave in the room since there was a refrig. I would also like to suggest that they include parking in their summation of room cost. while registering. I had not anticipated $12 per night for valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanshanshan
Buffalo, NY
Oct 29, 2012

Couples stay

Clean hotel with big rooms and comfy beds. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayDay81
Dayton
Aug 19, 2013

Sadly no pool!

The hotel is nice, in a good location to get anywhere but the only drawback is the pool and hottub aren't open!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants and bars in walking distance.

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
th3rd
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 12, 2013

I ENJOYED MY STAY!

Upon reading the reviews, so many people had negative things to say about the Dayton Grand Hotel which is now the Doubletree Hotel, as it is under renovations. Yes the hotel is old but it's very historic, it's currently under construction but staff made sure this didn't affect my stay! My room was clean, King Size Bed was super comfortable, bathroom was clean (toilet a bit small for me though, but I managed), housekeeping and staff were great, and it's in the heart of Downtown Dayton! Trust me I have high standards so I wouldn't lie to you. I will stay here again if I'm ever in the Dayton area. I stayed for four nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

De'Lish Restaurant and Lounge is AMAZING!

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scuba girl
Business
California
Feb 14, 2012

Business trip

The location was perfect for me. Being downtown, it made it convenient to walk to dinner nearby. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and attentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Uno's restaurant nearby was very good. Chicago style pizza.

Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Governor
Dayton OH
Sep 21, 2012

Best in Dayton

Excels in service Rooms comfortable. Quite and accomodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top