Dayton Grand Hotel

3 stars
View map of 11 South Ludlow St, Dayton, OH 45402

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
47 reviews
Great Stay

Perfect location for dayton and a very clean and friendly hotel for a great price. See full review

  • Roesch
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great Hotel for the Night

I arrived after a long drive on a wet night. While the valet parking was a little off-putting, I... See full review

  • MMarquit
  • Dec 3, 2014
The Dayton Grand Hotel in Downtown Dayton, a full service historic hotel restored to its grand presence, is just one block from the Schuster Performing Arts Center and minutes away from Dayton's finest recreational and entertainment areas.The Dayton Grand hotel is located near several major downtown corporations like NCR, MeadWestvaco, Relizon, and Reynolds & Reynolds. The warm, inviting hotel features guest rooms, suites and concierge level executive accommodations that boast all the comforts of home and a long list of amenities like high-speed internet access. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is also available in all hotel public areas. The guests enjoy the use of a heated, indoor roof top pool with a whirlpool and sauna, a fitness center, and a full service lounge. The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.

Top hotels

Dayton Grand Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Deluxe that includes cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, free wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, and tea & coffee.
Deluxe - Double
Deluxe Double Room offers two double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Executive - Jr_Suite
Executive Jr. Suite offers one king bed and one sofa bed. Suite with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee, pull out sofa available, tea & coffee.
Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Smoking king bed with cable TV with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Double - Double
Double Double offers two double beds. Smoking double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Thomas J. Frericks Center: 1.6 mi
  • University of Dayton Arena: 1.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Daytonian rooms can combine for meetings of over 350 people comfortably down to round tables, projector and desk for 30 people. Complete banquet facilities available. 6,000 square feet.

Dining

Polo Grille Restaurant
The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.
Cricket Bar & Lounge
A full Service Bar & Lounge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Dayton Grand Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
6 out of 47
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WillieGriff5
Business
Stone Mountain, GA
Jul 7, 2014

Good Hotel with potential

It was good. I enjoyed the stay there. I would like to suggest that they invest in adding microwave in the room since there was a refrig. I would also like to suggest that they include parking in their summation of room cost. while registering. I had not anticipated $12 per night for valet parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coco the monkey
Business
kokomo
Feb 25, 2014

Pool, bar, and restaurant kaput!

Decent room, but not much more. The pool, jaccuzzi, and restaurant are all out of commission indefinitely. Front desk staff are so-so, and the hotel is in a dead part of Dayton, especially on weekends and at night. But, for the price, the room is a decent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go across town to the Oregon District on East Fifth Street for downtown dining and craft beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
th3rd
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Nov 12, 2013

I ENJOYED MY STAY!

Upon reading the reviews, so many people had negative things to say about the Dayton Grand Hotel which is now the Doubletree Hotel, as it is under renovations. Yes the hotel is old but it's very historic, it's currently under construction but staff made sure this didn't affect my stay! My room was clean, King Size Bed was super comfortable, bathroom was clean (toilet a bit small for me though, but I managed), housekeeping and staff were great, and it's in the heart of Downtown Dayton! Trust me I have high standards so I wouldn't lie to you. I will stay here again if I'm ever in the Dayton area. I stayed for four nights!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

De'Lish Restaurant and Lounge is AMAZING!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Governor
Business
Dayton OH
Sep 21, 2012

Best in Dayton

Excels in service Rooms comfortable. Quite and accomodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Dublin Guy
Business
Queen Creek, AZ, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Great place to stay

I had a wonderful experience at the Dayton Grand Hotel. The staff was very helpful when needed and the location is in a good spot. I did not like the parking situation as it is dark at night and you do have to be aware of your surroundings. Overall it was a pleasant 3 night stay and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you do not have access to a car. A taxi ride is within a few minutes to fine dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneA
Business
Dayton, OH, USA
Feb 8, 2012

Your description is out of date

I noticed right away that your description is out of date because three of the four companies you list as being near the hotel are no longer in Dayton, and have not been for some time. This hotel was formerly the Double Tree which I heard withdrew it's franchise because the hotel was not being kept up to its standards. Just thought you should know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top