$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 29, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Dayton Grand Hotel

3 stars
11 South Ludlow St, Dayton, OH 45402
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
47 reviews
Great Stay

Perfect location for dayton and a very clean and friendly hotel for a great price. See full review

  • Roesch
  • Mar 10, 2014
Great Hotel for the Night

I arrived after a long drive on a wet night. While the valet parking was a little off-putting, I... See full review

  • MMarquit
  • Dec 3, 2014
The Dayton Grand Hotel in Downtown Dayton, a full service historic hotel restored to its grand presence, is just one block from the Schuster Performing Arts Center and minutes away from Dayton's finest recreational and entertainment areas.The Dayton Grand hotel is located near several major downtown corporations like NCR, MeadWestvaco, Relizon, and Reynolds & Reynolds. The warm, inviting hotel features guest rooms, suites and concierge level executive accommodations that boast all the comforts of home and a long list of amenities like high-speed internet access. For your convenience, wireless HSIA is also available in all hotel public areas. The guests enjoy the use of a heated, indoor roof top pool with a whirlpool and sauna, a fitness center, and a full service lounge. The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dayton Grand Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Dayton Grand Hotel Rooms

Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Deluxe that includes cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, free wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, and tea & coffee.
Deluxe - Double
Deluxe Double Room offers two double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Executive - Jr_Suite
Executive Jr. Suite offers one king bed and one sofa bed. Suite with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, coffee, pull out sofa available, tea & coffee.
Deluxe - King
Deluxe King offers one king bed. Smoking king bed with cable TV with HBO,CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.
Double - Double
Double Double offers two double beds. Smoking double beds with cable TV with HBO, CNN, air conditioning and heating, wireless high speed internet, hairdryer, voice mail, iron and board, hair dryer, tea & coffee.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Activities
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Thomas J. Frericks Center: 1.6 mi
  • University of Dayton Arena: 1.6 mi

Dining

Polo Grille Restaurant
The Polo Grille serves American bistro-style cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily in relaxed, upscale surroundings.
Cricket Bar & Lounge
A full Service Bar & Lounge.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Daytonian rooms can combine for meetings of over 350 people comfortably down to round tables, projector and desk for 30 people. Complete banquet facilities available. 6,000 square feet.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Dayton Grand Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.2

53% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shanshanshan
Buffalo, NY
Oct 29, 2012

Couples stay

Clean hotel with big rooms and comfy beds. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tracy M.
Business
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

Sad to see this situation

The Grand, along with much of downtown Dayton, appears to be in its death throes. No amenities pool and all non room facilities are shut down and the place is essentially vacant. Staff unfailingly polite and helpful but only one person on duty at any time. Room immaculate but fridge and some furniture has been removed. A decent deal for a downtown hotel but there is no charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Avoid downtown Dayton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MMarquit
Business
Pennsylvania
Dec 3, 2014

Great Hotel for the Night

I arrived after a long drive on a wet night. While the valet parking was a little off-putting, I did like that I could pull into a garage, and unload my luggage out of the rain. The hotel was clean, everything in order, and the staff super-friendly and helpful. It was the best possible end to a long night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HLMB
Business
Savannah, GA
Nov 24, 2014

Worst Hotel Ever

After years of booking with this site the experience at this hotel have made me re-consider using the service. This hotel was under a massive renovation which was not disclosed upon booking. Upon arriving in Dayton in 20degree weather I found that my room had no hot water, there was no heat on my first night, no electricity on my second night, there were no options for food on the property, it was in a VERY questionable area of town, at night the local Homeless came into the lobby and made themselves comfortable, my room had peeling paint, the fire-alarm went off twice in the middle of the night, others complained of MICE in their rooms...I could go on. Repeated attempts to gain some sort of attention from the hotel staff yielded a response of "you'll have to talk to the Manager" who never seemed to be on-site. To top it off, I spent time on the phone with this booking service to attempt a remedy and the hotel gave them the SAME lame response of "talk to the manager". Furthermore the images of this hotel that accompany the listing online couldn't be more misleading. This was an EPIC fail of a hotel and am disappointed that no solution was rendered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fat B
Business
Louisville, KY
Nov 19, 2014

Renovations

No Vending in the whole hotel. Nothing open late night during week to eat. Very cold in common areas. Room was great, clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Irish Rifle
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Oct 22, 2014

very disappointed

None of the amenities on the website were available at the hotel. Pool and saunas were not working. Breakfast was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JCellist
Business
Spokane, WA
Oct 10, 2014

Nice staff but no amenities

Overall the location of the Hotel was perfect for walking to the Schuster Center (just 2 blocks away). The employees were friendly and helpful accommodating my requests. The breakfast was minimal, just a danish, muffins, oatmeal with water, black tea and coffee. No bread, jam, butter, etc. My room did not have a fridge and the printer in the business center was a couple of decades old and not working until the staff helped me; 20-30 minutes later it worked. If you want go to enjoy the following amenities, don't go: the swimming pool, the fitness center and the restaurant are all closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For dinner go to the pizza place with bar right across the Schuster Center. You can get some nice (but a little pricey) flatbread, deep dish pizzas, margaritas and beer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dayton Dad
Business
Chicago
Sep 22, 2014

Parents Weekend

Considering most families were paying double or were 15-20 mins away from campus this was a bargain. Hotel is getting run down a bit but i don't need a fantastic place "to sleep" and this works.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jean Henle
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 22, 2014

PArent weekend with college student at UD

Staff was not accommodating as we got there 1/2 hour before check in and she would not even attempt to get us into a room. She seemed to be intimidated by the housekeepers. Hotel bar AND restaurant were closed for reno and were not informed or had any recommendations on where to go. No newspaper on Sunday morning and no direction on where to purchase one, Will not go back to the Dayton "NOT SO" Grand Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

University of Dayton

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LAWS19
Business
Ohio
Sep 22, 2014

not impressed

Received the key to our room only to find that someone was already in the room. Went back down to the desk to get a different room. When we arrived at that room we found that our TV didn't work. We had to leave but were told that they would send someone to fix it. When we returned to our room we found that the TV was on but we could not turn it off with the remote. It had to be turned off by the button on the TV itself. We also came back to find no pillows on the bed. We had to call the front desk at midnight to get pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dayton Grand Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Penelope Jeli
Business
Durham NC
Sep 17, 2014

Beautiful downtown room

We checked in very late at night, and the front desk clerk was fantastic. There is valet parking only since it's downtown and that cost is not mentioned anywhere. However worth the cost, covered garage and ready for you when you leave. Breakfast was Danish and coffee, nothing hot. Bed was very comfortable and they have wolf puck coffee in rooms. Right next to Ohio river, walking distance. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top