$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

4 stars
75 East State Street, 75 East State Street, Columbus, OH 43215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Great location, friendly staff

My wife and I stayed for the weekend to see a musical at the Ohio Theater. The location is great... See full review

  • Ftumph
  • May 23, 2014
Repeat great visit

Wonderful cheerful staff and perfect rooms. Nice experience See full review

  • Rbrb
  • Oct 28, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you to the Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square. Conveniently located across the street from the Ohio Statehouse, were close to all the downtown attractions. The Theatre and Arena Districts are within walking distance, as is the German Village neighborhood. And Ohio State University is just 3 miles to the north. When its time for a good nights sleep, relax completely on the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper® Bed in one of our 403 guest rooms and suites. Youll feel right at home with convenient amenities like wireless High Speed Internet Access, an LCD Flat Screen Television with cable channels, and Shine Spa for Sheraton bath products. Our variety of restaurants and bars is certain to satisfy any palate. Enjoy creative American meals at The Plaza Restaurant, and a large selection of drinks at its wine bar and lounge. And spare a couple of minutes in the morning to pick up a latte and breakfast in the lobby at Starbucks®. Any business meeting or social event can be staged in style at the Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square. Our boardrooms and ballrooms total 16,500 square feet and feature wireless High Speed Internet Access and state-of-the-art audiovisual equipment. We also have the 24-hour Link@Sheraton(SM) experienced with Microsoft® to help you prepare a presentation or get work done while youre out of the office.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Doorman
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Bathroom telephone
Temperature control
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Ohio Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.1 mi
  • Southern Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.5 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 0.6 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 1 mi
  • Huntington Park: 1 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 1 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 0.1 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.1 mi
  • Southern Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.5 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.6 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 0.6 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 0.7 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 0.9 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 1 mi
  • Huntington Park: 1 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 1 mi
  • Goodale Park: 1.1 mi
  • Schiller Park: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.4 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Ohio State University: 3.4 mi
  • Value City Arena: 3.6 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 3.6 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 6 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 7.5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 8.6 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 11.1 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 101.8 mi

Dining

The Plaza Restaurant
The Plaza Restaurant is one of Columbus’s finest establishments, serving creative entrees of American cuisine.
Plaza Lounge & Wine Bar
The Plaza Wine Bar and Lounge features an outstanding selection of drinks, light meals, and desserts, as well as a serene ambiance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
May 4, 2011

A Mixed Bag

Downtown Columbus Ohio The city was better than I expected. I was beautiful, clean and friendly. I went to Columbus for a week of school, so this was not a destination I would have picked otherwise. Taxi service was plentiful, but a bit crazy! One driver wasn't looking and drove up onto the sidewalk for a distance of about 30-50 feet at about 20 mph! Thankfully he didn't take out any pedestrians. But if you're brave you can get around easily. Parking is costly. Dinning was fantastic and well worth the research! The Hyatt on Capital Square – hum, I was disappointed. My room was loud. I was awoken every night by people's doors closing. I could hear people's conversations that they were having in their rooms. I am a pretty heavy sleeper and usually I can hear slight muffled noises, but these were clear conversations! The shower was another issue. Water temp would be fine to very hot and back and forth. Not pleasant. Also, hot water only in the bathroom sink. 10 bucks a day for internet! Come on! Let's get with the program. I'm even a Gold Member. Very miserly with the cream and sugar for the in-room coffee. I would ask every day to please leave 5 cream and sugar packets – nope. Then with room services they would bring more coffee! They just didn't seem to understand my needs for sugar. If I could choose another hotel, I think I would. For the cost, well I just felt I didn't get close to what I expect from Hyatt. I did see two of my classmate's hotel rooms (which were a lot less expressive and just as conveniently located) and I have to say they had it better. Robes, fridge, room safes and plenty of sugar packets all of which I wish I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Black Creek Bistro! Google it! Simply Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denis W.
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Mar 6, 2011

Average at Best

The hotel served its' purpose, and that is about it. On a weekend as busy as this one, they were severely understaffed and not ready for the crowd that was there. Food was pretty good, but the service was pretty terrible. Rooms were nothing special, and of all of the Hyatts I have stayed at in the past, this was the least impressive. For the amount of money I spent on this room, I was not impressed with any aspect of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For some good shopping and or restaurants to visit, I would suggest going over to Easton, or walking around the German Village. We ate at Lindey's and loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Logan, Ohio
Dec 9, 2010

Good downtown location that needs update

Still a great downtown location but the hotel is showing some wear and tear. Room was spacious but lightly furnished. A hotel in this price range should have an HD TV. The staff was competent and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon, Ohio
Nov 20, 2010

Very disapointing.

I am very very disapointed. I liked the bed however I have had many similar trips and stayed at Radissons and Embassy Suites, I wished I'd have stayed with Embassy Suites. I feel that the value was terrable for the money it cost me. The amenities were scarce and the room was smaller than I am accustomed to. The staff was friendly but the prices on services food drinks ect was horrible. We had a bottle of wine that cost us $50 and it had a twist off top!!! Heavens I am going to look into that particular wine. I actually did like it but I would say I could buy that same wine at the grocery store for $10-$15. I will be traveling back to Columbus in two weeks and you bet we are going to Embassy Suites. I grew up in Columbus and had always wanted to stay at the Hyatt on Capital Square. Well check that one off my bucket list and call me so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent but terrible on value. If you dine in the hotel...make sure you dine in the restaurant or you will pay thru the nose. We bought a bottle of wine in the hotel restaurant paid $38 for it then ordered the same bottle via room service and paid $49!!!!! Huge Huge difference!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2010

No compromises business stay

Arrived about 8:00 PM. Front desk personnel courteous and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Only there a night for business, but it was what I want on such trips - everything in order, no problems, clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was very good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joy Bargain Hunter
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 10, 2010

Great Experience

My boyfriend and I came to Columbus for a weekend get away over 4th of July holiday. This was my first time staying in Columbus and I couldn't have been more happier with the hotel. This was a last minute trip so I was pleasantly surprised that a room was available and we were able to book. The room was clean the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful as well. We'll come back whenever we're in town again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hopal1071
Business
Dayton, Oh
May 2, 2010

Weekend Getaway

I was not prepared to pay an extra $23 per day for parking. It was prom weekend and a room for teens were very loud next to our room-- when I told the fron desk, they offered to US (not the teens). Other than these two issues, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Short North is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greencastle, IN
Jan 18, 2010

Very disappointed!

I usually love staying at the Hyatt. This one is poorly run and staffed. Closest parking garage is block away. No hot water 2 of the 3 mornings we were there and 1 evening as well. Bell Hop stood on curb and watched me unload my luggage and would not help. Another guest helped me load my bags on a cart. Used their valet parking on last night and it took 25 minutes to get our car the next morning. We were late getting to our trade show, because of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
cleveland ohio
Jan 18, 2010

good experience

Good general location, only $6 cab ride to arena district. Had to pay to park though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OXFORD, OH
Jan 3, 2010

FUN TIME FOR ALL

WE HAD A WONDERFUL TIME AND EVERYTHING WAS GREAT EXCEPT THE BATHROOM WAS COLD

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

GO SEE THE CHIHULY EXHIBITS AROUND TOWN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top