$129 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

4 stars
View map of 75 East State Street, 75 East State Street, Columbus, OH 43215

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carneyd3
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 26, 2012

Great location!

This newly acquired hotel in the Sheraton family was in a great location downtown, close to the Arena District and Scioto Mile. The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay. The only thing the room was missing was enough plugs for our phones and iPads, other than that it was a very luxurious room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive/cab ride to downtown and Scioto Mile.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D's paradise
Business
Detroit
Aug 8, 2011

Friendly hotel staff

When I got to the hotel, I was told they had overbooked and would I consider going to another hotel free of charge plus valet. I agreed and everything was taken care of from the Hyatt Hotel staff. They sent me to the Marriott a few blocks away. The hotel was nice and clean. We waited a little bit too long for our room, which was suppose to be ready when we got there. Back at the Hyatt next day...everything went well and as promised was able to check in early 11am with no problem and was given complimentary everything. The staff was extra friendly. The staff set the stage for a wonderful vacation. Free wireless would have been nice $9.99... kind of high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lesbian night life is a very short walk from the hotel,less than a mile (Slammers & The Wall). Don't walk too far up 4th street a few sketchy people hanging out (we got turned around a little and the clubs aren't even near 4th street). Common sense is key to any place visited. Great city and very nice people. Columbus has very friendly, nice and beautiful women. Three different women come up to myself and buddy to introduce themselves, how sweet is that! We plan on going back the first Friday of every month. Columbus is a hot spot for us.(LGBT)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Travel Mark
Business
Dayton, OH
Jul 31, 2011

Awful one night stay. Never again!

#1 The parking was a huge hassle and took an hour of my time. #2 The room was mediocre at best. The listing quoted the room as having "Flat Screen Tv, Wireless internet, mini fridge" none of which it had. #3 The wireless internet was a $10 add on, which isn't a lot of money but on principal its ridiculous. #4 The towels were crunchier than a $20 a night motel. #5 Pricing for location and product is way too high and don't expect to get half of the things listed on your purchase receipt.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Go to a different hotel. What a bad experience. I've had better stays at a holiday inn express for god's sake.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
May 17, 2011

Hyatt revview - not what it used to be

The room was large, but looked like an old meeting room. Cupboards and mirrors covered one wall, and they were painted fronts with unfinished wook interiors. I was between the ice and soda machines, and the hotels main elevators. Literally heard the ice machine or elevators all night. They do chanrge for internet connection (which they removed when I complained about something that is offered free in most hotels). I went down the first night and said something to the desk clerk and his response to me was "well sir, we are an older hotel." [...] Staff was appathetic and manager was 'too difficult to find' at the moment. I went to shower and could see through the towels and had holes in the first three that I tried. Housekeeping replaced them. All felt rough....not the quality I would expect at the Hyatt. It will be a long time before I even consider the Hyatt when I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Stay at the Regency which is close to the Short north and nightclub district. Downtown was very dissapointing to someone like me who used to live in Columbus. The Capital Square Hyatt used to be 'the' place to be, but now that the mall is gone, the downtown is dead and so is this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, Oregon
May 4, 2011

A Mixed Bag

Downtown Columbus Ohio The city was better than I expected. I was beautiful, clean and friendly. I went to Columbus for a week of school, so this was not a destination I would have picked otherwise. Taxi service was plentiful, but a bit crazy! One driver wasn't looking and drove up onto the sidewalk for a distance of about 30-50 feet at about 20 mph! Thankfully he didn't take out any pedestrians. But if you're brave you can get around easily. Parking is costly. Dinning was fantastic and well worth the research! The Hyatt on Capital Square – hum, I was disappointed. My room was loud. I was awoken every night by people's doors closing. I could hear people's conversations that they were having in their rooms. I am a pretty heavy sleeper and usually I can hear slight muffled noises, but these were clear conversations! The shower was another issue. Water temp would be fine to very hot and back and forth. Not pleasant. Also, hot water only in the bathroom sink. 10 bucks a day for internet! Come on! Let's get with the program. I'm even a Gold Member. Very miserly with the cream and sugar for the in-room coffee. I would ask every day to please leave 5 cream and sugar packets – nope. Then with room services they would bring more coffee! They just didn't seem to understand my needs for sugar. If I could choose another hotel, I think I would. For the cost, well I just felt I didn't get close to what I expect from Hyatt. I did see two of my classmate's hotel rooms (which were a lot less expressive and just as conveniently located) and I have to say they had it better. Robes, fridge, room safes and plenty of sugar packets all of which I wish I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Black Creek Bistro! Google it! Simply Excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Denis W.
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Mar 6, 2011

Average at Best

The hotel served its' purpose, and that is about it. On a weekend as busy as this one, they were severely understaffed and not ready for the crowd that was there. Food was pretty good, but the service was pretty terrible. Rooms were nothing special, and of all of the Hyatts I have stayed at in the past, this was the least impressive. For the amount of money I spent on this room, I was not impressed with any aspect of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

For some good shopping and or restaurants to visit, I would suggest going over to Easton, or walking around the German Village. We ate at Lindey's and loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Logan, Ohio
Dec 9, 2010

Good downtown location that needs update

Still a great downtown location but the hotel is showing some wear and tear. Room was spacious but lightly furnished. A hotel in this price range should have an HD TV. The staff was competent and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon, Ohio
Nov 20, 2010

Very disapointing.

I am very very disapointed. I liked the bed however I have had many similar trips and stayed at Radissons and Embassy Suites, I wished I'd have stayed with Embassy Suites. I feel that the value was terrable for the money it cost me. The amenities were scarce and the room was smaller than I am accustomed to. The staff was friendly but the prices on services food drinks ect was horrible. We had a bottle of wine that cost us $50 and it had a twist off top!!! Heavens I am going to look into that particular wine. I actually did like it but I would say I could buy that same wine at the grocery store for $10-$15. I will be traveling back to Columbus in two weeks and you bet we are going to Embassy Suites. I grew up in Columbus and had always wanted to stay at the Hyatt on Capital Square. Well check that one off my bucket list and call me so disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was excellent but terrible on value. If you dine in the hotel...make sure you dine in the restaurant or you will pay thru the nose. We bought a bottle of wine in the hotel restaurant paid $38 for it then ordered the same bottle via room service and paid $49!!!!! Huge Huge difference!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Aug 25, 2010

No compromises business stay

Arrived about 8:00 PM. Front desk personnel courteous and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Only there a night for business, but it was what I want on such trips - everything in order, no problems, clean and comfortable. Breakfast the next morning was very good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sheraton Columbus Hotel at Capitol Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joy Bargain Hunter
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 10, 2010

Great Experience

My boyfriend and I came to Columbus for a weekend get away over 4th of July holiday. This was my first time staying in Columbus and I couldn't have been more happier with the hotel. This was a last minute trip so I was pleasantly surprised that a room was available and we were able to book. The room was clean the atmosphere was quiet and peaceful as well. We'll come back whenever we're in town again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top