$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 6, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

3 stars
175 East Town St, Columbus, OH 43215
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
65 reviews
Overnight stay

Came down for a concert from Cleveland , they allowed us early check in cuz we were ahead of... See full review

  • TRU Pacman
  • Aug 16, 2014
Nice Hotel for a short stay

Stayed for one night, good location, clean and friendly staff. Would stay here again. See full review

  • Penguin Fan
  • Apr 14, 2014
Our Hotel's Located in Downtown Columbus, Ohio Situated in the heart of Columbus, Ohio, this hotel's location is close to everything! The Holiday Inn® Hotel Columbus Downtown - Capitol Square not only provides an excellent location but also wonderful features like on-site parking for a $10 nightly fee and a complimentary airport shuttle between 7:00am and 11:00pm. We're close to I-70, I-71 and I-670, too, which makes it convenient to travel around downtown Columbus, OH. The hotel's property is also a quick commute from AEP, as well as Nationwide Children's Hospital and Grant Medical Center. Those visiting the city for leisure appreciate our proximity to the Statehouse and Ohio State University. Families enjoy filing their days with trips to the nearby Columbus Zoo and Aquarium and the Center of Science and Industry (COSI). Adults also love that downtown hot spots like the Brewery District and German Village are within walking distance of our address in downtown Columbus, OH. Our hotel's accommodations have everything you need for a convenient stay in Columbus, Ohio. The hotel's Fitness Center is well equipped for workouts, and the indoor pool enables guests to swim year round. We even have an on-site restaurant and bar, so you don't have to go out for a delicious meal. Let us help you plan your trip today!

Hotel Map

39.9591 -82.9949
Nearby airports
Port Columbus Columbus Intl, (CMH), 8.00, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Ohio Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.3 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Southern Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 0.6 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.7 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 0.9 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 1.1 mi
  • Huntington Park: 1.1 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.3 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Southern Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 0.6 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 0.6 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.7 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 0.9 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 1.1 mi
  • Huntington Park: 1.1 mi
  • Schiller Park: 1.2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 1.3 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.3 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 3.2 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 3.4 mi
  • Ohio State University: 3.6 mi
  • Value City Arena: 3.7 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 3.7 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.5 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 6.1 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 7.4 mi
  • Antrim Park: 8.7 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 11.1 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 101.9 mi

Dining

Town Street Grill
Lobby bar with television sets, and great happy hour specials Monday thru Friday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wooster, OH
Oct 17, 2010

Good value

Very friendly at check-in. Decent room. Quiet. Convenient to downtown. I had food in the restaurant and it was good and modestly priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Columbus Marathon start is only a few blocks NW of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Artist's family
Gaithersburg, MD
Oct 4, 2010

Good deal

We were in town to visit our daughter at her college. The hotel was in a great location, 5 minutes away, and the room was terrific. Our only complaint was the slow service in the hotel restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akron, OH
Jul 22, 2010

Very nice except...

The bed linens were very nice.There were 4 pillows on each bed labeled hard and soft which I really appreciate. There was a big picture window overlooking the front of the hotel. What I couldn't believe was that there were no DRAPES to cover the windows!!! It was covered only by shears. As a result, we had street lights and the lights from the parking lot shining in our room all night. Unbelievably stupid!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The cafe in the hotel was great! They had a strange menu, but when we asked if they had a chicken finger meal, they said yes. (it wasn't on the menu they gave us) It was a great meal with enough food in one meal for two people! When we were ready to leave, the waitress asked if we wanted to have a coke and iced tea to go. She gave us 20 oz to go glasses filled with what we had drank at out meal. I would definitely eat there again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
columbus, oh
Jun 23, 2010

pleasantly surprised

stayed overnight for a concert, hotel shuttled us to concert, did not spend much time in hotel, but it was nice and clean (as well as less costly than other hotels in downtown Columbus). The only drawback is that they charged $10 per car to self park in their lot, which I though was unusual.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lancaster, PA
Jun 23, 2010

Great Hotel!

All staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Great location for Huntington park event...no traffic back to the hotel after the concert, despite leaving with 10,000 people! Definitely would stay here again if going to Columbus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Any events at Huntington Park...1.5 mile drive and great facility

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ypsilanti, MI
Jun 23, 2010

Great Weekend In Columbus

My reservation was for Friday through Sunday, and I arrived VERY late (around 2:30 a.m. Saturday morning). The hotel staff at the front desk was extremely courteous and friendly (even in the middle of the night). The room was spotless, the bed was incredibly comfortable (I really like the new feature that Holiday Inn offers - marking the pillows as Firm and Soft and offering both -- I wish more hotels did this. Good pillows definitely help me sleep better). I went swimming in the pool Saturday afternoon and the pool was really good, it was clean and there were plenty of chairs. Everything about my stay was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Head to the Short North. Lots of great restaurants and bars.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albany, Ohio
Jun 18, 2010

Where's help?

It was only a one night stay and it was a good thing. The toilet over flowed in the morning and the front desk informed me that no one could come up (not even with a mop) until after 7am. I had to be ready and on my way early and sewage was all over the floor and in the shower and they sent no one until after 7am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Infini
NYC, NY
Jun 7, 2010

Decent place for the price

Stayed the weekend for a personal trip with friends. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were a value and nothing to complain about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, AZ
May 22, 2010

Not bad for the price

This was a very typical Holiday Inn. It was a little old, but clean and functional. Parking was secure, but cost $10/night. Bathroom was updated and nice. Business Center was free. Staff at front desk, bar and dining room all were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn COLUMBUS DWTN-CAPITOL SQUARE

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
CT
May 21, 2010

Golf with my old buddies

I was first given a room on one floor and then when the desk clerk saw I had paid through [...] he changed me to a different floor and it was a floor that didn't have any hot water. Complained and was promised they were working on it. Couldn't get another room because they were sold out, never got hot water. Very dissatisified with this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top