$44 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

3 stars
View map of 6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
196 reviews
it ok no bad

great hotel in bad area . need to take care of hidden areas to clean in the room or outside . See full review

  • Ayman S.
  • Jun 15, 2015
Great place to stay

Was a very nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. See full review

  • Grammy Pie
  • Apr 22, 2015
Close to nearly everything, this Wyndham Columbus North hotel makes your stay in Columbus comfortable and easy, just off Interstate 71 and convenient to Interstate 270, the Port Columbus International Airport, the Ohio State Fairgrounds and Ohio State University. Enjoy the complimentary wireless Internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and complimentary daily newspaper. Splash in the outdoor pool and work out in the exercise room. Pick up last-minute items as the convenience store and take care of laundry at the laundry facilities, both onsite. This hotel welcomes pets, and you will relax in comfort in the spacious suites with full kitchen and sofa bed, perfect for extended stays. This lodging offers complimentary parking for all kinds of vehicles, does not allow smoking, and allows kids through age 17 to stay free with adult. The business center offers computer access and complimentary wireless Internet.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 2.5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 2.6 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.6 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.7 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Value City Arena: 5.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 5.9 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 6.1 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 7.9 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 8.1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 8.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 2.5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 2.6 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.6 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.7 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Value City Arena: 5.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 5.9 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 6.1 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 7.9 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 8.1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 8.2 mi
  • Huntington Park: 8.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 8.3 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 8.4 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 8.6 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Southern Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 8.8 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 8.8 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 8.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 8.9 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 8.9 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 9.5 mi
  • Schiller Park: 10.1 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 93.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 196
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.9

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Michael F.
Business
Harrisburg
Jul 15, 2015

Good stay

Staff was very nice and accommodating. Room met our expectations. Great value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grammy Pie
Business
Rouses Point
Apr 22, 2015

Great place to stay

Was a very nice hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielle G.
Business
Columbus
Jan 5, 2015

our 'go-to'

This place is unbeatable for the price. The rooms are spacious and clean and the kitchen comes equipped with whatever you'd need to cook a full meal. The free breakfast beats most other free "breakfasts" I've encountered. The staff is genuinely friendly. The parking is free. When I come into Columbus to visit my partner, we stay somewhere for most of my trip and we've stayed in several spots, including some "fancier" ones "conveniently" located downtown, but the price just isn't worth it for us, especially when you consider parking fees. It took one stay here and now we just can't go anywhere else, and happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rose The Picky One
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 11, 2014

Stunk like dog!

When I walked in, I wasn't quite sure what the bizarre smell was in the room. As time went by, I realized it smelled like some sort of animal. I called the front desk and asked if they accepted pets and she said yes, I then proceeded to tell her that my room smelled like a dog. She apologized and said that she could not switch my room because they were sold old, but offered me some spray. She ended up telling me to come to the front desk for the manager's business card if I wanted to complain and hung up on me. Of course when I contacted the manager, he had no answering machine - of course, why would he? If you were going to put me in a room that allowed animals, at least clean it where the next person does not have to smell that. The room was outdated and the furniture was beat up. I guess you truly do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TTAL
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 31, 2014

poor value

The hotel is old and looks run down. The room had a musty odor, but thankfully, we could open a window. The couch was stained and uncomfortable, but the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
johnnyrob70119
Business
Fort Worth, Texas
Jun 30, 2014

A great stay

My experience was perfect! Check in was super easy! Our full kitchen had every thing we needed to cook diner and lunch. The continental breakfast was fresh and delicious. Our room was super comfortable! The staff wass professional and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D Vegas bound
Business
Ohio
Jun 30, 2014

Location

Everything about our stay was very good. The room was clean, the breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The only thing was the location. It was very hard to find. However, it was easy to find the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We did not shop or dine out. We only at breakfast at the hotel.

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nate the snake
Business
Columbus, ohio
Apr 4, 2014

Clean hotel

I enjoyed my stay at Hawthorne. The staff was friendly and most important the room was clean. Very cozy and good value for what it was. The only complaint I have is that the television was not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle house

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Esonstar
Business
Toledo, OH
Mar 23, 2014

Most comfortable bed ever & great price, but........

This was our 1st stay at this location. I will start with the good first :) We gave it a 3-star average score because of the "good" things like wonderful bed, the price & our breakfast experience only. We stayed on 03/20/14 in room #614. The bed was absolutely fantastic. It was clean, no bugs of any kinds & we truly slept better in this particular bed than any hotel ever (& we travel a lot). So A+ for that! The room was extremely spacious for your average hotel & included a full kitchen & larger than average bathroom/vanity, a nice bar & computer desk, a flat screen TV, a fireplace & a porch with sliding glass door. All very nice to have. This would be perfect for an extended stay situation as it also had 2 large deep closets for lots of storage. Breakfast in the morning was simply outstanding & the lady running it named "Gearian" was absolutely wonderful. So very nice, helpful, personable. She kept all the food hot, perfectly stocked & very, VERY clean which we appreciated greatly. :) Ok, with all the good being said...now for the "not so good". I am not a snobby clean freak or anything but the housekeeping staff need fired or RETRAINED immediately. They clearly don't know HOW to clean or they simply do NOT care to take the time to do it even half right. Cobwebs, a 1/2" of dirt on the louvered water heater closet door, dust on the tops of things like heat controls, lampshades, black fingerprints up & down ALL of the doors & handles, black dirty shoe prints on the walls, the tub was grey dingy with a tub ring around it, the stove top was disgusting & filthy under/on the burners, dirty in side kitchen drawers, major dirt, dust & grime in between the refrigerator & dishwasher, the furnace filter needed to be changed badly, the carbon monoxide detector was pulled out & barely hanging from the ceiling. There was more little things here & there but those are the big ones. Also, maintenance on the room was basically just as bad. I realize they are an older hotel but little things like "paint" & minor aesthetic repairs like fixing holes/rips in doors, etc go a long way in impressing guests & making them want to come back. Our pics below show what we mean. I was disappointed that our room was so simply dirty & uncared for because we really liked the layout of the room & all the other features/amenities. In the future if our room was clean & maintained we would be happy to stay again & recommend it to others, but with the dirt & disrepair sadly probably not. The morning front desk staff did not seem phased by our concerns & she was very abrupt only saying one statement to us..."We will email you a receipt." Ok then. I will emailing their corporate people as well to voice my concerns, so...maybe future guests will receive a clean, sanitary well maintained room because maybe the management is unaware just what a bad impression they are giving to the public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wendy's nearby had great, fresh food! :)

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xandah89
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 20, 2014

Cozy room, needs renovated

The suite was very nice in theory, but the beds were old, both broken, and breakfast was only 6-9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top