$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 19, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

3 stars
View map of 6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Soccer road warrior
Business
Franklin, TN
Jun 3, 2013

Good fit for the price

The front desk staff was very helpful. The first room they gave us wasn't cleaned so they quickly gave us a second room. This was clean, but had a slight musty smell when you first enter. No smoke smell in the room, but there were several cigarette butts on the ground outside our door and I noticed a lot of the staff smoking on the grounds. The room, though, was great for my daughter, son, and me to spread out, and we used the kitchen quite a bit. Breakfast was good with several hot options (though the a/c in the dining area on the second floor apparently was not working and the room was extremely warm). Location is not the nicest section of town, but it felt safe enough. There was a large grocery store nearby that was very convenient. Overall the place suited our needs very well and was worth the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frugal Scot
Business
Pasco County, Florida
May 31, 2013

OK place

Overall it was disappointing given the name Wyndham. Room could do with refurbishing, the stove was FILTHY, but it was a nice building and could be much better. Upgraded it urgently needs, but it was value for money and a nice breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Worthington Inn in Worthington High street was exceptional!! A truly five star experience

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RealWood
Business
SLC, UT
May 30, 2013

Good for one night

Stayed overnight for a quick business trip. Needed some updating, but it was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
travelhappie
Business
ny
May 27, 2013

Not good

The room was filthy, with black cobwebs hanging from the ceiling and spiders in the corners. The floors were dirty, the tile floors sticky. The smell from the fireplace was overwhelming. The first room we were offered, there were 5 men hanging out on the steps...it was too uncomfortable to even approach. It was the dirtiest hotel...I had to clean it before we stayed. the only reason we stayed was we were told that we would lose the money we had paid because we had ordered online rather than through the hotel itself. DISGUSTING!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

pass on the local dining.....

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cello mom
Business
ohio
May 6, 2013

Handicap accessible...not for us.

We specifically requested an accessible room with a roll in shower. My son is in a wheelchair, paralyzed and has to have this. The room we got was not accessible and we were told we hadn't booked one that was. I have that info in my email and we did! My son couldn't even turn his chair around in the bathroom and I had to move heavy furniture so he could get around the room, we couldn't even "make do". Breakfast is served on the second floor of one of the buildings and there was no elevator so my son would have to have it brought to him. I hate him having to be "segregated" this is 2013. The sign at the desk said something like, "disabled travelers welcome".....I don't think so. The sidewalks were cracked and hard to get through in a wheelchair, parking wasn't close for all and I had to carry everything in making several trips, no carts were available or else they just didn't have any, cleaning carts in the way on the sidewalks, questionable area, rooms smelled. I will say the two ladies at the desk worked VERY hard to try to find us a room and eventually were able to book us at another hotel. I would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adf road warrior
Business
Detroit, Mi
May 5, 2013

well worth the money spent

The hotel was nice, breakfast was average, the staff was friendly, the location not the best, but I wasnt there to hang out with the homies, so I had no problems.lol

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

avoid the area from 4-6. as traffic is horrible, and there isnt a lot of ways to get around it in this area.

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
agent2
Business
Chicago
Apr 24, 2013

good value

great space, could use an update the bed was not comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Robert87565769
Business
Pittsburgh
Apr 22, 2013

Regular Break in stop for thieves

The hotel was fine, but on the second night someone broke into my vehicle breaking out 2 windows and making of with a hundred dollars worth of stuff but causing 700 in window damages. Would not recommend the hotel purely on it's location, and crime rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
OH Horse Lover
Business
Milford Center, OH
Apr 13, 2013

Excellent for the price

Nice spacious room. Would be a great room for a longer visit. Kitchen was like one you'd find in an apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris7
Business
Walled Lake, MI
Apr 10, 2013

Great value

We chose a 1 bed (suite), which was just 1 step up from a studio. This was spacious, and much like a condo. Although there were things that were a bit worn around the edges (e.g. the carpeting), overall this was a great value. There is evidence that management is spending money on maintenance around the property. I would normally expect to pay much more for a suite featuring all these amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top