$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

3 stars
View map of 6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
199 out of 199
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jsnyder
Business
OHIO
May 3, 2014

Ok for a tight budget!

I stay at many hotels, and staying here several times It's ok! But you have your typical relationship fights that gets loud at night outside but other than that! It's a ok hotel for workers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
clayteacher
Business
Charleston, WV
Apr 26, 2014

A spontaneous out of state trip

We decided to get out of town for 2 days to visit the Columbus Zoo and spent the night at the Hawthorn Suites. It was easy to find, the room was very spacious and the kitchen allowed us to eat in and save some extra money. The Staff were so nice and helpful. The breakfast they offered the next morning was delicious and gave us a good start we needed before leaving for the zoo!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sean from the north
Business
Traverse City, MI
Apr 19, 2014

Not worth a penny

Sheets had stains, bed was AWFUL, and the room smelled like smoke. Never again will I stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Polaris fashion place is amazing for shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shy Rater
Business
Marysville, OH
Apr 18, 2014

Three star...oh noooooooooooooo.....

It is obvious that there are tenants living at this hotel. Although the hotel room stated that it was non-smoking it smelled like someone had been smoking in it. Upon using the bathroom, the toilet did not flush properly. Phoned the desk and it was stated that there was not a maintenance person and I was given the option of switching rooms. Switched rooms and had a long-term tenant staring at me as I was doing it. Then noticed someone taking care of the entrance to the hotel. Good rate but overall, I found the, rating of this hotel not to be what is stated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
usama
Business
fort myers, florida
Apr 17, 2014

beautiful and neat

Excellent stay and wonderful stay. I will have this hotel as my number one choice when I come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nate the snake
Business
Columbus, ohio
Apr 4, 2014

Clean hotel

I enjoyed my stay at Hawthorne. The staff was friendly and most important the room was clean. Very cozy and good value for what it was. The only complaint I have is that the television was not working properly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waffle house

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BK25
Business
Fairfield, Oh
Mar 31, 2014

Overnight Stay

A group of us were there for our state bowling tournament. In total we rented 6 rooms. The hotel has all exterior entrances, so be prepared for that. The rooms have a very nice layout. Full kitchen, sitting area separate from the bed and bathroom with separate vanity area. The rooms even have fireplaces although I'm not sure that they work since we didn't use them and never tried them. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms have central heat/air which is a nice feature. For the most part everything was just okay in regards to the room. They could be very nice, but need some maintenance to get there. My lone real issue was the bathroom. There was mildew all over. The ceiling had large holes patched but never finished. The shower had a bowed curtain rod, but is wasn't straight and the curtain kept sliding open on both ends. Just appears the hotel needs some overall maintenance. I did overhear the front desk attendant telling another customer they had recently painted some of the rooms, so hopefully the updates are being made. Other than that everything was fine. It's pretty well located near plenty of restaurants and shopping. Breakfast was nice. It's a full hot breakfast. When we were there they had eggs, sausage, make your own waffles, biscuits and gravy as well as all the normal continental breakfast staples. If they do the maintenance on the hotel, it will become a very good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bonnie from Iowa
Business
Iowa
Mar 25, 2014

OK but not great

Checked in about 6 p.m. a big group was in front of us checking in...Desk clerk did good job getting everyone checked in and checked us in, but, found out quickly that we were not in best neighborhood, told to take all valuables in our room and that they are not responsible for personal items stolen. Floors were not clean, did not realize until morning that we had no towels, had coffee pot and coffee which I made, but no cups to drink the coffee with. Very noisy neighbors above us until 3 a.m. each night. We probably will not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Esonstar
Business
Toledo, OH
Mar 23, 2014

Most comfortable bed ever & great price, but........

This was our 1st stay at this location. I will start with the good first :) We gave it a 3-star average score because of the "good" things like wonderful bed, the price & our breakfast experience only. We stayed on 03/20/14 in room #614. The bed was absolutely fantastic. It was clean, no bugs of any kinds & we truly slept better in this particular bed than any hotel ever (& we travel a lot). So A+ for that! The room was extremely spacious for your average hotel & included a full kitchen & larger than average bathroom/vanity, a nice bar & computer desk, a flat screen TV, a fireplace & a porch with sliding glass door. All very nice to have. This would be perfect for an extended stay situation as it also had 2 large deep closets for lots of storage. Breakfast in the morning was simply outstanding & the lady running it named "Gearian" was absolutely wonderful. So very nice, helpful, personable. She kept all the food hot, perfectly stocked & very, VERY clean which we appreciated greatly. :) Ok, with all the good being said...now for the "not so good". I am not a snobby clean freak or anything but the housekeeping staff need fired or RETRAINED immediately. They clearly don't know HOW to clean or they simply do NOT care to take the time to do it even half right. Cobwebs, a 1/2" of dirt on the louvered water heater closet door, dust on the tops of things like heat controls, lampshades, black fingerprints up & down ALL of the doors & handles, black dirty shoe prints on the walls, the tub was grey dingy with a tub ring around it, the stove top was disgusting & filthy under/on the burners, dirty in side kitchen drawers, major dirt, dust & grime in between the refrigerator & dishwasher, the furnace filter needed to be changed badly, the carbon monoxide detector was pulled out & barely hanging from the ceiling. There was more little things here & there but those are the big ones. Also, maintenance on the room was basically just as bad. I realize they are an older hotel but little things like "paint" & minor aesthetic repairs like fixing holes/rips in doors, etc go a long way in impressing guests & making them want to come back. Our pics below show what we mean. I was disappointed that our room was so simply dirty & uncared for because we really liked the layout of the room & all the other features/amenities. In the future if our room was clean & maintained we would be happy to stay again & recommend it to others, but with the dirt & disrepair sadly probably not. The morning front desk staff did not seem phased by our concerns & she was very abrupt only saying one statement to us..."We will email you a receipt." Ok then. I will emailing their corporate people as well to voice my concerns, so...maybe future guests will receive a clean, sanitary well maintained room because maybe the management is unaware just what a bad impression they are giving to the public.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wendy's nearby had great, fresh food! :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xandah89
Business
Columbus, OH
Mar 20, 2014

Cozy room, needs renovated

The suite was very nice in theory, but the beds were old, both broken, and breakfast was only 6-9am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top