$43 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

3 stars
6191 Zumstein Drive, Columbus, OH 43229
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
193 reviews
what a great place

I felt like i was rich! What a great bed, pellows, room and the breackfest was great! See full review

  • williencrystal
  • Oct 9, 2014
A great stay

My experience was perfect! Check in was super easy! Our full kitchen had every thing we needed to... See full review

  • johnnyrob70119
  • Jun 30, 2014
Close to nearly everything, this Wyndham Columbus North hotel makes your stay in Columbus comfortable and easy, just off Interstate 71 and convenient to Interstate 270, the Port Columbus International Airport, the Ohio State Fairgrounds and Ohio State University. Enjoy the complimentary wireless Internet, complimentary hot breakfast buffet and complimentary daily newspaper. Splash in the outdoor pool and work out in the exercise room. Pick up last-minute items as the convenience store and take care of laundry at the laundry facilities, both onsite. This hotel welcomes pets, and you will relax in comfort in the spacious suites with full kitchen and sofa bed, perfect for extended stays. This lodging offers complimentary parking for all kinds of vehicles, does not allow smoking, and allows kids through age 17 to stay free with adult. The business center offers computer access and complimentary wireless Internet.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 2.5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 2.6 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.6 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.7 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Value City Arena: 5.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 5.9 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 6.1 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 7.9 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 8.1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 8.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 2.5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 2.6 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.6 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 4.7 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 5.5 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Value City Arena: 5.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 5.9 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 6.1 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 6.2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 7.9 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 8 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 8.1 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 8.2 mi
  • Huntington Park: 8.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 8.3 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 8.3 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 8.4 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 8.6 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 8.6 mi
  • Southern Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 8.8 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 8.8 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 8.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 8.9 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 8.9 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 9.5 mi
  • Schiller Park: 10.1 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 93.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.7

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tim the Spanish Professor
Syracuse, NY
Aug 6, 2012

Loved it

You feel more like you have your own little apartment. The guy at the desk was super friendly. Everything was very well kept. The only thing is that the complex is a bit older and you do notice that from time to time, like with the TV which was of the tube variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shabanamir
Business
Champaign, IL
Nov 30, 2014

The price is ok

For a last minute reservation it was ok. It was just for the night, and it included a good breakfast and wi fi so it was good. But the sofabed mattress was VERY thin and the bedding for it was cheap and not much. The bed comforter was small too. More extra bedding could be included. We have stayed here twice. it's not something I'd write home about, but it's not Extend-a-Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TripFam
Business
Frankfort, Ky
Oct 10, 2014

A lot of room, a little run down

We stayed in a loft suite, which was on two stories, and was probably bigger than my first apartment. The room was clean, but everything was a little run down, both outside and inside. I might stay there a gain - the price to space ratio cannot be beat - but I wish Wyndham would invest a little in the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
williencrystal
Business
KC MO
Oct 9, 2014

what a great place

I felt like i was rich! What a great bed, pellows, room and the breackfest was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The zoo was cleaner
Business
Kentucky
Sep 8, 2014

Zoo getaway

My family and I planned a visit to the zoo and the American Girl Doll store. The hotel was close to both. We arrived after dark and had a hard time finding our building. Once in, the smell of smoke in our smoke free room was nauseating. The carpet was ratty and pulling up in places. The sheets had cigarette burns in them and were very stiff and thin. The bedside lamp did not work and the bathroom outlets were so loose it could barely hold the plug. One plus, plenty of hot water. Careful though, you might burn yourself. We purposely stayed out late the following night so we wouldn't have to spend more time than necessary in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rose The Picky One
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Aug 11, 2014

Stunk like dog!

When I walked in, I wasn't quite sure what the bizarre smell was in the room. As time went by, I realized it smelled like some sort of animal. I called the front desk and asked if they accepted pets and she said yes, I then proceeded to tell her that my room smelled like a dog. She apologized and said that she could not switch my room because they were sold old, but offered me some spray. She ended up telling me to come to the front desk for the manager's business card if I wanted to complain and hung up on me. Of course when I contacted the manager, he had no answering machine - of course, why would he? If you were going to put me in a room that allowed animals, at least clean it where the next person does not have to smell that. The room was outdated and the furniture was beat up. I guess you truly do get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TTAL
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 31, 2014

poor value

The hotel is old and looks run down. The room had a musty odor, but thankfully, we could open a window. The couch was stained and uncomfortable, but the beds were comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Swish77
Business
NY
Jul 26, 2014

Not impressed

Staff at check in were very knowledgable and helpful. Despite a no smoking policy the penthouse next to mine had a bowl full of cigarette butts sitting outside their door and the smell of smoke was unbearable when I entered my penthouse. I knew the hotel was booked solid and it was almost midnight so I did not bother to return to the front desk and made the best of it knowing I only had to sleep and leave early in the morning. I searched the kitchen cupboards for extra garbage bags to place my bags in to avoid infiltration of the smoke smell and noticed that the cupboards were not only filthy, but empty as cleaning staff had failed to empty the dishwasher. I slept on the upstairs bed as the smell was not as strong there, but the next morning discovered the hair dryer did not work there. Breakfast was good, but there were no trays available to take back to your room and not enough seats and tables to accommodate guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Texas Roadhouse, Cracker Barrel, Cabelas, etc less than 5 miles east

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Weird location
Business
Ohio
Jul 20, 2014

OK

Stayed here while visiting zoo and COSI. Room was OK, nothing special, needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mustang C
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 12, 2014

Not a warm and fuzzy feeling

The room was outdated, dirty and disappointing. Remote control did not work. Alarm clock did not work. Dust and grime all around the baseboards. Nut shells on kitchen floor. Too hard too find the building. Poor lighting. Could not get in front door to check in. Had to find a guest in the laundry room to help. Got in my room and immediately locked the deadbolt and door latch. Very worried that I would come out the next morning to my car being stolen. Not a good night sleep and cost way too much for a terrible hotel stay. Should have stayed at a different hotel for 1/2 the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Columbus North

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kaylanjimmi
Business
Wheelersburg ohio
Jul 12, 2014

Great family trip

The rooms were big enough for my family of 5. The pool and hot tub were clean. The rooms were very spacious and clean however they could use a remodel. I loved that my room had a fridge stove and table. However I would have brought things to cook with. This was a great clean hotel ad wonderful for the price we paid. Breakfast was good but chaotic a lot of people and a little space I would advise going earlier. Hope this review helps

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

20 minutes from zoo and watermark and 20 minutes from cosi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top