$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
52 reviews
Great value for Ohio State trip

I had no misunderstandings about this hotel, therefore i was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of... See full review

  • reina33
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus. See full review

  • Buckeye Fan 76
  • Nov 25, 2012
Breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking are on the house at this Columbus hotel

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
15 out of 52
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.7
Value:
2.6

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Biju A.
Business
N/A
Mar 15, 2015

OK

found two cockroach in the room, apart from that it was good experience. good for the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Country Living Fair Visit
Business
Fenton, MI
Sep 15, 2014

Perfect for the Fair Grounds

Have stayed three years in a row. Rooms are clean. Continental Breakfast wasn't good on Fri., but had more on Sat. Could be better. Friendly. Could certainly use some updates but the price is good. Planning on going back next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

MiMi's and Marcella's are both very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickname unacceptable
Business
Perkasie, Pa.
Oct 14, 2012

perfect location for the ohio state fair grounds

We arrived early to the hotel, a room was available and the gentleman allowed us to check -in two hours before " check-in time". That was quite nice. I think a map of some nature would be good to show locations of restaurants, stores, points of interest, hospitals, ect. The phone numbers were available however, to decide on a restaurant, knowing the location would have been very helpful. Overall , our visit was very nice, nothing over the top, but no unexpected surprizes. That's important to me. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking to the fair grounds, very convenient instead of driving and then picking up the tram.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prefers to cruise
Business
Lockport, NY
Sep 12, 2012

A so so experiance

The hotel is right across the street from the Natural history museum as well as right next to the Ohio State fair grounds and only about 2 miles from Ohio State University, so if you time it right, there's plenty to do. The Columbus Zoo is only about 20 minutes away and well worth the trip. There was nothing special about the room or any of the amenities. They have a pool, however it was already closed despite the warm weather and looked rather small. Their "delux" continental breakfast consisted of danishes, muffins, coffee, orange juice, and apple juice that tasted as though it were fermenting. The room appeared clean enough when we arrived, however on our last night there, a cockroach began crawling on the wall and TV. Staff wasn't all that concerned about it and offered a half hearted apology for it. While the price and location wasn't bad, I would't stay there again simply because I don't want to bring bugs home with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crys298
Business
Columbus
Jun 25, 2012

Not a good place

The picture they have on the site looks nothing like the real room ... I had to find a grocery store to buy some cleaner ... There were cops going through the garbage looking for something when we got there .. We're razor blades on the ground outside. People next store to us said they had bed bugs .. Also my fiancé used to be an exterminator noticed roach droppings . The sheets and blankets were stained and dirty . The table legs were screwed in with screws. Tv stations didn't stay tuned in and pool and a bunch of mold and alge growing in the bottom. Door didn't shut all the way had to prop a chair up to it . Also had some random guy come up to us asking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FAIR GOER
Business
ARCANUM
Aug 10, 2011

NICE "NOT"

*WE STAYED FOR THE PROXIMITY TO OHIO STATE FAIRGROUNDS. IT WAS VERY CLOSE. *THE PICTURES ON THE WALL CRACKED, SHOWER CURTAIN ROD FALLING DOWN, WEATHER STRIPPING FELL OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE DOOR, HOLES IN THE WALLS, POOL COVERED (NO EXPLAINATION), ICKY MATTRESSES COVERED IN ZIPPER BAGS AND LUMPY. *THIS WAS THE WORST ROOM EVER IN 30 PLUS YEARS OF TRAVEL. *ONE GOOD THING---NO COCKROACHES---THAT WON'T LAST LONG.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jun 12, 2011

not quite

Quiet location room was clean,almost. Bathroom was in need of cleaning . The room fridge was not working. The pool was closed with no explanation as to why.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lehighton, Pa
Dec 3, 2010

"Place to sleep"

In Columbus for a football game. Needed hotel for one night. Nothing special but clean. McDonalds was located next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Carlisle, Ohio
Aug 6, 2010

customer review

After seeing some negative reviews it was not that bad. The linens and bathroom were clean and very acceptable. There was a lot of interstate traffic but choosing that location I understood that minor inconvenience. The biggest complaint we had was a leaky air conditioner that spilled water and may be a concern for mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose this place for its location. We are annual state fair attenders and this hotel was right across the street which was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
louisville jy
Aug 3, 2010

never again

When we showed up the room smelled like mildew and we found out when someone had to pee that in front of the sink to the bathroom the entire carpet was soaked. It was coming from the wall not the sink, and when we went to the staff about it he said what do you want me to do . If we had to do more then just sleep in the hotel I would have asked for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top