$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
51 reviews
Great value for Ohio State trip

I had no misunderstandings about this hotel, therefore i was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of... See full review

  • reina33
  • Nov 3, 2014
Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus. See full review

  • Buckeye Fan 76
  • Nov 25, 2012
Breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking are on the house at this Columbus hotel

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 51
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.2
Value:
3.3

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
reina33
Business
Allentown, PA
Nov 3, 2014

Great value for Ohio State trip

I had no misunderstandings about this hotel, therefore i was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the room, cleanliness and proximity to the Ohio State campus. No complaints from our end! The room was spacious, clean and quiet. We would definitely stay here during a future visit, especially since the cost was about 50% of what most rooms were going for in the area on our particular weekend. Is it a 5 star hotel, but i did not expect it to be. We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

About a 5 minute drive away is High Street where you can find a ton of bars and restaurants. There is adequate parking for a small fee ($3 for up to 3 hours) in a nearby parking garage or if you are lucky enough to find street parking. Awesome college town!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D Shrek
Business
Akron, Ohio
Oct 1, 2013

Eh

Besides the ants on the bathroom floor and mysterious white stains on the carpet, it was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disaster at the inn
Business
warren, mi
Sep 26, 2010

passing the blame

we arrived at the Days Inn about 11:30 pm. Got our room and signed a sheet stating that we would be cahrged a $150.00 fine if we smoked in the room.( This is an important note)When we got to our room as soon at we opened the door we found that is was a smoking room! A freshly painted smoking room to top it off. It was not a very plesent smell for sure. I called the front desk and they said that that was the type of room that I requested. I told him that the confirmation that I recieved from[...]showed a non-smoking room and when I call to confirm the reservation with days inn it was also confirmed that it was a non-smoking room. Because the hotel was full the only thing they could do was to sent us to another days inn 5 miles away. At 11:30 at night I didn't want to do any more driving, so we stayed and were told that we could talk to the manager in the morning.When we went to the front desk in the morning, the manager was not there and the front desk said that it was [...]fault, that was what they reserved for you. When I told him that your front desk confirmed non-smoking he had no answer and said that I could call the manager another day. Needless to day we were very upset and disappointed.We also found that the matress was ripped on the side very uncomfortable, burn holes in the blankets, tape on the walls from painting, no clock radio, no ironing board. I was a Very disappointing experienece.We have had better luck in the past with just finding a hotel when we get to our destination. Sorry [...] but we may just play it by ear next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malph
Business
Strongsville ohio
Aug 6, 2010

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

This hotel was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Joe
Business
Lima, OH
Jun 18, 2010

Not Bad

Room was kind of dirty and the plubing left alot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ohio State Fairgrounds is right across the street, and shares a parkinglot with McDonalds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenville, OH
Mar 28, 2010

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

This hotel is at the exit off I-71 at 17th Ave going immediately into the Ohio State Fairgrounds.You can walk onto the fairgrounds, which is across the street from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Jan 16, 2010

the worst Days-Inn I lived

It is the worst Days-Inn I have lived. The towel is so dirty. The fan comes when the light opens in the bathroom. So I caught a cold when I was bathing with the cold wind. The breakfast is too simple. No cereal. Originally, I always prefer Days-Inn because of its substantial benefit, but now I have to change my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rev Egg Plant
Business
Warren, MI
Sep 30, 2009

Not the best, but not the worst...

Though this wasn't the worst place I've ever stayed, it did leave a bit to be desired. The room wasn't the cleanest. The TV being bolted on the dresser prevented the dresser from being moved back fully flush with the wall and some of our things dropped behind it. While retrieving them, we found a bit of trash and mess there. A bit more detail when cleaning up would be helpful. The room was small and so was the bed. It certainly didn't feel the same width as our queen-size waterbed at home, and the mattress was kind of mushy. Still, for what we had to do, the place was quiet, the folks behind the counter quick to take care of things, like rekeying our access cards when my wife misplaced and then found one, and things could have been much worse. I found the lack of dollar bill acceptors on the vending machines kind of a drag. I also felt that the lack of nearby restaurants other than the McDonald's next door was a real drag. Some extra attention is all this place really needs and some business entrepreneur could really do well getting a full service restaurant set up nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're looking for good food at a sit-down type stop, this isn't the place for you. McDonald's is the only restaurant nearby and if you're staying for any length of time, be prepared to drive a bit to find someplace to offer a sit down meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barnesville, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

disappointing

disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milford, DE 19963
Aug 4, 2009

great price for location

This hotel was located in a very nice area to get to different venues. It was very clean when we first got there. Our room was not cleaned while we were there for two days. The cleaning crew knocked on our door at 9am the first day and did not come back to clean when we left or the second day. In the pamplet it said it had a microwave, but it did not. This would have been very useful for us. It had everything else stated, refrigarator. hair dryer, and even an iron and ironing board which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top