$48 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
49 reviews
great for Ohio state football weekend

this hotel served our needs as expected. There was anything that stood out but the room was large,... See full review

  • reina33
  • May 23, 2015
Great value for Ohio State trip

I had no misunderstandings about this hotel, therefore i was pleasantly surprised by the comfort of... See full review

  • reina33
  • Nov 3, 2014

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Property features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities
Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luke Bryan fan
Business
Columbus Ohio
Jan 18, 2014

Yikes.

This was the most disgusting and scariest place I have ever been. We didn't even enter the hotel room after being so incredibly uncomfortable with the surroundings. Maybe I should have researched the area better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crys298
Business
Columbus
Jun 25, 2012

Not a good place

The picture they have on the site looks nothing like the real room ... I had to find a grocery store to buy some cleaner ... There were cops going through the garbage looking for something when we got there .. We're razor blades on the ground outside. People next store to us said they had bed bugs .. Also my fiancé used to be an exterminator noticed roach droppings . The sheets and blankets were stained and dirty . The table legs were screwed in with screws. Tv stations didn't stay tuned in and pool and a bunch of mold and alge growing in the bottom. Door didn't shut all the way had to prop a chair up to it . Also had some random guy come up to us asking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disaster at the inn
Business
warren, mi
Sep 26, 2010

passing the blame

we arrived at the Days Inn about 11:30 pm. Got our room and signed a sheet stating that we would be cahrged a $150.00 fine if we smoked in the room.( This is an important note)When we got to our room as soon at we opened the door we found that is was a smoking room! A freshly painted smoking room to top it off. It was not a very plesent smell for sure. I called the front desk and they said that that was the type of room that I requested. I told him that the confirmation that I recieved from[...]showed a non-smoking room and when I call to confirm the reservation with days inn it was also confirmed that it was a non-smoking room. Because the hotel was full the only thing they could do was to sent us to another days inn 5 miles away. At 11:30 at night I didn't want to do any more driving, so we stayed and were told that we could talk to the manager in the morning.When we went to the front desk in the morning, the manager was not there and the front desk said that it was [...]fault, that was what they reserved for you. When I told him that your front desk confirmed non-smoking he had no answer and said that I could call the manager another day. Needless to day we were very upset and disappointed.We also found that the matress was ripped on the side very uncomfortable, burn holes in the blankets, tape on the walls from painting, no clock radio, no ironing board. I was a Very disappointing experienece.We have had better luck in the past with just finding a hotel when we get to our destination. Sorry [...] but we may just play it by ear next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barnesville, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

disappointing

disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lorain, Oh
Jun 27, 2010

Uhh, you get what you pay for.

You get what you pay for. The hotel shares a parking lot with a McDonalds, which comes in handy after you check out their breakfast, which consisted of a loaf of bread and orange juice that you had to shake your self for it to be what one lady called, 'drinkable.' The room was dingy, and stains were on the carpet and beds. They tried to fix the yellow stains in the bathroom by putting more wallpaper up, but it wasn't even the same type of wallpaper. About twenty minutes after being there one of our lightbulbs burnt out, so we went to the front desk. The guy handed us a new light bulb. We didn't even get a fresh roll of toilet paper when checked into our room. Gross. The staff was terrible, and seemed to consist of mainly 5 people, 2 in the check in closet, and 3 cleaning people. We opted out of the room service because when we first arrived they left peoples doors open and then just disappeared. From our room all we could see was a concrete stair case. If you really looked at our room, there were cobwebs everywhere with leaves and bugs stuck in them. The first night there I woke up with a rash all over my arm, so I chose to wear long sleeves the next night. The bed was comfy, but seemed to be dirty. For a quick stop, you get what you pay for. I stayed two nights, and never will I stay again. Beware in the parking lot in back too, glass was everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If anything is going on at the fairgrounds, they're right across the street and there is an entrance.

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grand rapids oh
Dec 1, 2009

state board medical examination

location was perfect. i switched rooms on account that the tub wasn't draining. and unfortunately i was already in the shower when i discovered that there was a dirty rag hanging from the rod above...a wash rag with visable pubic hairs upon it! i did not bring it to attention i had to be up early and didn't want to move into what i was sure to be another unacceptable room. above all i feel that the rate being charged was rediculously high for the quality that was presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

days in is in walking distance to the fairgrounds

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KY
Jan 16, 2010

the worst Days-Inn I lived

It is the worst Days-Inn I have lived. The towel is so dirty. The fan comes when the light opens in the bathroom. So I caught a cold when I was bathing with the cold wind. The breakfast is too simple. No cereal. Originally, I always prefer Days-Inn because of its substantial benefit, but now I have to change my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
louisville jy
Aug 3, 2010

never again

When we showed up the room smelled like mildew and we found out when someone had to pee that in front of the sink to the bathroom the entire carpet was soaked. It was coming from the wall not the sink, and when we went to the staff about it he said what do you want me to do . If we had to do more then just sleep in the hotel I would have asked for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2obstinate
Business
Michigan
May 5, 2014

A place to stay

The hotel is just that. Nothing is terribly wrong but nothing is more than ok, especially for the price. If you just need a place to sleep for the night it will work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crossfit Chris
Business
Il
May 5, 2014

Not the greatest

Room was clean but both mattresses were broken and had pillows underneath for support. "Continental Breakfast" consisted of apples and bananas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top