$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus. See full review

  • Buckeye Fan 76
  • Nov 25, 2012
Very helpful and pleasant staff

I was greeted very pleasantly at the desk not hurried but treated with courtesy The room was very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 10, 2008
Breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking are on the house at this Columbus hotel

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities

Hotel Map

39.9998 -82.9855
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Apr 21, 2007

Very Scary

Check-In was fine, he was very friendly. The room was really musky, the towel bar was ripped off the wall and just sitting on the counter, there were water stains all along the walls of the bathroom, just a joke. I saw security drive through a couple times, so that was good. The next morning we went for breakfast and came back and all our stuff was GONE! We flipped out and went to the front desk and they had them. The shady cleaning lady said she thought we were checked out! I was so mad, nothing big was taken just a bunch of change, couple singles, and a pack of cigarettes (with lighter).Just a really shady experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McDonalds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisville jy
Aug 3, 2010

never again

When we showed up the room smelled like mildew and we found out when someone had to pee that in front of the sink to the bathroom the entire carpet was soaked. It was coming from the wall not the sink, and when we went to the staff about it he said what do you want me to do . If we had to do more then just sleep in the hotel I would have asked for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luke Bryan fan
Columbus Ohio
Jan 18, 2014

Yikes.

This was the most disgusting and scariest place I have ever been. We didn't even enter the hotel room after being so incredibly uncomfortable with the surroundings. Maybe I should have researched the area better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FAIR GOER
ARCANUM
Aug 10, 2011

NICE "NOT"

*WE STAYED FOR THE PROXIMITY TO OHIO STATE FAIRGROUNDS. IT WAS VERY CLOSE. *THE PICTURES ON THE WALL CRACKED, SHOWER CURTAIN ROD FALLING DOWN, WEATHER STRIPPING FELL OFF THE BOTTOM OF THE DOOR, HOLES IN THE WALLS, POOL COVERED (NO EXPLAINATION), ICKY MATTRESSES COVERED IN ZIPPER BAGS AND LUMPY. *THIS WAS THE WORST ROOM EVER IN 30 PLUS YEARS OF TRAVEL. *ONE GOOD THING---NO COCKROACHES---THAT WON'T LAST LONG.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crys298
Columbus
Jun 25, 2012

Not a good place

The picture they have on the site looks nothing like the real room ... I had to find a grocery store to buy some cleaner ... There were cops going through the garbage looking for something when we got there .. We're razor blades on the ground outside. People next store to us said they had bed bugs .. Also my fiancé used to be an exterminator noticed roach droppings . The sheets and blankets were stained and dirty . The table legs were screwed in with screws. Tv stations didn't stay tuned in and pool and a bunch of mold and alge growing in the bottom. Door didn't shut all the way had to prop a chair up to it . Also had some random guy come up to us asking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disaster at the inn
warren, mi
Sep 26, 2010

passing the blame

we arrived at the Days Inn about 11:30 pm. Got our room and signed a sheet stating that we would be cahrged a $150.00 fine if we smoked in the room.( This is an important note)When we got to our room as soon at we opened the door we found that is was a smoking room! A freshly painted smoking room to top it off. It was not a very plesent smell for sure. I called the front desk and they said that that was the type of room that I requested. I told him that the confirmation that I recieved from[...]showed a non-smoking room and when I call to confirm the reservation with days inn it was also confirmed that it was a non-smoking room. Because the hotel was full the only thing they could do was to sent us to another days inn 5 miles away. At 11:30 at night I didn't want to do any more driving, so we stayed and were told that we could talk to the manager in the morning.When we went to the front desk in the morning, the manager was not there and the front desk said that it was [...]fault, that was what they reserved for you. When I told him that your front desk confirmed non-smoking he had no answer and said that I could call the manager another day. Needless to day we were very upset and disappointed.We also found that the matress was ripped on the side very uncomfortable, burn holes in the blankets, tape on the walls from painting, no clock radio, no ironing board. I was a Very disappointing experienece.We have had better luck in the past with just finding a hotel when we get to our destination. Sorry [...] but we may just play it by ear next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 23, 2007

Past its Prime

I booked this hotel as it was walking distance to the Columbus Crew stadium and it had free wireless. The people at the front desk were very nice and I felt welcome. however, the hotel needs totally made over. The room was neat, but the carpet was ready for the scrap heap and the walls need to be painted. The bathtub was water stained. Then, if you turned on the bathroom light the light in the sink area flickered. The wireless didn't work. The pool was nice and clean though. The people there are making an effort, but until the rooms are totally redone, I would not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
KY
Jan 16, 2010

the worst Days-Inn I lived

It is the worst Days-Inn I have lived. The towel is so dirty. The fan comes when the light opens in the bathroom. So I caught a cold when I was bathing with the cold wind. The breakfast is too simple. No cereal. Originally, I always prefer Days-Inn because of its substantial benefit, but now I have to change my mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grand rapids oh
Dec 1, 2009

state board medical examination

location was perfect. i switched rooms on account that the tub wasn't draining. and unfortunately i was already in the shower when i discovered that there was a dirty rag hanging from the rod above...a wash rag with visable pubic hairs upon it! i did not bring it to attention i had to be up early and didn't want to move into what i was sure to be another unacceptable room. above all i feel that the rate being charged was rediculously high for the quality that was presented.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

days in is in walking distance to the fairgrounds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Barnesville, Ohio
Sep 21, 2009

disappointing

disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search