$65 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
View map of 1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 52
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disaster at the inn
Business
warren, mi
Sep 26, 2010

passing the blame

we arrived at the Days Inn about 11:30 pm. Got our room and signed a sheet stating that we would be cahrged a $150.00 fine if we smoked in the room.( This is an important note)When we got to our room as soon at we opened the door we found that is was a smoking room! A freshly painted smoking room to top it off. It was not a very plesent smell for sure. I called the front desk and they said that that was the type of room that I requested. I told him that the confirmation that I recieved from[...]showed a non-smoking room and when I call to confirm the reservation with days inn it was also confirmed that it was a non-smoking room. Because the hotel was full the only thing they could do was to sent us to another days inn 5 miles away. At 11:30 at night I didn't want to do any more driving, so we stayed and were told that we could talk to the manager in the morning.When we went to the front desk in the morning, the manager was not there and the front desk said that it was [...]fault, that was what they reserved for you. When I told him that your front desk confirmed non-smoking he had no answer and said that I could call the manager another day. Needless to day we were very upset and disappointed.We also found that the matress was ripped on the side very uncomfortable, burn holes in the blankets, tape on the walls from painting, no clock radio, no ironing board. I was a Very disappointing experienece.We have had better luck in the past with just finding a hotel when we get to our destination. Sorry [...] but we may just play it by ear next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anaheim, CA
Sep 26, 2010

Good enough for the money paid

The room was smelly and unclean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Korn Fan
Business
Ellsworth, OH
Sep 13, 2010

can't remember too much, too much turkey

just needed a place to sleep and this was just fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mopar Nationals 2010
Business
IN
Aug 17, 2010

Wasn't looking for high class

I was not looking for high class. I was in town for a car show, and wanted a place to shower and sleep. This hotel was fine for that, the A/C leaked on to the floor, and the tub needed some caulk, other than that I did not have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malph
Business
Strongsville ohio
Aug 6, 2010

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

This hotel was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Carlisle, Ohio
Aug 6, 2010

customer review

After seeing some negative reviews it was not that bad. The linens and bathroom were clean and very acceptable. There was a lot of interstate traffic but choosing that location I understood that minor inconvenience. The biggest complaint we had was a leaky air conditioner that spilled water and may be a concern for mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose this place for its location. We are annual state fair attenders and this hotel was right across the street which was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
louisville jy
Aug 3, 2010

never again

When we showed up the room smelled like mildew and we found out when someone had to pee that in front of the sink to the bathroom the entire carpet was soaked. It was coming from the wall not the sink, and when we went to the staff about it he said what do you want me to do . If we had to do more then just sleep in the hotel I would have asked for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedmaster
Business
31 Lindmede dr. Miamisburg ohio 45342
Jul 4, 2010

speical olympics

We where at 1700 Clara St. Columbus Ohio. It was no more than 15 minutes from all of the events and extra things there on the 24-26 june 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCG
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 29, 2010

Great Hotel for Cheap

Been going to Columbus for nearly 15 years, and after 3 years of poor quality cheap hotels (around $60 or under), this one was well worth the money spent, as there was no problems at all. All of the hotel staff did their jobs and I would recommend this as a great cost-saver hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lorain, Oh
Jun 27, 2010

Uhh, you get what you pay for.

You get what you pay for. The hotel shares a parking lot with a McDonalds, which comes in handy after you check out their breakfast, which consisted of a loaf of bread and orange juice that you had to shake your self for it to be what one lady called, 'drinkable.' The room was dingy, and stains were on the carpet and beds. They tried to fix the yellow stains in the bathroom by putting more wallpaper up, but it wasn't even the same type of wallpaper. About twenty minutes after being there one of our lightbulbs burnt out, so we went to the front desk. The guy handed us a new light bulb. We didn't even get a fresh roll of toilet paper when checked into our room. Gross. The staff was terrible, and seemed to consist of mainly 5 people, 2 in the check in closet, and 3 cleaning people. We opted out of the room service because when we first arrived they left peoples doors open and then just disappeared. From our room all we could see was a concrete stair case. If you really looked at our room, there were cobwebs everywhere with leaves and bugs stuck in them. The first night there I woke up with a rash all over my arm, so I chose to wear long sleeves the next night. The bed was comfy, but seemed to be dirty. For a quick stop, you get what you pay for. I stayed two nights, and never will I stay again. Beware in the parking lot in back too, glass was everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If anything is going on at the fairgrounds, they're right across the street and there is an entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top