$52 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
50 reviews
Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus. See full review

  • Buckeye Fan 76
  • Nov 25, 2012
Very helpful and pleasant staff

I was greeted very pleasantly at the desk not hurried but treated with courtesy The room was very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 10, 2008
Breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking are on the house at this Columbus hotel

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities

Hotel Map

39.9998 -82.9855
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

52% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Korn Fan
Ellsworth, OH
Sep 13, 2010

can't remember too much, too much turkey

just needed a place to sleep and this was just fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mopar Nationals 2010
IN
Aug 17, 2010

Wasn't looking for high class

I was not looking for high class. I was in town for a car show, and wanted a place to shower and sleep. This hotel was fine for that, the A/C leaked on to the floor, and the tub needed some caulk, other than that I did not have any problems.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Carlisle, Ohio
Aug 6, 2010

customer review

After seeing some negative reviews it was not that bad. The linens and bathroom were clean and very acceptable. There was a lot of interstate traffic but choosing that location I understood that minor inconvenience. The biggest complaint we had was a leaky air conditioner that spilled water and may be a concern for mold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We chose this place for its location. We are annual state fair attenders and this hotel was right across the street which was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Malph
Strongsville ohio
Aug 6, 2010

I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL

This hotel was horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
louisville jy
Aug 3, 2010

never again

When we showed up the room smelled like mildew and we found out when someone had to pee that in front of the sink to the bathroom the entire carpet was soaked. It was coming from the wall not the sink, and when we went to the staff about it he said what do you want me to do . If we had to do more then just sleep in the hotel I would have asked for my money back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
speedmaster
31 Lindmede dr. Miamisburg ohio 45342
Jul 4, 2010

speical olympics

We where at 1700 Clara St. Columbus Ohio. It was no more than 15 minutes from all of the events and extra things there on the 24-26 june 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GCG
Detroit, MI
Jun 29, 2010

Great Hotel for Cheap

Been going to Columbus for nearly 15 years, and after 3 years of poor quality cheap hotels (around $60 or under), this one was well worth the money spent, as there was no problems at all. All of the hotel staff did their jobs and I would recommend this as a great cost-saver hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lorain, Oh
Jun 27, 2010

Uhh, you get what you pay for.

You get what you pay for. The hotel shares a parking lot with a McDonalds, which comes in handy after you check out their breakfast, which consisted of a loaf of bread and orange juice that you had to shake your self for it to be what one lady called, 'drinkable.' The room was dingy, and stains were on the carpet and beds. They tried to fix the yellow stains in the bathroom by putting more wallpaper up, but it wasn't even the same type of wallpaper. About twenty minutes after being there one of our lightbulbs burnt out, so we went to the front desk. The guy handed us a new light bulb. We didn't even get a fresh roll of toilet paper when checked into our room. Gross. The staff was terrible, and seemed to consist of mainly 5 people, 2 in the check in closet, and 3 cleaning people. We opted out of the room service because when we first arrived they left peoples doors open and then just disappeared. From our room all we could see was a concrete stair case. If you really looked at our room, there were cobwebs everywhere with leaves and bugs stuck in them. The first night there I woke up with a rash all over my arm, so I chose to wear long sleeves the next night. The bed was comfy, but seemed to be dirty. For a quick stop, you get what you pay for. I stayed two nights, and never will I stay again. Beware in the parking lot in back too, glass was everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If anything is going on at the fairgrounds, they're right across the street and there is an entrance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Just Joe
Lima, OH
Jun 18, 2010

Not Bad

Room was kind of dirty and the plubing left alot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Ohio State Fairgrounds is right across the street, and shares a parkinglot with McDonalds

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ranger for life
Morgantown, WV
May 24, 2010

Good for the price

The hotel overall was okay. We went specifically to be close to the Crew Stadium. We were within walking distance. It was noisy just because several people were there for Rock on the Range. Many were partying late in to the night. The hotel safe cleaned everyday and were friendly. We had to get new keys one night because ours got deactivated. There was a McDonald's right beside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location for ROTR

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search