$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

2 stars
1700 Clara Street, Columbus, OH 43211
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
78 reviews
Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus. See full review

  • Buckeye Fan 76
  • Nov 25, 2012
Very helpful and pleasant staff

I was greeted very pleasantly at the desk not hurried but treated with courtesy The room was very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jul 10, 2008
Breakfast, Wi-Fi, and parking are on the house at this Columbus hotel

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds faces the Ohio State Fairgrounds and is across the street from the Ohio Expo Center. The hotel, just off the interstate, provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting, with free Wi-Fi throughout. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets welcome. Guests get free continental breakfast daily.

Highlights
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Free parking
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Convenient to Ohio State Fairgrounds
  • Pet-friendly
Rooms

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds offers 117 guest rooms with basic accommodations in a motel-like setting. Guests enter all rooms from outside the building. Rooms have modest decor but come with free Wi-Fi. Pets are welcome in guest rooms for a $10-per-night fee.

Features

The Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds is conveniently located just off Interstate 71, adjacent to the Ohio State Fairgrounds. The Ohio Expo Center is across the street. The hotel provides the most basic of lodging in a motel-like setting. Parking for buses, campers, trucks, and RVs is plentiful. Pets are welcome for $10 extra per night. Wi-Fi is free in guest rooms and throughout the hotel.

 

Guests get a free Daybreak continental breakfast daily. Breakfast is the only dining option on site.

Transportation
  • Port Columbus International Airport (8.6 mi/13.8 km)
  • Rickenbacker International Airport (17 mi/27.4 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Ohio State Fairgrounds (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Ohio State University (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center (3 mi/4.8 km)
Business
  • No on-site meeting facilities

Hotel Map

39.9998 -82.9855
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
ATM/Cash machine
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 0.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 1.3 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Ohio State University: 2 mi
  • Goodale Park: 2.1 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 2.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 2.1 mi
  • Value City Arena: 2.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 2.2 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 2.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 2.3 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 2.5 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 2.5 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 2.7 mi
  • Southern Theater: 2.7 mi
  • Statehouse: 2.8 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.8 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 2.8 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 3 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 3.4 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 3.8 mi
  • Schiller Park: 4 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 5 mi
  • Antrim Park: 6.2 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 8.3 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 99.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

51% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickname unacceptable
Perkasie, Pa.
Oct 14, 2012

perfect location for the ohio state fair grounds

We arrived early to the hotel, a room was available and the gentleman allowed us to check -in two hours before " check-in time". That was quite nice. I think a map of some nature would be good to show locations of restaurants, stores, points of interest, hospitals, ect. The phone numbers were available however, to decide on a restaurant, knowing the location would have been very helpful. Overall , our visit was very nice, nothing over the top, but no unexpected surprizes. That's important to me. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking to the fair grounds, very convenient instead of driving and then picking up the tram.

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Party Harty
Ohio
May 13, 2014

good price

Cheap price, clean, good location. Located next to fairgrounds and McDonalds next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
2obstinate
Michigan
May 5, 2014

A place to stay

The hotel is just that. Nothing is terribly wrong but nothing is more than ok, especially for the price. If you just need a place to sleep for the night it will work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crossfit Chris
Business
Il
May 5, 2014

Not the greatest

Room was clean but both mattresses were broken and had pillows underneath for support. "Continental Breakfast" consisted of apples and bananas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luke Bryan fan
Columbus Ohio
Jan 18, 2014

Yikes.

This was the most disgusting and scariest place I have ever been. We didn't even enter the hotel room after being so incredibly uncomfortable with the surroundings. Maybe I should have researched the area better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
D Shrek
Akron, Ohio
Oct 1, 2013

Eh

Besides the ants on the bathroom floor and mysterious white stains on the carpet, it was alright.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
buzzgun2000
Butler, PA
Dec 6, 2012

Just a place to crash for one night...........

Stayed here after seeing a concert in town. My friend and I didn't need anything fancy so I figured that this would be the perfect setup for us. No issues with the room and we got pretty much what we were expecting. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Columbus seems to be a nice area and there were many interesting things to see.

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Buckeye Fan 76
Maosn, Ohio
Nov 25, 2012

Great stay

Clean room in a nice area right next to the fairgrounds and within walking distance to OSU campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Ohio State campus

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nickname unacceptable
Perkasie, Pa.
Oct 14, 2012

perfect location for the ohio state fair grounds

We arrived early to the hotel, a room was available and the gentleman allowed us to check -in two hours before " check-in time". That was quite nice. I think a map of some nature would be good to show locations of restaurants, stores, points of interest, hospitals, ect. The phone numbers were available however, to decide on a restaurant, knowing the location would have been very helpful. Overall , our visit was very nice, nothing over the top, but no unexpected surprizes. That's important to me. I would recommend this hotel to my friends. Thanks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

walking to the fair grounds, very convenient instead of driving and then picking up the tram.

Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prefers to cruise
Lockport, NY
Sep 12, 2012

A so so experiance

The hotel is right across the street from the Natural history museum as well as right next to the Ohio State fair grounds and only about 2 miles from Ohio State University, so if you time it right, there's plenty to do. The Columbus Zoo is only about 20 minutes away and well worth the trip. There was nothing special about the room or any of the amenities. They have a pool, however it was already closed despite the warm weather and looked rather small. Their "delux" continental breakfast consisted of danishes, muffins, coffee, orange juice, and apple juice that tasted as though it were fermenting. The room appeared clean enough when we arrived, however on our last night there, a cockroach began crawling on the wall and TV. Staff wasn't all that concerned about it and offered a half hearted apology for it. While the price and location wasn't bad, I would't stay there again simply because I don't want to bring bugs home with me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Columbus Fairgrounds

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Crys298
Columbus
Jun 25, 2012

Not a good place

The picture they have on the site looks nothing like the real room ... I had to find a grocery store to buy some cleaner ... There were cops going through the garbage looking for something when we got there .. We're razor blades on the ground outside. People next store to us said they had bed bugs .. Also my fiancé used to be an exterminator noticed roach droppings . The sheets and blankets were stained and dirty . The table legs were screwed in with screws. Tv stations didn't stay tuned in and pool and a bunch of mold and alge growing in the bottom. Door didn't shut all the way had to prop a chair up to it . Also had some random guy come up to us asking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top