Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

3 stars
View map of 35 West Spring Street, 35 West Spring Street, Columbus, OH 43215

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent hotel!

I would highly recommend this hotel! Great location, nice sized rooms and very friendly staff. Only... See full review

  • Mr Max Bass
  • Jul 15, 2013
Visiting family

We visited family, however I wanted to sit there the whole time! It was amazing! See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 6, 2011
A perfectly situated Downtown Columbus hotel, the Courtyard by Marriott offers superb service in an energetic, urban setting. Start your day off right in our Bistro, serving a hot breakfast and Starbucks coffee for a nominal fee. Relax in our Indoor pool & whirlpool or stay fit in our Fitness Center. Experience the comfort of the Courtyard by Marriott bedding and enjoy 32 flat screen LCD TVs in every guest room. Valet parking is available for a fee. One of the best locations among Columbus Ohio hotels, the Courtyard by Marriott is near the Columbus Convention Center, Arena District, Palace and Ohio Theatres, Veterans Memorial, COSI, German Village, the Short North Arts District, Lifestyle Pavilion and The Ohio State University. Area companies include Nationwide Insurance, AEP, Columbia Gas, Abbott and the State of Ohio Government Offices. Excellent dining, shopping and entertainment options are just steps away at the Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown hotel!

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Southern Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.5 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 0.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodale Park: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 1 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Southern Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Statehouse: 0.4 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 0.4 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 0.5 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 0.5 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 0.5 mi
  • Huntington Park: 0.5 mi
  • Goodale Park: 0.7 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 0.8 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 0.9 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 1 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 1 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 1.2 mi
  • Schiller Park: 1.7 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 2.4 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 2.6 mi
  • Ohio State University: 3 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 3 mi
  • Value City Arena: 3.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 3.9 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 5.5 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 7.3 mi
  • Antrim Park: 8.1 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 10.7 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 101.3 mi

Dining

Courtyard Bistro
Eat. Drink. Connect. - Located in the hotel in our lower lobby. Join us for breakfast or dinner & drinks.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jackal1954
Business
usa
Dec 16, 2013

Disappointing

Did not have a good night of sleep. Heater was very noisy. It was going on and off the whole night. Noise from the door of next room closing was very loud.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amy elizabeth
Business
kalamazoo, mi
Sep 28, 2013

Not a Good Value

I made this reservation for 6 of our team members who were there for a meeting. Feedback included overwhelming agreement that the beds were terribly uncomfortable and old - permanent impressions where body would be. Also, the hotel was under construction, which we did not know when booking. One of our team members said it sounded like they were working around the clock as the sound of hammers was constant. Final comment was that personnel at front desk were rather rude and there was a bit of confusion about the need for a credit card at check in even though the room had been paid through the online travel service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr Max Bass
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 15, 2013

Excellent hotel!

I would highly recommend this hotel! Great location, nice sized rooms and very friendly staff. Only bad thing was there isn't an elevator on the main floor to get your cart to your room. I had to walk my luggage up stairs to the floor where the elevators were.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nellsohn
Business
Ithaca
Oct 16, 2012

No complaints

I got a package deal on flights and hotel through this site so the price was better than with other hotels of similar quality. It's a 5 minute walk to the sports arena area and the convention center. Plenty of good restaurants within a 10 minute walk in any direction. The room was clean, no complaints on housekeeping. The windows are pretty small so you don't get much natural light in the room. So I guess that would be the one negative I can think of. They have a small but decently stocked bar with free popcorn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Latitude 41, Jeni's Ice Cream, North Market. All good spots to hit.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sum Guy
Business
Washington DC
Jul 1, 2012

a little bit of a disappointment

was a little disappointed that the hotel staff wasn't more aware of the amenities and attractions in the area of the hotel. I was consistently misdirected to local attractions such as dinner and entertainment spots. I was disappointed to find out that my stay was not eligible for rewards points through my Marriott membership. If I stay in Columbus again, I won't be going back to the Marriott Courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emmaandcailyn
Business
Barboursville, WV, USA
Apr 22, 2012

Disney concert stay

Took my 3 year old granddaughters and promised them swimming. Checked website to make sure they had a pool. Pool was closed. They offered the YMCA pool and gave a paper with the hours. Dressed the girls the next morning, walked in the rain it the Y and it was closed to the public because of swimming lessons. Dragged the girls back to the hotel crying because they wanted to swim. Big disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Very Frequent T
Business
Atlanta
Mar 4, 2012

Good Hotel

What you expect from Courtyard Mariott Room was nice and big The only minus is that Mariott does not give you rewards if you do not book directly through them!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JimKAkron
Business
Akron, OH
Jan 2, 2012

Good value for a good location

Decided last moment to head to Columbus for the New Year and found this hotel available online. It is located just south of the Arena district and the Short North, just a few minutes walk to either area. So within walking distance, you have at your fingertips great restaurants, shopping and perhaps a concert or a game at the Arena. The hotel is clean and staff is friendly. It is not luxurious, but if you are looking for a comfortable and clean place to hang your hat while exploring Columbus, this is good as any.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keus1
Business
Michigan
Aug 17, 2011

Concert Getaway

We came to Columbus to see a concert at the LC Pavilion and the hotel was within walking distance and lots of great places to eat near by. The window AC was a bit disappointing, but in historic buildings that's what you get I guess. The breakfast buffet at the hotel is worth it. Hard to find a place downtown that's open for breakfast on the weekend. There was nothing special about this hotel, but you can't beat a clean room and VERY helpful staff. The tip about parking in the public lot down the street instead of using the hotel valet was a great one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to German Village which is about a mile from the hotel. Shopping, German restaurants, and a beautiful park.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Columbus Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 21, 2011

Chicago family

The room and location were great. Very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was the lack of an elevator on the lobby level so in order to get a luggage rack up to your room a bellhop had to wait for a special lift that did not work quickly. Also, parking was at a garage down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good eats at the Elevator restaurant.

Back to menu Return to top