$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Sep 29, 2014

Candlewood Suites POLARIS

2 stars
8515 LYRA DRIVE, COLUMBUS, OH 43240
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
17 reviews
excellent hotel

For a 2 star hotel I couldn't have for a better stay at a 4 star hotel. The staff was excellent,... See full review

  • prom mom of 2
  • May 7, 2014
Work life

We like booking here for our out of town staff. Service is nice See full review

  • Camera people
  • Apr 16, 2014
Relax in this Columbus, Ohio Hotel's Cozy Suites Here at the Candlewood Suites® Columbus - Polaris hotel, we understand comfort is the key to enjoyment when you are on an extended stay. You will find it easy to relax in the spacious studio suites, accented by wood floors and an overstuffed recliner. Our all-suite hotel's guests are near Columbus Zoo and the Columbus Convention Center. Guests in search of Columbus, Ohio hotels with free high-speed Internet access are in luck, we provide both wired and wireless Internet access for free. Make use of our Business Center when traveling without your laptop for any document printing or Web browsing you may need. Our hotel's prime location near Columbus Zoo means a short travel time and more time to enjoy sightseeing. Take the entire family to Zoombezi Bay Waterpark. During your stay, visit the Polaris Fashion Place Mall just across Polaris Parkway for a wide variety of intriguing restaurants and enough shops to impress even the most experienced shopper. Our Columbus and Polaris hotel's guests feel like they never left home thanks to the full kitchen in every suite, free guest laundry facilities and our DVD lending library. If you forgot your toothbrush or need a snack, visit the Candlewood Cupboard in the hotel lobby for sundries, food and drinks at less than $5. Relax and go for a dip in the heated, indoor swimming pool. Book your suite today and "Consider Us Home."

Hotel Map

40.14 -82.9755
Nearby airports
Olentangy Indian Caverns, (CMH), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Suburban, suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites POLARIS also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 1.6 mi
  • Antrim Park: 5.3 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 7.2 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 7.3 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 8.4 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Value City Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Ohio State University: 9.6 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 9.8 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 9.9 mi
  • Goodale Park: 11.5 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 11.7 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 11.9 mi
  • Sharon Woods Metro Park: 1.6 mi
  • Antrim Park: 5.3 mi
  • Whetstone Park: 7.2 mi
  • Easton Town Center: 7.3 mi
  • Olentangy Bike Path: 8.4 mi
  • Crew Soccer Stadium: 9.1 mi
  • The Value City Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Value City Arena: 9.5 mi
  • Ohio State University: 9.6 mi
  • Wexner Center for the Arts: 9.8 mi
  • Ohio Stadium: 9.9 mi
  • Goodale Park: 11.5 mi
  • Greater Columbus Convention Center: 11.7 mi
  • Columbus Crew Stadium: 11.8 mi
  • LC Pavillion: 11.9 mi
  • Central Ohio Fire Museum: 11.9 mi
  • Jazz Arts Group: 12 mi
  • Huntington Park: 12 mi
  • Franklin Park Conservatory and Botanical Garden: 12 mi
  • Nationwide Arena: 12 mi
  • Columbus Museum of Art: 12.2 mi
  • Southern Theater: 12.4 mi
  • Kelton House Museum & Garden: 12.4 mi
  • Statehouse: 12.4 mi
  • Topiary Garden: 12.4 mi
  • Ohio Theater: 12.5 mi
  • Center of Science and Industry: 12.6 mi
  • Shadowbox Live: 13.1 mi
  • Schiller Park: 13.7 mi
  • Ohio Historical Center: 90.4 mi

Dining

Quaker Steak and Lube
America's number 1 motor sports themed family restaurant featuring Best Wings USA. Today, The Lube serves over 70 million wings annually, has bottled sauces for retail sale, has won the title of Best Wings USA, and has over 100 local, national, and inte
Average Joe's
An above average sports bar where everyone's an All American! Average Joes Pub and Grill where you can enjoy good friends, have good times and always enjoy great food and drinks. Average Joes Pub and Grill offers the best staff in the industry, the long

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (17)

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Middletown, PA
Jun 18, 2011

Great Value for families

This hotel was the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The staff was friendly, site was well maintain and clean. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free washer and dryer.

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
prom mom of 2
ohio
May 7, 2014

excellent hotel

For a 2 star hotel I couldn't have for a better stay at a 4 star hotel. The staff was excellent, friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red robin was a great dining experience.

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
HW14
Westerville, OH
May 5, 2014

Candlewood--Polaris-Westerville, OH

Entrance tile and bath tile in room sticky. I arrived late, 10 PM. Did not want to deal with it then. Told desk next morning, said he would handle it. Was taken care oc upon return in evening. Both morning and evening desk person poorly trained for questions asked. . Snack items available in lobby area way over priced. Not best Candlewood I have been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Camera people
Business
Westervill
Apr 16, 2014

Work life

We like booking here for our out of town staff. Service is nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jonboy 32
lexington, ohio
Aug 19, 2013

great location for a night out

The hotel was great. Friendly staff, clean rooms, soft drinks and snacks purchased on the honor system. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance for a good night out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JamminJelly
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 2, 2012

Go somewhere else.

This hotel had rude staff and a non-existent manager. I stopped by the front desk four times to ask about reserving an extra one bedroom suite for a week to accomodate guests coming from out of town. Every time I was told that I would have to speak to the manager (???). I don't understand why I had to go through management to reserve a suite but they told me every time that he would be in the next day and they would "leave a note" for him to contact me. He never did and we made reservations somewhere else, for them AND me. We ended up at a cheaper hotel with no pool but the staff were more helpful and we had better service overall. We were even closer to the shopping center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel has an indoor pool and the location is great with a lot of restaurants and shopping within walking distance, but there are also a LOT of other hotels within a mile radius.

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
zcbus
columbus, OH
Oct 18, 2012

THE WORST, BY ALL MEANS

I reserved a $185 suite, they gave me a regular room and would not credit me the difference. The lady on the front desk actually looked me in the face and told me that "even if you pay for a suite online, we will do our best to accommodate you and put you in whatever is available. So if they don't have an available suite, you will get a regular room without a credit back". So basically when you pay for a bigger room with those guys, you're just gambling. When i asked for a refund the girl looked like she was going to jump over the counter and bite my head off. She was very rude and defensive. For two days i tried to talk to a manager, they kept telling me he's not in. I called the website that i booked through and had them call the general manager, no luck!! he said the policy is the policy. Besides the complete lack of customer service, this place was less than average. The lobby looked like the waiting area in my doctor's office and the room was short of acceptable. Moral of the story, I would rather sleep in my car than to step a foot in this place again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boeroboy
Business
Milwaukee
Oct 1, 2012

Friendly staff, mixed amenities. Get trip insurance in case you decide to go somewhere else...

I got in after a long day and late flight to find the elevator was broken - no big deal with just 4 flights of stairs to climb. Staff was nice and apologetic. Got upstairs to find flickering hall lights and the entire floor smelling like smoke - especially the room. Surprise! Make sure you're guaranteed a non-smoking room or don't be the last one to check in. I went here for location, but now I can see there are plenty of competitive hotels in the area. Staff was nice but this place needs to either step it up or drop their price. Maybe it was bad luck for me, but get trip insurance in case you need to cancel and go elsewhere...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex Lumberton
Lumberton, NC
Dec 26, 2011

Good hotel

All and all, everything is good, clean room, good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

there are tons of good resturants round the hotel, and huge mall.

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
happytime
Wooster, OH 44691, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Girls weekend away

Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Service at front desk was little slow due to only 1 person working. Reserved for 4 adults bathroom was stocked for 2 called front desk for addtional items was told towels are available at front desk for pick up. This was not my previous experience with this same hotel location nor any other hotel I have stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Large mall and about any other type of shopping plaza's as well as large variety of eating places within 5 min drive...some you could even walk to from hotel

Review of Candlewood Suites POLARIS

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Baxter
Columbus, OH
Sep 20, 2011

More than I expected

Not only was this hotel very clean but the kitchen area had a full size refrigerator, dish washer, 2 burner stove, all cooking and eating utensils, coffee pot and toaster. Although the staff could have been friendlier I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search