$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2015 Check-out: Jul 19, 2015

Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

4 stars
View map of 24, Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
67 reviews
Great Stay

Love the hotel, the lobby was very elegant. We stayed near the holidays, it was decorated very... See full review

  • Darling Dimples
  • Dec 1, 2014
A classic hotel with some nice features

This is one of the classic old hotels. Don't look for huge rooms, but enjoy the ornate lobby. And... See full review

  • Happy Visitor 2014
  • Feb 23, 2014
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel puts guests in the heart of downtown Cleveland with its location just across from popular Public Square, within walking distance of Cleveland sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. This historic hotel is a downtown grand dame, with oversized rooms, high ceilings, and eye-popping indoor swimming pool in a 10-story atrium.
Rooms
Big spaces and soaring ceilings in 491 luxurious guest rooms at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reflect old-world historic architecture while offering modern amenities including high-speed wired Internet access in rooms (fee applies).
Property features
The Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, a smoke-free property in the heart of Cleveland’s downtown, is within walking distance of Cleveland’s sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. Built in 1918, the Renaissance offers old-world charm with oversized guest rooms and distinctive architecture. Modern amenities include high-speed Internet access in rooms (fee applies).

Workout options for guests include fitness center, free to use and open 24 hours, with treadmills and weight machines. Indoor swimming pool, on the fifth floor, is in a 10-story atrium.

On-site restaurant Sans Souci serves Mediterranean fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Other options for dining, as well as shopping, entertainment, and nightlife, are nearby in the Warehouse District and East Fourth Street neighborhood.
Highlights
  • Central location in Cleveland
  • Oversized guestrooms
  • Smoke-free hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Warehouse District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • East Fourth Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Progressive Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • 37 meeting rooms
  • 62,000 square feet of meeting space
Transportation
  • Cleveland Amtrak Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Cleveland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Quicken Loans Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Gund Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Jacobs Field: 0.5 mi
  • Progressive Field: 0.5 mi
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • FirstEnergy Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Wolstein Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cleveland Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • The Cleveland Clinic: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sans Souci
Award winning Mediterranean cuisine offering sensational daily menus as well as seasonal selections throughout the year.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Denas
Business
Suburbs
Jun 11, 2012

Would NEVER NEVER stay there again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

More like a negative one star! From 1 am -5 am we called down to the service desk four times because of noise! The noise was so bad it seemed as though the people were in our room. They explained to me that they are booked because of the casino and can not do anything about it. I could of had a better night sleeping at my house with my baby crying all night. A horrible end to our Anniversary night! If you want to sleep at all, do NOT stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ML & S
Business
Ashtabula Ohio
May 20, 2010

Don't book a room on atrium/pool side

A must! read the thin brown brochure provided in room (desk drawer)regarding the history of the Renaissance. Gave more meaning to my stay. Don't miss the Old Stone Church right across the plaza. MLKJr, JFK, Lindburgh, A. Lincoln funeral procession...WOW. Staff was wonderful. Building was booked - first come first served regarding the room selection. Get there at 3:00 pm and check in - then go about. We got in ca. 7:00 pm and were assigned a room on the atrium side. The air handler smelled like urine and when we vented by opending the window, the room filled with the aroma of chlorine from the pool. I brought this to the staff the next morning and the issue was remedied immediately to our satisfaction. The Cleveland Marathon was in town. We were able to enjoy this among many other sights, but that lead to a no vacancy situation. Restaurant service was greae - friendly, prompt and the food magnif. Don't miss the breakfast bar - fresh fruit and wide selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Stone Church, Fat Fish Blue - just ask any of the staff - very helpful with suggestions.

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 26, 2011

Never Again

It was absolutely horrible. They were overbooked and stuck 5 of us in a room with one king bed. Check-in was supposed to be at 4, we arrived at 4:20 and our room wasn't ready until 6pm. They charge for every little thing as well. Also we went to check out and we waited for the elevator for over a half hour and by that time we got frustrated and used the stairwell. Overall there were many reasons as to why it was a bad experience. The Renaissance is definitely not worth the money spent for it being such a "nice" hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RTA
Business
Swansboro, NC
Sep 7, 2009

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the single worst hotel stay I have ever experienced. First of all, when I booked on Orbitz I booked a room with 2 queen beds. When I got to the hotel they gave me one Full-size bed. I was told by two seperate staff members, including a night manager, that "that is what you get for booking through a third party". I was then told that the hotel was full and I could not get anything but this room. I was traveling with my wife and two children for a wedding. The room was barely enough room for myself. I called Orbitz and they read my booking agreement which stated I was supposed to get either a king bed or two queen beds. Orbitz was kind enough to call the hotel directly, and the next day they switched me to a room with one king bed (an improvement). When I asked about compensating me for the first night, they treated me like a second class citizen for booking through orbitz and told me I was already getting a deal and should not complain. Secondly, they charged me an additional $23 per day to park my rental car, despite the fact that I was staying there. There was a surface lot across the street that, I found out later, only charges $8 per day. Thirdly, despite this being a supposed "historic" hotel, there was no old world charm here, only minimal ammenities and a dilapidated and dated decor. The bathroom was small (one sink to share) and the furnishings minimal. The only good feature I could find was that their shampoo was Aveda, and I like Aveda shampoo. Otherwise, unless you want a rude staff, minimal amenities, hideous decor, and an over-inflated price, then this hotel is not for you either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Aug 10, 2010

Think 4 people sleeping in a King is ok?

Disappointing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Powdergal
Business
Truckee, CA
Oct 13, 2010

Too High For What You Get

Check-in was First Class - Efficient and Friendly Staff. Getting in and out with a rental car is a hassle - very little space and it gets congested. Room was VERY TINY - reminded me of my youth when we had to stay at Motel 6; thin towels; bathroom was exceptionally small and needed major renovation - felt dirty because caulking was awful and wallpaper peeling. Room is 2 star with 4 star pricing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Newer quaint eating establishments in warehouse district is within walking distance

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Orbitz Loyalist
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 17, 2011

They dont seem to like Orbitz customers

overall an average to good visit but while checking in, I felt like a "3rd class" customer since I booked via Orbitz

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

XO is a great steakhouse

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Home Boy
Business
Branford ,Connecticut
May 8, 2012

Way too much

I have stayed @ the Renaissance before....everything from the cost of the room,valet parking to room service is too expensive!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dona Louise
Business
Ohio
Jun 22, 2012

Room

Although room was clean, it was very small. I had to hunt for the hair dryer, and I felt for 289.00 We should have a larger room, and atleast a small breakfast should have been included. The bathroom was also very small. I guess I exdpected more Amenities for the dollars I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
051013
Business
Louisville, KY
May 13, 2013

Great downtown location, nice lobby, but older rooms

Location is great, particularly if you want to visit the nearby Horseshoe Casino. Parking was very tight and overnight in the small garage was over twice the cost of lots across the street. Rooms are older, bathroom is very small and a little tough to navigate based on how doors open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top