$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 26, 2014 Check-out: Sep 28, 2014

Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

4 stars
24, Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
A classic hotel with some nice features

This is one of the classic old hotels. Don't look for huge rooms, but enjoy the ornate lobby. And... See full review

  • Happy Visitor 2014
  • Feb 23, 2014
Cleveland

It was great but no handicap accessibility to the casino. See full review

  • Pittisit
  • Jul 18, 2014
Historic Cleveland hotel with classic touches and modern amenities
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel puts guests in the heart of downtown Cleveland with its location just across from popular Public Square, within walking distance of Cleveland sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. This historic hotel is a downtown grand dame, with oversized rooms, high ceilings, and eye-popping indoor swimming pool in a 10-story atrium.
Highlights
  • Central location in Cleveland
  • Oversized guestrooms
  • Smoke-free hotel
Rooms
Big spaces and soaring ceilings in 491 luxurious guest rooms at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reflect old-world historic architecture while offering modern amenities including high-speed wired Internet access in rooms (fee applies).
Features
The Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, a smoke-free property in the heart of Cleveland’s downtown, is within walking distance of Cleveland’s sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. Built in 1918, the Renaissance offers old-world charm with oversized guest rooms and distinctive architecture. Modern amenities include high-speed Internet access in rooms (fee applies).

Workout options for guests include fitness center, free to use and open 24 hours, with treadmills and weight machines. Indoor swimming pool, on the fifth floor, is in a 10-story atrium.

On-site restaurant Sans Souci serves Mediterranean fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Other options for dining, as well as shopping, entertainment, and nightlife, are nearby in the Warehouse District and East Fourth Street neighborhood.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Amtrak Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Warehouse District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • East Fourth Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Progressive Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • 37 meeting rooms
  • 62,000 square feet of meeting space

Hotel Map

41.4988 -81.6946
Area served
Tower City Center
Nearby airports
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, (CLE), 13.30, MI, NE; Akron-Canton Airport, (CAK), 51.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Cleveland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Quicken Loans Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Gund Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Jacobs Field: 0.5 mi
  • Progressive Field: 0.5 mi
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • FirstEnergy Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Wolstein Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cleveland Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • The Cleveland Clinic: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sans Souci
Since its opening, Sans Souci has been winning awards and amazing the public with fresh, innovative Mediterranean cuisine and an atmosphere like none other.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Visitor 2014
Ohio
Feb 23, 2014

A classic hotel with some nice features

This is one of the classic old hotels. Don't look for huge rooms, but enjoy the ornate lobby. And the food from the lobby lounge was a very pleasant surprise, great choice for a light after-theater meal, and they serve until 1:00am. For breakfast, hop on the red line (the terminal is on the lower level of the adjoining mall; you don't even have to go outside). One scenic stop over the river gets you to the west side market and it's west side market cafe. The same terminal houses the waterfront line, which runs every 15 minutes to the rock hall , which is absolutely worth a visit . Since a day pass is only $5, we rode all day, then ended up at one of the fun restaurants on E. 4th. I'm coming back with my kids to treat them to a princess tea in that fabulous lobby and a trip to the science center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hillsborough, NC
Apr 22, 2009

Terrific Hotel Experience

We traveled to Cleveland for the first time and stayed at the historic Renaissance Hotel at Tower City Center. Everything was within walking distance (Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, House of Blues, Hard Rock Cafe, Quicken Arena [Cleveland Caveliers], the Indians' and the Browns' stadium, and the shopping mall). Although we didn't take advantage of the public transportation, it was widely available. The hotel provided us with tickets to the Rock and Roll Hall of fame and had walking maps of the various Cleveland locations. We stayed on the 14th floor with accessability to the Club Room. This was a nice bonus and a great place to watch the NCAA playoffs. The food was fabulous as were the wait staff. The omelets for breakfast are a must. The drive to and from the airport was convenient and the hotel was conveniently located to Shaker Heights, where we attended a wedding. All said, the hotel was great and I would definitely stay there again should my travel needs send me to the Cleveland area. I will stay longer to see more of the historic sites and experience more of the local haunts. By far, this was one of my best travel experiences and this Renaissance was as great as any I've stayed in. Thanks for an enjoyable trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car. Instead, research the vast array of public transportation modes. The trains and the subways as well as the mass transit will take you absolutely everywhere. You can get some great exercise before and after meals if you walk to the various attractions (weather permitting).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cincinnati
May 16, 2009

Great stay

Went to Cleveland for the first time, just stayed one night. We were in town to see a comedy show, and the hotel was in the perfect location. Nearby everything. Walked to Rock n Roll Hall of Fame. Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfortable! Will definetly stay at the Rennisance when traveling to Cleveland!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 29, 2007

Great Location

the Cleveland Renaissance Hotel is in an excellent location! We were able to walk to all of the major sites in town. The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The concierge was extremely helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A fantastic Spanish restaurant called Mallorca had excellent food and very reasonable prices. We were impressed with the excellent staff and wonderful service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 13, 2007

Great Historic Hotel Stay

Nice place, but the neighborhood at night was less than desirable. The bedding was quite nice. Fast elevators (4 of them). Shopping mall and the subway to the airport (RTS - $1.75 exact change only) was attached to the property by corridor and mall. Skip the Johnny Q steak house visible from the front door and go to the warehouse district.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Nice indoor mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 23, 2009

Absolutely beautiful!

This was absolutely beautiful, perfect location, friendly staff, uncrowded, great food...I can't say enough about this hotel. Cheap tickets is definitely my new BFF!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the red line RTA from the airport. It costs $1.75 and stops inside the mall that is connected to the hotel. Everything is within walking distance - no need for a car!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Omaha, NE
Mar 2, 2008

Great Place to Stay

We were very lucky that we selected this hotel as it made our trip very easy. We flew into Cleveland and rode the subway to the hotel. The subway stops at Tower City which made it so we never have to go outside. We attended two events at the Quicken Loans Arena. Again never having to go outside. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 3, 2008

Luxury Hotel Convenient to Metro

Pamper yourself in luxury, a short metro train ride from the airport, and located near the best restaurants in Cleveland. Beautiful finishes in the lobby and room, high quality furniture, a pampering experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Your choice of all the best restaurants either within blocks, or in the warehouse district, 4 blocks from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jan 27, 2008

Elegant hotel for receptions

We had a business holiday party to attend and stayed the night. Would plan another reception there if needed.The hotel was elegant, staff pleasant and efficient. Because of the function that night the check in line was exceptionally long but moved along quickly. We stayed in a standard king room but it was much nicer than most standard rooms at other hotels. It had a small desk for a lap top or for dining, a comfortable chair to sit and relax and a King bed with nice linens. The hotel has many luxury suites that we will take advantage of on our next stay. Great hotel and staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Cleveland Zoo, Jacob's field, Brown's stadium, Cleveland Cavaliers all close by

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas
Jun 12, 2009

Great staff!

Fantastic staff! Especially Maurice, (Restaurant host), and the Gift shop staff. Since my sister is a patient at The Cleveland Clinic, we have made three trips to Cleveland since November. EVERYWHERE we go people are very friendly, helpful and accommodating. I would love to come tour your fine city as a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search