$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 19, 2014

Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

4 stars
24, Public Square, Cleveland, OH 44113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
54 reviews
A classic hotel with some nice features

This is one of the classic old hotels. Don't look for huge rooms, but enjoy the ornate lobby. And... See full review

  • Happy Visitor 2014
  • Feb 23, 2014
married couple overnight getaway

Very nice evening. Everything was perfect. We would consider staying there again. See full review

  • Daddy T bone
  • Apr 8, 2014
Historic Cleveland hotel with classic touches and modern amenities
Renaissance Cleveland Hotel puts guests in the heart of downtown Cleveland with its location just across from popular Public Square, within walking distance of Cleveland sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. This historic hotel is a downtown grand dame, with oversized rooms, high ceilings, and eye-popping indoor swimming pool in a 10-story atrium.
Highlights
  • Central location in Cleveland
  • Oversized guestrooms
  • Smoke-free hotel
Rooms
Big spaces and soaring ceilings in 491 luxurious guest rooms at the Renaissance Cleveland Hotel reflect old-world historic architecture while offering modern amenities including high-speed wired Internet access in rooms (fee applies).
Features
The Renaissance Cleveland Hotel, a smoke-free property in the heart of Cleveland’s downtown, is within walking distance of Cleveland’s sports venues, tourist attractions, and entertainment centers. Built in 1918, the Renaissance offers old-world charm with oversized guest rooms and distinctive architecture. Modern amenities include high-speed Internet access in rooms (fee applies).

Workout options for guests include fitness center, free to use and open 24 hours, with treadmills and weight machines. Indoor swimming pool, on the fifth floor, is in a 10-story atrium.

On-site restaurant Sans Souci serves Mediterranean fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Other options for dining, as well as shopping, entertainment, and nightlife, are nearby in the Warehouse District and East Fourth Street neighborhood.
Transportation
  • Cleveland Amtrak Station (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (13 mi/20.9 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Warehouse District (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • East Fourth Street (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Progressive Field (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
Business
  • 37 meeting rooms
  • 62,000 square feet of meeting space

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Renaissance Cleveland Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.4988 -81.6946
Area served
Tower City Center
Nearby airports
Cleveland Hopkins International Airport, (CLE), 13.30, MI, NE; Akron-Canton Airport, (CAK), 51.30, MI, N;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Nearby points of interest

  • Quicken Loans Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Gund Arena: 0.3 mi
  • Jacobs Field: 0.5 mi
  • Progressive Field: 0.5 mi
  • Rock and Roll Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • FirstEnergy Stadium: 0.8 mi
  • Wolstein Center: 0.9 mi
  • Cleveland Chinatown: 3.1 mi
  • The Cleveland Clinic: 3.8 mi

Dining

Sans Souci
Since its opening, Sans Souci has been winning awards and amazing the public with fresh, innovative Mediterranean cuisine and an atmosphere like none other.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Boo22
Canton, OH, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great location

Awesome view of the city and right in the middle of everything you can do in Cleveland. Will definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a cab at night!

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Daddy T bone
Cleveland, OH
Apr 8, 2014

married couple overnight getaway

Very nice evening. Everything was perfect. We would consider staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Happy Visitor 2014
Ohio
Feb 23, 2014

A classic hotel with some nice features

This is one of the classic old hotels. Don't look for huge rooms, but enjoy the ornate lobby. And the food from the lobby lounge was a very pleasant surprise, great choice for a light after-theater meal, and they serve until 1:00am. For breakfast, hop on the red line (the terminal is on the lower level of the adjoining mall; you don't even have to go outside). One scenic stop over the river gets you to the west side market and it's west side market cafe. The same terminal houses the waterfront line, which runs every 15 minutes to the rock hall , which is absolutely worth a visit . Since a day pass is only $5, we rode all day, then ended up at one of the fun restaurants on E. 4th. I'm coming back with my kids to treat them to a princess tea in that fabulous lobby and a trip to the science center!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
JWayLo
Perrysburg, Ohio
Jul 16, 2013

Great Location ... Small Room

The location is perfect ... walking distance to everything. Room was nice, but very small. We were told we would receive a king or two double beds. I could not confirm either. Unfortunately, we were stuck with one queen. They sent up a roll-away bed, which barly fit in the room. Litterally no room to walk around the bed ... we had to crawl over it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Maizeman97
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2013

Good stop for a ballgame

Experience was good not great. Room was cramped, elevators were slow, but overall for the price it was tough to complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
051013
Business
Louisville, KY
May 13, 2013

Great downtown location, nice lobby, but older rooms

Location is great, particularly if you want to visit the nearby Horseshoe Casino. Parking was very tight and overnight in the small garage was over twice the cost of lots across the street. Rooms are older, bathroom is very small and a little tough to navigate based on how doors open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
C. Spice
NYC
Dec 24, 2012

Wonderful Hotel in heart of the city!

Wonderful. Would be 5 stars but no coffee maker in room - otherwise 100% perfect + there's a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Observation Deck of the Terminal Tower for amazing views and there's fantastic shopping in Tower City. Nearby the sports complexes and casino - ideal location and great rooms!

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Christmas Cheers
cleveland ohio
Dec 9, 2012

Christmas Treat!

Great location--shopped--went to the Casino--great restaurants--beautiful Chistmas Lts,! Loved it all! Very Comfortable bed and pillows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Jules28
Alabama
Dec 1, 2012

Staff is stellar

The Renaissance Hotel is a charming, facility with comfortable rooms and a lobby that is made for curling up with a good book. The food was simply incredible, something you don't always get a hotel. The hotel staff of the Renaissance Cleveland made this stay in the hotel even more amazing. When I first arrived, I realized that my room did not have a hair dryer. I was in the process of walking downstairs when the facility person (who happened to be checking rooms) asked if my room was okay. When I told him about the missing hair dryer he immediately called and one was promptly delivered. The cleaning staff were cheerful, greeted me every morning just as warmly as the folks at the front desk. The customer service given to me by the staff was top notch and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cleveland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Beachwood Place Mall. Short drive from hotel with some wonderful anchor stores as well as unique shops Could easily spend several hours at this mall.

Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Ped279
Framingham, MA
Aug 26, 2012

Great Mini Vacation

Hotel was lovely. To make it perfect - they need a spa. Great location. The hotel is in walking distance to Progressive Field, fine restaurants and shopping. And so close to the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Renaissance Cleveland Hotel

Reviewer score

3
Dona Louise
Ohio
Jun 22, 2012

Room

Although room was clean, it was very small. I had to hunt for the hair dryer, and I felt for 289.00 We should have a larger room, and atleast a small breakfast should have been included. The bathroom was also very small. I guess I exdpected more Amenities for the dollars I spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top